Photography logo

Hillsborough Forest Park Walks. Part One.

Life on and around the Lake.

By Aunidan Christi KPGSPublished 2 years ago 19 min read
1
Hillsborough Forest Park Lake.

I hope I inspire some of you to get out and about in Mother Nature to see her amazing wildlife and scenery, which times is truly breathless.

My friend Noel and I decided to take a walk around Hillsborough Forest Park and Lake the other day, which was a break from our River Lagan Walks, because the memory of little Maddie passing is still too raw for Noel and after walking with her for 10 years, morning and evening, I can understand how he feels.

The Sparkling Swan.

With the Sun shining down on Hillsborough Forest Lake, it seems the Swan is leaving sparkling diamonds behind it.

For the 2oth of September it was quite a warm morning up in Hillsborough Forest Park, though the normal amount of Swan’s on the lake was drastically down from our last visit a few months ago, though we were told by a fellow walker that bird flu had claimed many Swan’s lives, which is a virus 🦠 the news outlets seldom mention until they have too.

Even Covid-22 has dropped out of the news even though the numbers are rising sharply again in the UK 🇬🇧

A Flyby Gull.

I love exploring with my Nikon CoolPix P900 camera on anything that moves or fly’s by me, such as the Gull above.

I use the automatic settings on my camera, which suites me, and because my photography is for therapy and my hobby, then I have no pressure on me to have picture perfect photographs, though I am happy with the photographs that make it past my critical eyes and mind, else you would not be seeing them.

So if they are in my books, stories on Vocal.Media, posted online or in any of my Brain Injury Matters NI projects, then they deserve to be there.

The Dance of the Gulls.

I love how my camera can get up close and personal with any thing I zoom into, like these two Gull’s at the other side of Hillsborough Lake.

A Profile of a Gull.

Crystal clear and beautiful is this Gull as it rest calmly on the green lake in Hillsborough Forest Park.

Up Close and Personal with a Gull.

You will see as my photographs and my walk progresses how green Hillsborough Lake truly is, and it is green with a very poisonous algae, which can kill dogs and humans within 15 minutes of ingesting this contaminated water.

There are actually signs up warning people not to enter the lake, or even touch the fish within the lake.

Warning Green Algae.

I know I have heard of many dogs dying after ingesting this dangerous green algae.

A warm Summer does not help when water becomes warm and the Sun is shining brightly.

Nutrients in the water also helps the algae to grow in all waters, but this algae also starves the fish and other water living creatures of oxygen.

Fresh rain and a lowering of temperatures is what Hillsborough Forest Park Lake needs, as do all lakes and rivers this September 2022.

The beauty of a Swan.

For Northern Ireland that rain my come sooner, rather than later as the Atlantic Hurricane Season awakens this end of September 2022.

Hurricane Fiona is now a category 4 hurrican, which is bearing down on Bermuda before smashing into Eastern Canada 🇨🇦 though it seems to be avoiding our shores, though Tropical Storm Gaston is roaming the Atlantic Basin at present, but it will be interesting to see which ex hurricane passes over Northern Ireland this Autumn 2022.

The Gathering.

With the Sun high in the noon sky, shimmering on the surface on Hillsborough Lake and the water birds swimming beside me, the Sun is giving my photograph a magical sparkling effect, especially with the beautiful Swan centre stage.

The Green Algae throughout Hillsborough Forest Park Lake is not really noticeable in my last photograph because of the Sun shining on the surface of the lake, but when you see my next photograph of a beautiful Swan swimming through the deadly toxin waters, then you will be able to see the amazing effect the Green Algae is having in the lake.

A beautiful Swan and the Green Lake of Algae.

As you saw earlier in this story, there are warning signs throughout the forest warning swimmers and fishermen not to ingest the lake water, even get it on your skin, and not to touch any fish from the lake.

I wonder how the wildlife who feed on other wildlife in the lake and around fair with the poisonous Green Algae?

A Profile of a beautiful Cygnet.

