Petlife logo

Uber Dog

The Story of Trixie: Loving the Underdog

By Jackie KPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 12 min read
1

Trixie was a Great Dane who stayed with us until the incredible age of a day short of 12. She was a great dog - the best!! It's almost cliche to say - most people adore and love their dog(s). They give us so much unconditional love. We love them despite all the annoyances and inconveniences: they bark, chew, wake you up too early, they're stinky, shed, etc. These are usually the things that you miss the most - even the really naughty things. Once in a while, a truly special one comes along...

Loyal and sweet Trixie (age 11)

Trixie was my first dog - well worth the wait. I had wanted a dog since childhood - for as long as I can remember. It wasn't until my third decade in life - when I began settling down, moving in with the man I would call my husband that this sweet girl came into my life.

When I was a kid, my parents didn't allow me to have a dog, mainly because we lived in a condo. I begged but resigned eventually. I wanted a dog so badly that I resorted to capturing one. I was about 7 and had a babysitter that I was very fond of. She was super sweet, but not very firm. You could say that I kind of had her wrapped around my finger!

One day, when I was playing outside, I "found" a dog who was obviously lost - a medium-size dog, like a mutt, maybe a border collie mix. The dog was frantic when I brought him upstairs to her apartment. I remember it whirling around her place, and we tried to capture him in a laundry basket. To this day, I don't know why she agreed to let him stay in her house. She tried to keep him on the balcony. There was poop everywhere. This didn't last long, of course. So this was my brief experience of "owning" a dog as a child. In the meantime, my stuffed animals would have to do!

Now, a Great Dane is quite the specimen of a canine to take on as your first dog experience! Wanting and owning a dog are two different things - especially with a giant puppy.

When I recall getting Trixie now - looking through pictures and recalling all those days already quite some time ago - she really did have an incredible effect on our lives from the day we brought her home.

I remember so clearly when we first went to see Trixie at a local breeder who had new pups available. I was a little hesitant, to be honest. I was considering a Grey Hound, to be honest. We were looking into the rescues.

Then we saw the ad by a local, reputable Great Dane breeder.

"Let's just go see," my boyfriend said.

When you don't know the breed, Great Danes can be overwhelming and intimidating at first. Especially when you come into their space. They usually are quite vocal and protective, but not in an aggressive way. Their size alone is something - they are startingly massive!

We went to the breeder's house on a late summer's day, where we were met by a GIANT Harlequin (Trixie's Mom. She howled in a deep, guttural voice as if to say, "Hello, do I know you?" - veering imposingly towards us with a confident stature.

We always laugh looking back, as I said, "I don't know about this!"

But we successfully entered the small suburban house, after being cleared by "security". The house was full of dogs - the mama and her new pups. We sat down with the Mom, who perched on the large sofa, like a human watching TV. She bark-talked to the fellow canines in the commercial. I began to relax somewhat, beginning to find humor in this beast. She WAS gentle, despite her great size.

When we were introduced to the pups, still only weeks old, this was magic. And the moment we laid eyes on our little one - the "runt" - a mantle color, black with white markings on her paws, chest, and a splash on the end of her tail, like a freshly dipped paintbrush. The other pups had the same coloring as the mother; destined to be show dogs - their markings deemed "perfect". But Trixie was perfect in our eyes. We liked that she was different. Couldn't believe how she could be seen as less desirable. As she competed for mama's milk, looking around with trepidation, but sweetness, she won our hearts immediately. Trixie - the underdog. The Uber Dog in our eyes.

A couple of weeks later, in September 2003, the "gotcha" day arrived. Trixie had just turned 8 weeks old and was already almost 20 lbs.

There was definitely a learning curve, but it was all worth it. We were at a stage in our lives when we were taking on more responsibilities in life. This dog had a huge impact on me in particular. I took on the role of a dog-parent wholeheartedly. It was a dream come true. But, I was green - I didn't have a clue, actually. I didn't even know how to walk a dog - especially one of this size. We did a lot of research on Danes - familiarizing ourselves with all their common traits and stages. They are definitely unique as a breed.

First trip to the vet down the street - the only time I carried her anywhere! Notice the torn edges of the photo - she got hold of this picture I'll never forget:)

I can honestly say that I don't think my life would be the way it is without having this dog in my life. She helped me find myself. I developed confidence and wisdom. She helped me realize that I am a mother when I previously thought I'd never become one.

