Photography logo

My Camera

The Canon T3

By Natosha J SelskyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The view from my drive way

My Camera

Back when I started to investigate doing copywriting and blogging as a career, I didn’t think that I would be using my camera. I wrote an article about tomatoes and posted it on Vocal. I could not submit my article with out a picture so that is when the light bulb in my head turned on and I thought I can use my camera and take the picture myself. I can turn my hobby into something to help support my writing career. Instagram, Facebook, and Tumbler I can do all my own pictures and story idea. I am not sure how well t will go.

So, here is a little back story on my camera. It was a gift to myself for my second mothers. It was the canon rebel eos t3. I had no idea how to use it, but I figured I will learn. Having to be a working mom got in the way. Then I had my son. Before, I knew I had 2 kids and 2 step kids living with me dogs, cat’s life is busy. Learning my camera and photography got put aside. Now 8 years after buying my camera I am finally learning how to use it. Beyond the point and shoot. I am even learning how to use photo shop to edit my photos. I m not trying to be a photographer I want to be a writer. However, my camera does help bring things to life.

In the last few months, I bought an auto focus 3-piece macro extension lenses and a 2x zoom lenses for my camera. There are a lot more lenses and things that I would like to get for my camera. Among them would be a tripod. I used to have a blue one, but I am not sure what happened to it. For the moment, my telescope tripod kind of works. I have had my telescope for longer then I had my camera. I would like to get a couple more telescope but that is another hobby of mine that got sidelined when I had children. Hopefully in time will be able to get back to that hobby as well. For now, my camera is what I am focusing on.

I bought my camera in May of 2012. I saw it in the camera section of Walmart, and I knew I had to have it. The Canon Rebel t3, is old now and I think it was a camera or two behind already, but the price was right. It was still over four hundred dollars, and I probably shouldn’t have bought it then, but I bought it anyway.

One of the things I learned this summer is that my camera won’t take a photo of the sky on autofocus. I think that the reason is there really is nothing to focus on in the blue sky. I put it on manual focus and got a great picture of the sky and clouds. I am still trying to figure out the macro extension. I can use any combination of 2 of the 3 pieces and not have the.

This summer my family and I went camping out at a Lake called Petite Lake in Alberta. It is about 40 minutes away from my house. No cell reception so we were living off the grid for a couple of days. We went fishing and one of the boys caught a fish. The only one that was caught all weekend. I brought my camera with me and was taking some photos of the scenery. I saw a hawk; it was across the lake diving for its supper. It was in the evening around seven that night. I took pictures of it but none of them turned out. The trees look great. The hawk looks like a white dot. My 2x zoom lenses just didn’t do the job I needed. So, I am going to buy 100x zoom lenses for things like that. Don’t get me wrong I like the zoom lens that I have. I just need to invest in other zoom lenses. This isn’t the first time I have experienced the need for a better zoom. I was canoeing in Ontario and I saw a Loon and her babies. I was using a disposable camera. This was in the pre-digital age. Or they were just starting to come out. It was in the early 2000s. All I got was water and trees. No babies, no mommy loon. That was when I realized that I wanted a better camera. I didn’t get one until almost a decade later. I have always liked to take pictures.

Photography is something that I have always wanted to do. It has just taken me a while to get here. It's anew skill that I am working on. It’s a skill that I think will help me with my blogging. Can take my own pictures and use them in my articles and stories. I am learning how to edit them and make them look better. This is my journey and maybe you would like to read and watch me learn a new skill.

Natosha J Selsky

camera
Like

About the Creator

Natosha J Selsky

I am a stay at home mom. I have been writing since I was a teenager. I am niching my self in blogging about my camera and photography, I do like to write stories also.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.