As the Earth-Plane heats up year by year, these conditions of Green Algae taking over the rivers and lakes of Northern Ireland and beyond will become the norm, as will heatwave and drought, and all that comes with these dangerous conditions brought on by Climate Change.

To see any wildlife living among such dangerous conditions is sad to see, which is why El Mundo esta Jodido.

Swan leaving Stardust behind it.

I love the way in my photograph above the Swan seems to leaving a trail of Stardust behind it as it swims along in Hillsborough Forest Park Lake.

I also amazes me how many different photographs a capture in a short walk out in Mother Nature, and though the small birds are scant around the River Lagan at present, her in Hillsborough Forest Park and Lake, the bigger birds are out in force this end of September 2022.

Some days the creatures of Mother Nature disappear for two months of so to raise their young, but this 2022, Stanger Things have been happening within Mother Nature, such as a False Autumn which began in July in South Belfast, which I chronicled since then after noticing some trees were sheding their leaves very early this year.

Then in the middle of August the BBC News began to report on this new seasonal condition the experts on Mother Nature were calling a False Autumn.

A Gull Standing Out.

I love this photograph because of the Gull’s whiteness against the Green Algae, and though the Algae is dangerous to human‘s and their pets, it makes my photograph of the Gull stand out.

I might even frame this photograph because of how good it is, even though I say so myself.

That is a few photographs on my Hillsborough Forest Park Walks this time I could frame because of their quality in photography.

I doesn’t happen with every photograph, but every now and then magic in my photography happens.

The Gull and the Heron.

When out and about in Mother Nature I have to keep my eyes peeled for unexpected appearances of wildlife, especially when the Sun is shining in a cloudless sky.

The Heron is a juvenile Great Blue Heron, standing tall minding it’s own, but keeping his eyes on all around it.

Here in Hillsborough Forest Park Lake, the Heron’s appear right around Hillsborough Lake, though they keep their distance from each other.

The Meeting of the Species.

I love the way the Gull and the Great Blue Heron are standing there minding their own business, but for all we know, when we pass by they could be talking to each other, and just like cartoons and movies pertaining to talking animals, they shut up when we approach.

Then when we pass by, they beginning to talk to each other again LOL.

Stranger Things have happened.

Up Close and Personal with a juvenile Great Blue Heron.

At times I find it hard to tell the difference between Great Blue Heron’s and Grey ones, though the Great Blue Heron’s have this beautiful blue pattern on their chest plumage, which the Grey Heron’s do not have.

Deep in Thought.

I often wonder what the wildlife I photograph is thinking about, because they do have brains, and can think for themselves, not matter what species they come from, which Naturalists and animal Scientists have found out over the last 2 decades, and that includes the great Sir David Attenborough.

Every day, week, month and year the so-called experts in life discover new things and ways within Mother Nature, and many times these so-called experts have had to change the truth they once said was set in stone, though these changes in earthly truth go unheeded or questioned by earthly men and women, so the misguided earthly truth of your earthly teachers is put forth as absolute truth until the Truth is eventually revealed by the so-called experts finding it, after decades of claiming their way was the only!

Standing Tall in Life.

My photograph above looks like I have taken it in the swamps of Louisiana or Florida instead of at Hillsborough Forest Park Lake, in Royal Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland.

A Swan Chillaxing on the Grass.

It was amazing to see and photograph this Swan sitting on the grass away from the lake pruning itself, which was a Stranger Thing to see, especially with all the other Swan’s sticking close to the lake.

Swan with Green Algae Plumage.

You can actually see the Green Algae on this Swans chest plumage, which not good to see.

I will be talking to fellow walkers when I am up in Hillsborough Forest Park to see if they hear of this Green Algae causes any problems for the wildlife on and around the lake.

If it can kill human’s and dogs, then it is bound to harm the wildlife that depends on the wildlife within the lake.

Another Great Blue Heron.

The next wildlife to appear on this Hillsborough Forest Park Lake was another juvenile Great Blue Heron, which could mean, the two you see in my photographs so far could be related, because like all birds not of the same family, they are territorial, and these two Heron’s were close to each other on the lake.