I took puppy training classes called "Mother Knows Best" in the basement of a local church. The classes were easily more for me than for her. Still, her certificate, resembling something out of a kindergarten class, was cute but laughable. Her training didn't improve much. At least I knew how to hold the leash! She pulled like crazy.

A typical Dane in many respects - timid, goofy, and needy - Trixie had some strong separation anxiety which was a challenge. She was very destructive and unruly in her early years. Now some Danes chew door frames - she wasn't that bad, thankfully. She stole and chewed numerous things of our things - valuable things, and mostly mine - my best shoes (usually gnawing up the heal), designer sunglasses, cell phones, and more. The worst was when she tore a baby mattress to shreds that we were trying to use inside her crate.

Trixie became a constant companion. I remember lying with her and just staring into her eyes. It was an incredible feeling of having a childhood dream come true. A real, live, actual dog was mine. Not a stuffed animal, or a beloved character from a book, movie, or cartoon (Snoopy, Lassie, Scooby comes to mind). Well, I always knew that I was a dog person. I also knew somehow that Trixie was a very special dog. Danes are quite special. Their size and sensitivity alone. They don't act menacing. You will find that they defy all the common assumptions about what they require due to their size. People think that they need to be exercised a lot and need a lot of space is simply not true.

YOUNG TRIXIE

Once I adapted to dog ownership 101, I really got into the breed. One of the biggest challenges with Trixie was the separation anxiety. She was extremely attached to us. Leaving her alone was almost impossible without loud, endless yelping. An anonymous neighbor left a crabby note at our door once expressing concern that we were abusing our dog! We scoffed at this since we were so attentive and cared deeply about her - maybe a little too much.

When we married in 2005 we had a destination wedding in Mexico. We had to board her. We tried many options, finally opting to leave her with my father-in-law. Unfortunately, she escaped from him on the first day he had her and was lost in the dead of winter for 5 days. Happily, she was found, a little rough for wear, but she survived out there. We found out upon our return from our honeymoon, returning to an emaciated and freaked-out pup. This taught us a valuable lesson really: expose your young dog to as many scenarios as soon as possible; introduce them to car rides, boarding, dog parks, loud noises, and so on.

Overall, Trixie was super sensitive and super loyal to us. We liked to say she was "emotionally intelligent". As she matured, she grew out of her destructive ways, graduating to typical counter-surfing, scoring whole loaves of bread from time to time! She taught us to keep tidy and think ahead - it's similar to child-proofing your home. Still, our connection deepened. Our mutual love grew.

One thing that you prepare yourself for with a Great Dane is that due to their size (with a small heart relative to their large frame), their lifespan is quite limited in comparison to most dogs. Danes average about 6 years (up to as long as 10). A smaller Dane means a potentially longer life. In an effort to keep Trixie at optimum health, I started researching canine diets. This was also out of concern for the constant danger of bloat (a dangerous condition in deep-chested dogs where the stomach puffs up and the stomach can flip). My research turned up whole food diets like the raw diet, as opposed to dry extruded food that can expand in the dog's stomach (not to mention nutritionally devoid). The benefits of raw food crushed the kibble diet. I was willing to do the work to transition her, and it was so worth it. The results were incredible.

Trixie was the "runt" of her litter for sure. Perhaps this contributed to her super timid mannerisms that made her so unique. It was great that she was on the smaller size (at most about 120 lbs). We always kept her lean. And, once I optimized her diet, she didn't grow exponentially, reaching adulthood by age 2. I believe that her healthy diet kept her lean and helped her live so long - she made it just shy of 12!

So this dog was already a big life-changer for us. She was part of a time in our lives when we wanted to start a family. I can attest to the fact that this dog was a great teacher to us as parents, sort of like training wheels. Once our daughter came along, she was almost like a sibling. She was a protector and a mentor.

Trixie was influential in the start of my dog treat company. I went to a popular outside summer dog festival in Toronto called Woofstock. I was amazed by all the adorable, healthy treats dogs I saw there. In 2004 'Big Dog Bakery' was born. I implemented Trixie as the face of the brand, who was also the official taste-tester. Using my restaurant background, combined with a passion for baking, and love of dogs, of course, I developed recipes for a line of dog treats that I sold to local pet food stores and chains.

