Petlife logo

The Rescues -- A Series

Jericho's Story...Part 2

By Rowan ChristmasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Each day after that was wonderful. Mama, the lady’s name, put medicine on each and every wound. It hurt but I trusted her and let her do it. She made sure I took my medicine every day and got lots of little meals, I was only 45lbs. when I should have been 120lbs. So, Mama said it was going to be a slow build. She also gave me a bath that made my skin feel so much better. It stopped burning and itching and in few days the hair started to grow back. When the new growing hair got so prickly feeling, I had to chew at it Mama gently applied new medicine to the patchy places that eased the pain and helped it heal further.

Every sunny day Mama took me outside with the others. I got to spend all day in the sun and stretch out on the green grass and relax. Mama’s youngest daughter was always with me, she showed me all around the yard and fed me every chance she could get. She always sat next to me when she played and would talk to me about everything. She became My Girl. I loved her so dearly and I knew by the way she would lean on me that she loved me too. Dad always noticed whenever I looked sore, and he would lay on the floor and rub my legs and paws so gently that they soon began to feel better.

This was the family I had always wanted. Plenty of food, love and comfort and constant companionship.

On day 10 with my new family, I began to shiver, and Mama checked my temperature to find a fever. They immediately took me to the vet, and he gave them more medicine for me, x-rayed my leg and then let me go home. I heard Mama telling dad and Annie that the x-ray showed where I had been shot. I did not worry about it though; I knew I was safe here. My girl and her siblings spent extra time sitting with me and petting me and the medicine made me feel better. I was happy.

Yesterday while the kids were playing in the playroom, I felt a strange twinge in my chest. I was not worried because it always felt tight because of the heartworms. I had to gain more weight before the humans could treat that part. But when my girl got my dinner, I had trouble getting my legs to work to walk over to her. Once I got moving though I was alright, and I stood fine to eat. Mama never missed a thing though and she kept a close eye on me after that. I wanted to tell her it was ok; it did not matter because I was finally happy. But when I kept stumbling, she insisted on taking me to the vet first thing the next morning.

That was this morning. Dad came with us to the Vet this time. Walking has become exceedingly difficult for me. my legs just will not respond right, and I feel shaky. The vet listened to my heart for a long time. Then he took some blood from my leg. He gave Mama medicine for my heart and told her he would call with the blood results. I wanted to tell them not to worry. I know my time is ending.

Mama and Dad took me home again. My Girl cuddled me extra and I could feel the power her love would have to carry her through what was coming. I lay here and watch her play and think back to all our strolls through the yard. All the cookies and snuggles. Her little voice telling me all the stories she imagines. My Girl is by far the best girl a dog could hope for and I am only sorry for the pain I am going to cause her. I can only hope it is short lived.

I lay here now and simply wish I could tell them all how much they mean to me. I want to tell them how much it meant to be pulled from the darkness and come to rest within their light. To most I know 16 days is not exceptionally long, but for me it has been a lifetime.

It is time. I can feel my heart struggling to beat now. I gather what strength I have and try to stumble to Mama. I barely make it, but she catches me before I fall. Collapsed against her she lifts me up and carries me to my bed. She tucks my blanket lightly around me and gently explains to the children what is happening. I feel she knows too well there is nothing that can be done for me now. I struggle to pull each breath into my body and a whine escapes my throat. I do not want my girl to see me die. The second miracle in my life happens as Mama seems to understand my wordless plea and sends the children from the room.

Mama lays beside me, my spine braced against her torso, her arm gently wrapped around my chest. “good boy” she whispers “I’m sorry. You’re such a good boy.” I can hear the tears in her voice as she rubs my ears just the way I like.

I know it is coming, I cannot feel much now, at the last moment I throw my head back and howl my misery at leaving. Mama rests her forehead on mine, and I feel her hot tears hit my fur. “I’m here Jericho, you’re not alone. Good boy. You are so loved.” She whispers.

Then all at once everything stops. I can hear Mama and My Girl crying and I want to make it better, tell them I feel fine now. But I cannot find them. The light is too bright, and I cannot see them. Instead, I look for the source of the light and find a large (but smaller than me) floppy-eared black dog standing in the center of warm brilliant sunlight. Instinctively I move between it and my family.

“there’s no need or point to that now Jericho” the black dog says in a rough voice, “I’ve come to fetch you to The Bridge.”

“Who are you?” I ask.

“My name is Bastion,” he says, “Mama was My Girl a long time ago.”

I hesitate still. I don’t want to leave my family. Bastion seems to know what I am thinking because he speaks again. “You can’t comfort them now Jericho, that will be for the next dog to help heal.” He says gently. “Come now, The Rainbow Bridge is a short trip, and the wait will seem even shorter.” And with that Bastion turns and leads me away. As much as I want to stay, I know he is telling the truth and it is time to go. I follow him reluctantly into the light and across the Rainbow Bridge. There we will wait with the others for our families to come home too.

dog
1

About the Creator

Rowan Christmas

Parent of 2 and avid animal rescue foster, I prefer to spend my time doing activities with my children but as the grow more and more independent I find myself drawn back to my childhood love of books and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.