One Step Beyond.

At times I find it hard to recognise the difference between Grey Heron’s and Great Blue Heron’s, but both have small differences, with the main one being, Grey Heron’s are smaller than Great Blue Heron’s.

The one in these photographs is a juvenile Great Blue Heron and so beautiful it is.

That was the second juvenile Great Blue Heron on this Hillsborough Forest Park Walk, and the two Heron’s in this story so far were about 200 metres apart.

Keeping an eye on the movement Below.

Heron’s are experts at catching whatever wildlife catches their eyes in the lakes and rivers here in Northern Ireland.

Concentration.

The Heron’s really concentrate on watching the waterways they visit throughout Northern Ireland, and though here in Hillsborough Forest Park Lake I have yet to photograph a Heron catching a Fish, Eel, or anything yet, around the River Lagan in South Belfast I have photographs and videos of the Heron’s catching Fish and Frogs.

Wildlife photography is like any hobby involving wildlife, you need time and patience to capture those special seconds in photography and wildlife.

Hillsborough Forest Park

There are many forest trails in Hillsborough Forest Park for both adults and children, but I know the children will truly enjoy the experience and what they will come across and see, but bring your cameras with you because right through the forest a BIG SURPRISES that the children, and most of the adults will love.

Nature’s Bridge.

As you can see, and will see, the forest is full of activities to do and wonders to see, especially if your hobbies are photography, art, sculpture, walking, writing or whatever floats your boat, plus your children will be left spellbound by the gigantic pieces of nature art throughout the forest.

A Green Irish Hare.

Just wait until you see your children’s eyes light up when they see a gigantic Green Irish Hare suddenly appear through the trees of Hillsborough Forest, because it, and the other pieces of amazing nature are blew me away when I came across, especially because my two main hobbies are writing and photography, so these amazing sculptures were a Godsend, which I am glad I came across on this Hillsborough Forest Park Walk.

Irish Hare.

Who would not be impressed on their walk if they came across this amazing sight of an Irish Hare in the middle of a forest?

Gigantic Irish Hare.

I was stunned and pleased about the natural art I was seeing and photographing on my Hillsborough Forest Park Walk, which is part of an art trail throughout the forest, which will help with your health, mental-health and well-being, and for enhancing and opening your childrens mind with wonder, while tiring them out for bed.

A Fox in the Forest.

The next piece of amazing nature art I came across was this resting Fox, which you can walk inside as well.

The settings of the art is perfect, within Mother Nature herself, with all her guises surrounding the amazing men and women made pieces of natural art.

A Fox Chillaxing.

I don’t know if anyone from Northern Ireland reads my stories, but if they do, get yourselves and your children up to Hillsborough Forest Park and Lake and take in a walk through the amazing nature trails and art trails throughout the forest, around the beautiful lake filled with amazing wildlife, throughout the year.

Hillsborough Forest Park Lake.

As you walk along in Hillsborough Forest Park, the beautiful lake is never far from you as you, with amazing scenery to see and photography opportunities to capture, all of which you will enjoy, plus if you are creative like me, then such scenes will inspire you in whatever gift or gifts the Elders above have graced you with in this incarnation, so do not waster those gifts given, because they are Divinely Sourced Gifts.

Cernnunos.

The next piece of art in Hillsborough Forest Park is based on the God Cernnunos, God of Hunting and Fertility, so in the eyes and mind of the Artist and me, and I am sure hundreds of other walkers and lovers of Mother Nature who visit Hillsborough Forest Park and Lake have no problem with this amazing piece of nature art, but sadly, we live upon the Earth-Plane, where earthly human beings, especially religious human beings complain about anything they do not agree with, even if it is amazing art based on folklore and what nation is steeped in folklore more than most others on the Earth-Plane, our wee nation of Northern Ireland on the island of Ireland, the lands of myths and legends.

God of Hunting and Fertility.

