Photography logo

Golden Valley Amid The Storm

A Travel Story from Colorado

By Erin PelicanoPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Hidden Valley between Durango and Colorado Springs

It’s September, 2019. A storm came upon us as we had driven through Ouray and Silverton, Colorado. We were on our way to Durango to find new lodging after a disappointing surprise for our original lodging. We did find a decent place and stayed for two days.

We were given a decent break after visiting Monument Valley in Utah during our stay, and we didn’t worry about the disappointments we had, until we got back to our current lodging where I received an unkind message and a notice that we were not going to be reimbursed for the first lodging even though we did not spend the night. After talking with some people through the website I had booked the place through, we were able to get reimbursed for half of the money we gave for the lodging from the displeased owner.

When we left for Colorado Springs, we were still bitter and frustrated; and the heavy rain did not help either. Normally, I enjoy a nice rainstorm and all it’s unique character, but I was still upset about the situation at the time, and going through a windy pass with heavy rain and wind did not help. We had decided that we should stop off somewhere to let the storm pass and give us a chance to settling down for a while.

We drove for a couple hours looking for a pull off or a gas station to just drive the truck onto and park it, but the road was very small and steep and there was no place in sight; we were out in the middle of nowhere. We finally found one pull off on the right side of the road large enough to park our truck. We pulled of, vented for a while, and just sat and wait for the rain to pass.

A short time later, there came a break in the clouds and it relieved us. My friend saw a pretty view across from her through my driver’s side window. When I turned to look myself, that’s when I see these rays of sunlight light up this gorgeous view of these mountains; varying in shape, size, and hues. At their feet, never ending rows of varying trees and fields of beautiful values of golden and green grass shining in the sunlight. Both of us were in awe and just filled with such joy to gaze upon this hidden valley within the Rocky Mountains. That view just brightened our day and made us respect what is around us; what God has given us.

This view meant a lot to us, so I got out my phone and took this photo before we left the scene as the storm was clearing. One shot was all I needed and I’m blessed that I had a chance to see it with my best friend; to brighten our travel that was slightly ruined by someone else.

art
Like

About the Creator

Erin Pelicano

I'm an Artist by trade, as well as a writer and wildlife enthusiast. I write about personal experiences with traveling and handling animals, but also create my own fictional stories and share them with anyone who wishes to read them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.