Photography logo

Photography For Beginners

How To Shoot Quality Photos Using Low Budget Camera

By Anja KokaljPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

When I started photography I thought that I need a super expensive camera in order to shoot really pretty photos. Although everyone were saying I don't need I wouldn't believe them really. For my first camera I got Canon 450D and I've been using it until now. With my camera I've got trough a photography school, some photoshootings and some paid work for clients. In these past 4 years I learned some tips and tricks how to turn photos from a low budget camera into photos that look professional.

1. Learn you camera settings.

I bet you already heard that one, but it's true. You really need to know your camera in order to shoot some good photos. Manipulating with your camera settings is cruisal to get that good shoot. Even on your phone you have some settings that can do a better photo. You really need to understand Iso, shutter speed and aperture. You need to know that cameras are very similar yet very different. They can produce the same quality of photo at the same given settings.

2. Always shhot in raw

This one is very important. Never ever shoot just in JPG. When you are shooting in raw format your photo won't look that saturated and bright as in JPG on you camera. But when you will open it in photoshop you will get extra settings for manipulate with light, lens correction, sharpening, colors,... That is the key if you don't have a camera with super advanced characteristics.

3. Shoot with lower shutter speed and more closed aperture

When you are shooting with not so ideal lightning you should lower your shutter speed value and close your aperture rather than put a higher ISO value. A low budget camera does not shoot really quality photos while using high ISO value. I would say you can put a maximum value of 800 ISO. If you will use a higher value your photos will have too much noise and in that way they won't look professional. When you are not using your tripod you can use the minumum of 1/30 seconds of shutter speed value. Don't go any lower because your photos will look shaky. Invest in a tripod and always carry it with you when you will shoot in a not so ideal lightning.

3. Rather shoot too dark photos than too bright

Okay now that you've got the basics done you need to know that when you shoot with different light sources or when the light on the object is very uneven it's better that your photo is darker than brighter. That way when you will open your photo in camera raw settings you will get much more details because no one likes too bright photo where the details are lost. The details will make your photos professional and more interesting. When the photo is too dark it's much more easier to brighten it up the right way than manipulate with too bright photo.

4. Tip for editing in camera raw

In my case my photos are usualy not that sharp as I want them to be. They also have too much noise. So to reduce that I go to: detail>noise reduction>luminance while editing in camera raw settings. This will help you to reduce noise by smoothing you photo. But don't add luminance too much because your photo will look overedited and amateur. You can also add some clarity and sharpen a little bit in these settings.

5. Trick you can do in photoshop

the most important trick that made a huge difference for me was sharpening image in photoshop. Once you've opened you photo in photoshop you must go to filter>sharpening>smart sharpen. In that window you must make the radius and reduce noise function equal. For example, if I put 1,7 in radius I must also put 17 in reduce noise function. These numbers are usually quite high for sharpening. Try to use around 1,5 radius and 15 in reduce noise. If you will print your photos in larger formats your photos must look a little too sharp on your computer because the printed photos will lose some sharpness.

There you have 5 simple tips and tricks how to shoot better photos with a low budget camera. After some experiences with photography I do believe you can make good photos with any camera given. You just need to practice and with time you will get better.

how to
1

About the Creator

Anja Kokalj

Hey!

I’m Anja. I am a photographer and will become a designer. I am interested in many different topics, so check out my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.