It was in the 6th century that the church banned the worship of the hunting God Cernnunos because he had horns and hunting dogs, and the Council of Toledo decided that Cernnunos with his horns would be what the Devil looks like, which is when the image of the Devil became the norm right up until this very day at the end of September 2022.

Before manmade churches and earthly religions ever came along, earthly human beings believed in our Heavenly Father and Mother, and Heavenly Family above, and all their creation, above and below.

Earthly human beings could call on their Heavenly Ancestors and the Spirits of Mother Nature at will, and at anytime for assistance, but in these last centuries of this Age, the Children of the Earth-Plane have become blind and deaf towards those who are still very much with them, even though they have Passover from this Earth-Plane, and if you do not ask, then it shall not be given.

Cernnunos and Me.

Our Souls we’re all given the gift of freewill to do good or evil, which is a choice all of us have, and most of us know the difference between the two.

Remember Yeshua said, “Ye are Gods, Sons of the Most High,“ yet I tell you this dear brothers and sisters of Wisdom, “Ye are Goddesses also, Daughters of the Most High Father and Mother,” though women within your earthly religions should be seen and not heard, in the main, and most certainly second two men, even though without women, no men or women would be, but your male so-called experts in life think they know it all, when in Truth, they know very little when it comes to above, or the Earth-Plane they live upon at present.

Up Close and Personal with Cernnunos.

A piece of art, horns or no horns can do you know harm, it is the earthly human beings who find fault in mythical beauty who can harm you.

Remember dear brothers and sisters, it was the Church of Rome of banned the worship of the hunting God Cernnunos, and made his image out to be that of they Biblical Devil, and then earthly followers of such churches took up the mantle of demonising the God Cernnunos, God of hunting and fertility, and as such a God of Mother Nature.

Great Blue Heron.

Once a Great Blue Heron makes an appearance across Hillsborough Forest Park Lake, which is the third on today, which is amazing.

I will have to spend a longer time out in Hillsborough Forest Park and Lake, because know I am only seeing a fraction of not only the amazing wildlife, but also the amazing scenery and human art and creations throughout the forest park.

The beauty of a Great Blue Heron

Hillsborough Forest Park Lake has several Heron’s around it at present this beginning of October 2022.

The could be from different families of Heron’s on and around the lake, or they could be siblings from the same brood, either way, I was glad they were there.

Each hour or so out in Mother Nature each week is a new experience to me, and if the wildlife is scant on the river and ground in South Belfast, at Hillsborough Forest Park and Lake there is always wildlife of different shapes and sizes.

Reflections of a juvenile Black-Headed Gull

It might be just a young Gull swimming along the lake, but with its reflection on the surface of Hillsborough Lake, to me this photograph is picture perfect.

Hillsborough Forest Park Lake

Royal Hillsborough is a beautiful village in County Down, Northern Ireland and well worth a visit for that beauty, wildlife and scenery.

I just photograph anything that catches my eyes, mind and imagination as I slowly walk around the lake.

New Beginnings

With Monty and Maddie now passed over, it is only little Holly left to continue Noel and myself’s walks.

The little beauty above was one of the dogs we meet on our walks, and if they are cute like this wee beauty, then after the owners permission, I photograph it or them.

While standing talking to the walkers with the beautiful little dog of six weeks, my eyes were drawn skyward and the amazing sight of a Common Buzzard flying above us.

Common Buzzard

The Common Buzzar is regarded as the symbol of the Goddess Artemis, the huntress, daughter of Zeus, father of the God’s and Goddesses, whose Mother is Hera, though Zeus had many wives and lovers, so his seed was spread far and wide through Immortal Women and mortal women.

The Hunt

The birds of prey always capture my eyes, mind and imagination when I see them majestically soaring above me.

When I was visiting Fort Washakie in Wyoming, the Shoshone Indians I was staying with told the birds of prey were the Messengers of God because they fly so high in the Heavens Above, and as such must speak with Him.

A Cormorant through the Trees

While slowly walking on after a short talk break, I spied a Cormorant fishing on the lake, and got myself to a clearing in the trees that line the lake.

