Petlife logo

The Silver Band

when Nixie left

By Marie WilsonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
5
The Silver Band
Photo by Jacob Mejicanos on Unsplash

Hemangiosarcoma. I couldn't even figure out what the vet was saying as she told me my dog's diagnosis. I only knew it wasn't good. It's cancer of the spleen and it affects the blood vessels. And nothing can be done about it. They can take the spleen out but within 2 or 3 months the cancer will be back.

I coudn't fathom just letting our dog die like that. She was only ten years old and I felt that if something could be done, it should be done. If she got the surgery then maybe she'd be the miracle dog, the one who triumphs over the confirmed outcome.

I went on auto-pilot and spent two days on the phone trying to find a clinic that could take her spleen out asap. I brought all savings and credit cards to the cause and made an appointment.

By Geraldine Dukes on Unsplash

We shared custody of Nixie with my daughter and her partner and so we all waited anxiously to hear from the surgeon. Finally, the call came. They'd done a CT scan and saw that there was no use operating.

We brought her home - a dog that loved having her nose out the car window, now only able to lie down in the back seat with her snout in the direction of the cool breeze.

But she was still eager to go on walks, not far though. In her last days, she could still make it along her favourite overgrown pathway, her own personal jungle, to the edge of the park where she'd lie in the shade and I'd sing to her.

Two weeks later she was gone.

By Simone Viani on Unsplash

There's a scene in the animated film "Porco Rosso" (dir. Miyazaki): During WW1, the title character steers his airplane into a cloud to evade the enemy during a dogfight. He blacks out and when he comes to he finds himself in complete stillness above the clouds. In the distance, a band of silver shimmers in the sky.

As he looks around, he sees allied and enemy aircraft, flown by airmen who'd died in the dogfights. He watches as they fly towards the silver band. As he gets nearer to the glimmering ribbon he sees that it is in fact thousands of planes - all the planes of the dead flying together. It's a beautiful moment.

Porco Rosso still

One night after Nixie died, my daughter's partner dreamt that they stood in the laneway where we often walked Nixie. In the dream, as they looked down the laneway, they saw Nixie with a bunch of other dogs, running. "Together the pack ran down the laneway, running further and further away, running towards their silver ribbon - only not planes, but dogs."

The telling of the dream was more moving than the movie it resembled.

By Daniel Páscoa on Unsplash

She also came to me in a dream. We were standing on a lawn, bright green contrasting with her black-&-brindle body. I wanted to pat her but her big brown eyes told me she no longer existed in that silky-furry form. She said she only appeared in that body so I’d know it was her. Still, I wanted to hug her & stroke her ears but I didn’t because I understood.

A week later I read a poem by Mary Oliver. Called “The First Time Percy Came Back”, it expressed exactly the feeling of my dream:

The first time Percy came back

he was not sailing on a cloud.

He was loping along the sand as though

he had come a great way.

“Percy,” I cried out, and reached to him —

those white curls —

but he was unreachable. As music

is present yet you can’t touch it.

“Yes, it’s all different,” he said.

“You’re going to be very surprised.”

But I wasn’t thinking of that. I only

wanted to hold him. “Listen,” he said,

“I miss that too.

And now you’ll be telling stories

of my coming back

and they won’t be false, and they won’t be true,

but they’ll be real.”

And then, as he used to, he said, “Let’s go!”

And we walked down the beach together.

dog
5

About the Creator

Marie Wilson

Harper Collins published my novel "The Gorgeous Girls". My feature film screenplay "Sideshow Bandit" has won several awards at film festivals. I have a new feature film screenplay called "A Girl Like I" and it's looking for a producer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Beautifully powerful & meaningful. A touch of the sublimely divine.

  • Jennifer Cooley11 months ago

    I have to say my friend, yours is the first site I`ve come to where I didn`t find any mistakes or the urge to correct them or make suggestions in wording and sentence structure and so on! So I was quite impressed and found being able to read your work for the pure pleasure of the work without thinking about any of that other stuff, because it wasn`t necessary too, a very refreshing change! I can see why you`ve had the publishing success you have had! I`m going to go read another one of your recent works! Keep it up! Take Care! :)

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    That's beautiful!!! Beautifully written!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.