In 2009, I opened a retail store with an in-house bakery for dogs, selling freshly baked treats and celebration cakes for dogs. Trixie would come to the store, greet customers and other dogs, approaching with a gentle saunter. I changed the name to "TRIXIE'S KITCHEN" a few years later when I shifted to strictly selling Wholesale. At this point, she was already quite old. I wanted to honor her name and spirit.

Trixie opened up a whole world for me. I really do LOVE all dogs. Through baking, I expressed this. I realized that I wanted to share this love, and help other dogs live a long, healthy, and happy life. Hence, our slogan - "FEED YOUR DOG LOVE!"

Gourmet dog treats inspired by Trixie. Her story was on the box!

Trixie as a senior. She loved camping so much.

Trixie went everywhere with us. We went on many road trips and camping trips snuggled up in our Mini Cooper at the time. She got us outside and moving - a perk that comes with most dogs - even in the weather that made us shudder. We never regretted a walk. It was good for her, and good for us, even in the deep freeze. Sometimes w were the only ones in our local downtown park with piles of snow, walking her and pushing a stroller, coffee in hand. No one else around. Trixie loved the snow so much.

Christmas Day walk - a beloved tradition.

Trixie would even come to ride the streetcar with me across town to my shop. Her size would shock some people, but she would put up all the prodding, stopping, questioning, suggesting a saddle (the most eye-rolling comment). She never snapped at a soul or growled - ever. She was sweet to the core.

We used to call her morning pounce a Trixie "Attack". She would pin you down, putting you in "jail" with her long boney arms and hefty paws, then begin licking your face with her rough, sloppy tongue until your entire face was soaked. What's not to love!?

Trixie was wise somehow. She was there for us through thick and thin. Our daughter cherished her. I'm so thankful that she has those early memories of this dog. She used to walk her by herself - slightly ahead of us on the sidewalk - confidently handling her leash at the age of four!

As life gives you trials and tribulations, I couldn't imagine her not with us. Some things, I really value how she was there for us. Looking back now, it's almost as if she knew that we needed her through some hard times. She held on. Luckily, she was a strong and healthy dog. My goal to keep her in optimum health for as long as possible paid off. She surpassed her life expectancy by many years. It could have been her pedigree or luck. I like to believe that she wanted to be there with us and for us.

At the age of 10, I held a birthday party for her at my store, inviting all her friends and fans. We set up a photo session with a pink backdrop. Cake and treats for all! I'm so happy we will always have this memory. She was still so vibrant and enjoying her life. She loved her walks on the beach nearby.

When we said goodbye, we knew it was time. But, she never complained. I tried to keep her quality of life in check. I didn't mind the accidents, the constant care that she required in the final days. She still loved to go to the park. "Park" was a word that always peaked her attention! She loved her food. Walking and eating were always my gauges for the quality of life she had. She was a happy dog.

But there came a time when she was aging rapidly. We couldn't ignore how much she had slowed down. She was had caved in significantly in her back end. She slept most of the day those days. Tired, so tired.

We said goodbye the day before her 12th birthday. Afterward, it was clear that it was the right time. And, although sad, it was a relief.

This dog had a great life. And, she left a legacy. A dog treat company inspired by her - that continues by the next generation of passionate bakers and dog lovers. Today, those same dog treats and dog cakes that I formulated with Trixie live on. I sold the bakery a few years back. It's very special to me to see them still in production - I love to see the posts on social media, and all the happy dogs who eat them.

It was hard to contemplate getting another dog after her. It surprised people that we didn't get another dog right away, especially since I had become such a dog person, and had embraced the dog world so intensely.

In fact, it took us six years. Having a Dane again has been wonderful. Often our pup reminds me of Trixie. I recall many things that I learned from raising her. It's like riding a bike - you don't forget. But then, every dog is different. I can say now even more so now that Trixie was unique and special. Trixie taught me how to be a MOM - a nurturer; healing and lover of all living creatures. She helped bring that out in me, and find that ability within me. I am reminded that when I finally got my first dog - TRIXIE - I found my purpose.

dog
1

About the Creator

Jackie K

I'm a Canadian living in California. The page is my canvas; words my medium. I have always loved to write - my happy place. Having written prose to business plans, I now strive to write creatively - short stories are my jam.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.