Photography logo

Art that Challenges Paradigms Increases Awareness

Erik Ravelo requires viewers to create a consciousness

By Brenda MahlerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Artwork by Erik Ravelo and used with his permission.

"My work . . . has no position. My work wants to create debate, create a consciousness." -  Erik Ravelo

Life is easiest endured by people who follow instructions, accept what they are told, believe what everyone believes, and acts as expected. The idiom "don't rock the boat" teaches us to remain silent and to not disturb a stable situation. Individuals who stand up for change create rough waters that might sink established systems within the status quo. Youth are commonly instructed to not make trouble, ask too many questions, or be too assertive. 

I enjoy the movement of the boat. The rocking reminds me I am alive and have a purpose. The waves carving into the rocks, rearranging sand and depositing treasures onto the beach scream that change is good. 

Maybe this is why I am captivated by Erik Ravelo's art.

For instance, examine the art above, a dove created from more than 80,000 casing shell, to understand how symbolism can make a statement. By creating a dove, the bird of peace, out of gun shells, objects of destruction, the artist creates an oxymoron that requires introspection. 

UHATE News created and shared a video of this artwork. It is accessible on YouTube

Recently, after I wrote an article proposing the need for Americans to work together to stop gun violence, Stop Sacrificing Our Children to Gun Violence, I struggled finding an image for the story. When the image below popped up on Facebook, I stopped scrolling knowing it perfectly illustrated my message. Through an image search using Google, I discovered the artist's name, Erik Ravelo.

Image the work of Erik Ravelo. Image is copyrighted and used with the permission of artist.

After a written request and a correspondence, he granted permission for it to be used with the article. Thank you, Erik. 

A sense of accomplishment warmed me with the thought that I might make a difference by making readers think. Then the comments dampened my emotions - more than that. A torrential downpour of angry remarks made we wish I had remained still in my boat. The drowning feeling forced me to seek solid ground.

This is when I began asking questions. 

  • What are people afraid of? 
  • Why are they offended by this image? 
  • How can an image rock someone's boat? 

All my questions led me to conclude that people do not like to think when their foundational beliefs are challenged. 

Thinking causes pain

Anybody who truly opens their mind to different points of views forces themselves to be confronted with new perspectives that cause conflict. The simply act of absorbing new ideas tests paradigms, changes reality and reveals truths. It is painful to learn past ideas are or even might be flawed. 

Thinking creates instability

Being unsure causes insecurity. Learning that a long held belief may be wrong produces a fear that the foundations of our beliefs are crumbling. If our truths are wrong or even slightly tilted our center of balance shifts leaving us standing on foreign ground, surrounded by unknowns. 

Thinking wastes time

Knowledge without action is a waste of time and most of us do not have additional time in our days to take on a crusade. Therefore, often we turn away from facts that require us to do something. Why exert effort for something that we cannot change? As a society, we value traditions, the way things have always been done because they offer comfort and safety. 

Thinking imposes danger

When a person takes the time to view the world from new perspectives, we open ourselves up to pain. When reality shifts we become vulnerable and lose direction, placing us on a precipice of choice where there is a risk of falling. Changing tides can sink ships and must be navigated slowly. For most people is is safer to not sail into the waves but stand on the beach allowing the ripples to bath your toes.

Erik Ravelo's work forces critical thinking

Erik Ravelo was born in Havana, Cuba in 1978. He left Cuba with the dream of being free to express himself through art. Cuba restricted this freedom. When asked about his art, Ravelo responded. 

"I rather choose ideas to develop than images or pictures, to be honest. First of all. the concept takes form and if i still feel the idea is strong enough and if it is clear and direct enough as for everybody to get the message, then I move forward with the project. In my case, the concept decides the form.

I like to work with iconography and symbols that everyone can understand without too much effort because I want to deliver a specific message. Which, of course, shares the way about the events worrying me in our contemporary society. I want to make people stop and think about something. I really want to move their hearts. 

I know my artworks may seem offensive for some people. Honestly, it is not my intention to offend anybody. I find nonsensical to get offended or shocked by artworks and not by the facts the artworks wants to talk about."

When asked about his work in the Untouchable Collection, Ravelo stated,  

"I'm simply defending children's right to be safe."

"I think I feel the need to use Art as a tool to make people think about some facts I think we all need to reflect. My purpose is to trigger a visual reaction in people whom can relate with the message I'm willing to share. I think art has the power to involve people through feelings. And it means it has an emotional component when communication is the most important goal. I like to think this is nothing but a visual conversation with the audience. And I'm willing to deliver an specific message about a sensitive topic I feel the need we as society should discuss aiming to propitiate a change. So I guess my personal work has a commitment for social change. Art is my weapon."

Erik Ravelo's Facebook Page

When life challenges critical thinking, the world benefits. As a society it is our responsibility to remain open to ideas and be willing to analyze information. It is through different perspectives that truth comes into focus and our reality if formed. I love Erik's quote, "Art is a weapon." My weapons are words. What are you doing to make a valuable impact on the world?

Brenda Mahler is an advocate for the children. Read more of her experiences.

Stop Sacrificing Our Children to Gun Violence

Invisible Teens

interviewart
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.