A Profile of a Cormorant

I have photographed Cormoran’s before on the River Lagan in South Belfast and at Belfast Lough, but this was my first sighting and photographs of a fishing Cormorant on Hillsborough Forest Park Lake.

Old Green Eyes

After walking along the River Lagan in South Belfast these last 2 years or so, I know how rare the Cormorants are on the River Lagan, but I have only been up at Hillsborough Forest Park Lake twice before and this is the first time I have seen and photographed a Cormorant before.

Up Close and Personal with a Cormorant

The photograph above is why I love my Nikon CoolPix P900 camera and how close it can get the wildlife I am photographing.

This is why I love photography as my therapy and hobby.

The Catch of the Day

With patience and split second timing I can get photographs like the one above of the Cormorant catching a large fish in Hillsbourough Forest Park Lake.

I used my continuous settings on my camera, which takes 12 photographs a second, which is handy for fast moving wildlife.

Down the Hatch

The green in Hillsborough Lake is the deadly Green Algae I wrote about earlier.

I wonder how the wildlife who feed on the creatures in and around the lake cope with the toxins within the Green Algae?

Fin‘s Away

I was only around Hillsbourough Lake for an hour, so I only had a limited time to capture these photographs of this fast moving Cormorant on this Hillsbourough Forest Park walk.

Great Blue Heron up a Tree

This was the 4th Heron on this Hillsbourough Forest Park walk, though this one chose a tree to stand on, high above the lake.

I know if I were to sit out on the lake for a few hours I would would see and photograph many more species of wildlife on and around the lake.

Chillaxing

The Heron’s love to groom themselves, which you will notice if you spend some time photographing and studying them.

Look up, for Redemption is Near

In the woods surrounding Hillsborough Lake, the ancient trees stand tall in the early Autumn sunshine.

Many of these trees are centuries old and I can only imagine the things they have see through those centuries.

If only earthly human beings could settle down they would be granted Eternal Life again upon the Earth-Plane, but alas one man wishes to destroy all earthly human beings and all within and without Mother Nature.

Minding their Own

Gull’s seem to be very peaceful birds until you pull a seed box out of your pocket and they change into birds acting in the Hitchcock movie (The Birds).

Like Magpies, Crows and most seed eating birds, Gull’s are angry feeders, with very little eating manners.

Feeding time is a free for all when the seeds come out.

Reflections of resting Gull’s

I my last photograph because the reflections of the Gull’s in the lake below them.

It is like they are posing for this photograph LOL, but most wildlife photography is like that.

The dead tree gives my photograph the image of a swamp in Southern America, all would be needed in the photograph would be an Alligator just below the surface of the lake.

Eating out of my Hand

It is an amazing feeling when a birds feeds off my hands, but you need to read a Swans body language when you are feeding them because if you read them wrong, they could badly hurt you with really wanting too.

Just be calm around birds and they will remain calm around you, because animals can read earthly human beings better than earthly human beings can read them, so be kind to the wildlife you meet on your walks and they will get to know you and trust you over time.

The Swan Whisperer

Swan’s are beautiful big birds who will always come to greet you when you bring them an offering, then you can capture those seconds of connection between you and the wildlife you interact with while out walking in Mother Nature.

Do not feed birds Bread

Do not feed the birds bread because it sticks in their throats and they can die.

Remember when bread gets wet it expands, and this includes with earthly human beings who can choke as well.

Mother Nature is Free so enjoy her in all her guises because she is good for your health, mental health and well-being and your photography and writing.

If you enjoy my stories please leave a gift to aid with promoting my books on Amazon.com, thank you.

Peace be with you.

twitter.com/@aunidan64

aunidan.blogspot.com

soundcloud.com/aunidan-christi

camera
1

About the Creator

Aunidan Christi KPGS

I am the Author of "The Spiritual Truth, a Guide into all Truth,” available on Amazon-Aunidan Christi, I am also the Author of “River Lagan Walks,” also available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.