Petlife logo

Your dog is the Art of self love.

My dog taught me to love myself and stick down my boundaries.

By Crazy story writer ✍️ Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Your dog is the Art of self love.
Photo by Mark Zamora on Unsplash

I come across my dog during lockdown, It was a heart breaking moment for me. I was suffering from extreme depression and anxiety. I really was not in a good state of mind. I felt like the world was upon me in a bad way. I could not see a way to freedom. It was as though I was trapped with no way to release the bubble that was around me.

I found myself homeless with no family and being blamed for something I could never imagine doing in my life. I found my string growing weaker and weaker with no body around me that would truly understand what I was going through and the troubles that had been brought into my life.

One day on a normal day caring for my grandfather I stubbled across an advert for a dog that was looking for a home due to a house move. His name was frankie. He was a very handsome jack Russell Cross. My eyes were hooked on him. I could not stop thinking about him. It was already like my life had changed in a flash. I could not take my mind of this one little hairy dog.

I quickly phoned the gentleman. I will have the dog, I said. I turned up to the flat. The dog was there waiting for me wagging his tail and jumping up at me. I believed at this point my medication was my dog.

He jumped in the car and licked me. ‘I am here you no longer need to worry about anything alone now’ He barked. I drove him home.

He laid on my knee on the chair for hours on end allowing me to stroke him as he licked back showing his emotions to me as he witnessed me being sad. Every time I cried he came up and wrapped his paws around my shoulders and licked me. It was his way of saying “I love you please don’t cry” He really soothed my heart on many occasions.

He sat down next to me. I looked in to his eyes. He looked back at me. I spoke quietly to him. He listened. I whispered in his ear “I need to make a big change in my life” I heard him bark back as he agreed.

Everyday that passed I started to feel much happier. I start to feel like I was human again and started to enjoy more activities getting outside in the fresh air whilst having not a single worry on my mind because I knew at every single step of the way my little frankie was always by my side. He taught me to stay strong and fight every day.

I found myself setting boundaries and not allowing anybody to push those boundaries or harm me in any way. I needed to be strong because I had this living creature relying on my love and attention for the rest of his life. “He would not want to be without me”I screamed. I stood up to the mark and I was there for him.

I now know when I open my eyes on a morning there’s a life to live and I owe my heart and life to my dog. He is more than my best friend. He will forever be my lifelong partner and I will be forever greatful for his help getting me through this very difficult patch in my life.

I am truly grateful for finding Frankie and bringing him in to my life. He massively helped me come to terms with everything that was happening to me and massively improved my mental health and loneliness.

Thank you for reading, I really hope you enjoyed reading about my wonderful dog Frankie and Me.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Crazy story writer ✍️

"Captivating minds, one word at a time. 🖋️✨📚 Wordsmith | 🖋️ Writer | 🌟 Storyteller 🌍 Exploring the depths of imagination, I am a passionate writer dedicated to crafting compelling stories that transport readers to new worlds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.