Petlife logo

Tranquil Life

And Other Furry Distractions

By Soma PiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tranquil Life
Photo by Trần Toàn on Unsplash

Our "family" is one big fur ball. When Hubs and I got together we were called the Brady Family of fur kids. Between us, we had 6 dogs, 6 cats, 4 horses, one goat, and 5 chickens. Through the years our family has gone through changes as our seniors would cross the bridge. Today, we have 4 dogs and 4 cats. All of them are extremely bonded to one another, and after today, bonded to many other things.

I was working in my studio all week, finally finishing May's commission portraits- allowing me to work on other projects, specifically vinyl projects. STICKY vinyl projects.

Jynx, the black manx, commonly referred to by the shortened version of the name Richard, has been teaching Banji and Czar the finer points of Studio Dwelling. Sierra oversees everything HER kitties are doing, and Annie hangs out because it is the coolest place in the casa. Moose, the fourth cat of the Quad unit is older and grumpier, preferring to be in his quiet place AWAY from the other three rowdies.

Jynx abandoned all of the manners he had learned when in the studio. To be fair, the delivery must be blamed, and not the poor dears in the studio. First, the blare of the driveway alarm went off, disturbing everyone's lounging, and that was followed by the doorbell, which triggers vocal announcements throughout the entire house, coupled with the obnoxious chimes, bongs, dings and dongs programmed to sound from every device in the house.

Jynx, startled to high alert status, landed somewhere close to the center of my work area, and the large piece of hot pink vinyl stuck firmly to his feet.

Have you ever seen a cat with anything sticky stuck on its paws? Now add 15 lbs of black lightning to the frenzy.

Not being fast enough to catch him, Jynx yowled, shook, whizzed, and did something akin to a half-gainer flip off the work table, taking my 100-brush organizer with him to the center of the room. Banji and Czar frantically darted around the room, scrambling to get away from their brother who was jerking, rolling, snarling, hissing and coniption-fitting all over the floor. It was a scene similar to what happens when you walk into a Boston Dollar Store without a mask.

It was that bad.

I was diving and bolting to catch Jynx and rescue him from vinyl goo mob attacking his extremities. Sierra was whipped into a proper fit, not sure if her job was to protect me or guard her kitties, so she barked her encouragement to all of us. Annie was under my desk making her 70 lb. self as tiny as possible. Banji and Czar had made it to the relative safety of the tippy top of the craft armoire at the far end of the room. Just as I got Jynx untangled from the death grip of the vinyl on his paws, I saw the armoire starting to sway. Flinging myself to it, Czar and Banji were nothing but orange blurs splitting like an atom.

Only the top half of the armoire came down. Unfortunately, that is the section I keep all of my various paints in. Enamels for air brushing, acrylics for canvases and other projects, oils for paintings, chalk paints for other projects, along with various spray paints.

My attempt to catch the darn thing only made it worse, just in slower motion.

As the first glass pint of paint hit the ground, I vowed to NEVER store my paints in glass containers again. 14 in all hit and detonated- ALL OVER THE ROOM.

Well, I now have the coolest, trendiest fur kids in town, what with them sporting their new tie-dyed fur. Yes, folks, I believe i am just going to sit right here and enjoy a cup of coffee. The carnage will still be there when I am ready to face it.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Soma Pi

I am leading with my best step forward up this hill we call life. Writing is an experience to be shared. My endeavor every day is to make others laugh, or at least smile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.