Photography logo

Not So Professional Picture

How I'm Learning to Be a Photographer

By Edward AndersonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Edward Anderson

There are many things I am good at; writing, social media, and things that are best not discussed in this essay. However, there are some things that I lack enough knowledge about to call myself good or even adequate at. Playing games (DnD and apparently shooter video games are among my weakest) and photography. After taking a picture of the New York City skyline from a friend's apartment, many people encouraged me to try professional photography as a side hustle.

There were a few problems with this suggestion. First, the only camera I own is on my iPhone 8. While it takes decent enough family pics, and selfies, I would hardly think it is enough to launch a whole new revenue stream for me. Then I took some pictures after the CNN bomb threat in October, and Vocal graciously ran them, which boosted my self-esteem enough to consider taking pictures for more than just memories. So I signed up for Shutterstock and uploaded more than 200 pictures to the stock photo service. In a blow to whatever burgeoning confidence I was building up, only 40 of the more than 200 pics were approved to be sold on their site.

Some of the complaints were things that I thought I could not help, like the size of the image and some of the lights blurring. But then I was told that I could actually fix that by investing in photo editing software. Which leads to the second problem, I don't know how to use photoshop and the like. It's easy to learn, of that, I am sure, but did I really want to invest in something that was only a side hustle?

As it turned out, I did. Just as with my writing, which I have heavily invested in, taking pics is fun and helps get me in a creative mood. And while not every picture I take needs to go through the process of editing, as one very smart stranger told me. She saw one of the skyline pictures I took, and asked me if she could have a copy of it. I told her it was on Shutterstock, but if she wanted I could send her a file over. She sent me $20, and then showed me that she blew it up and framed it for her apartment. Pride swelled within me. I bought dinner with that money and realized I may not be a "professional" photographer like Annie Leibovitz, but there are still people who will like my work.

Another person saw a picture of the Haunted Mansion I took at Disney, and they wanted to use it for their book cover. I don't know if they will, I am waiting to hear back, but again this was a raw photo with no editing done to it. Maybe the side hustle didn't need any investment in it after all.

Of course, I got Photoshop anyways. I am learning it, and I am learning slowly how to take better pictures and angles. So my not quite professional pictures are starting to become a bit more professional. And who knows maybe the side hustle will finally get me to buy a real camera instead of using my phone.

And as a side note, the picture above was taken by me as noted in the caption. It was taken at Epcot (I think, it was several weeks ago, and I don't label things as I should), and is one of the pictures that I am proudest of. Even though it is not yet up on Shutterstock because they disapproved it for some reason. Maybe a quick run through Photoshop and a resubmission is in order.

career
Like

About the Creator

Edward Anderson

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.