Petlife logo

You're never going to believe what happened to me.

A Sonsie adventure

By Conny ManeroPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image courtesy of Conny Manero

Seriously, you’re not going to believe what happened to me yesterday.You know how you can feel that something bad is about to happen? Well, I had that feeling when I woke up. It was a perfectly lovely day, the sun was shining and it was nice and warm, but at the same time, a chill was running up and down my back. I couldn’t put my paw on it, but something definitely wasn’t quite right.

The day progressed as it did since I was adopted and came to live in my new home. Mom made mine and the other cats’ breakfast, while we ate she made the beds (she does this so Nic can’t bother her while she straightens duvets and fluffs pillows), did the dishes and swept the floor. After breakfast, I had a wash and then curled up for a nap. At lunchtime, I had another bite to eat, another wash, followed by another nap. Along nap because I only woke up when dad came home.

A short time later things started to go south. Mom and dad put their shoes on and I was put into a box, the same box I had been in when I was adopted. I felt very confused. What was happening? Where were they taking me? Didn’t they want me anymore? I had been a good kitty, so why did they put me into this box and were they taking me away from my home?

Once outside mom, dad, and I got into another box. A box with wheels. “Nice car,” I heard dad say. So that’s what the box was, a car. We were in this car for a while and suddenly it stopped. I was taken out of the car and could just about see a sign that said ‘VCA – Birchmount Animal Hospital.’ I can’t read very well yet, but I could read that. Hospital? Why were they taking me to a hospital? Was I sick? I didn’t feel sick.

Once inside, I crawled to the back of my box. I saw a large black dog and he didn’t look all that friendly. If he came close, I would hiss and show him my claws. When dad picked up my box, I thought we were going home but no, now things really took a turn for the worse.

I was taken into a small room, taken out of my box, and handed over to a man. Who was he? Hmm, if this was a hospital, I assumed he was a doctor. He held me and said how cute I was, and I murmured a polite thank you. He looked at me closely and felt my little body, and okay, this wasn’t too bad.

Next, he stuck something into his ears and pressed a round silver thing against my chest. I was so scared my heart went boom, boom, boom. Apparently, he liked what he heard because he said my heart was just fine.

But that wasn’t the end of it. Next, he stuck something in my ears and peered at … I don’t know what, but I heard him say something about ear mites. Apparently, this is bad, because he squirted some liquid into my ears and said this would kill the ear mites. Okay, fine by me, I don’t want mites in my ears. Who does?

What happened next I’d like to skip over because it’s rather embarrassing.  The doctor picked me up, turned me around and looked at my … hm, rear end. He looked and looked and I was getting worried. What was he looking at back there? How would he like it if I looked at his posterior? Eventually, he set me down and said, “It’s a girl.” Was that what he was looking at? Was he wondering if I was a boy or a girl? Well of course I’m a girl. I could have told him that.   

And then, then it happened. Something so frightening I shiver just thinking about it. The doctor left the room, and I thought this was the end of it, but he came back with something big and pointy. The pointy end worried me, what was he going to do with that? He asked dad to hold me tight and he came with that pointy thing toward me. I started squirming, but I couldn’t get away. Meanwhile, that pointy thing came closer and closer. Was that doctor going to prick me with that thing? Oh hell no! And then … and then … OUCH!!! He did prick me with that thing.

“First vaccine is done,” mom said and petted me on the head. First vaccine? Did that mean there would be a second and possibly a third vaccine? I hoped not, I wanted nothing more to do with pointy things. If I were a balloon, I would have popped.

Fortunately, that was the end of it. We all left the room, and a short time later we were back in the box with wheels, and then home. What an ordeal. If mom and dad think I’m going back there ever again, they have another thing coming. I’m getting smarter by the day and the next time they’re planning on putting me into that box, I’m hiding in a place where they’ll never find me.

(To be continued)  

#cat #kitten #veterinarian #vaccine

adoptioncatvethealth
Like

About the Creator

Conny Manero

Conny is the author of Waiting for Silverbird, Voice of an Angel, Lily, Kitten Diaries and Debbie. Contributor to various hard copy and online publications.

She lives in Toronto with her son and cats.

https://tinyurl.com/4schsv77

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.