Petlife logo

The Rescues -- A Series

Jericho's Story... Part 1

By Rowan ChristmasPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
The Real Jericho--First day in his new home

I am Dying.

Humans find that such a harsh thing to say. But it is true. My new family does not know yet. They know I am sick, because they took me to the Vet this morning, but I can feel the weakness setting into my very heart. It will not be long now.

I do not mind so much now. I have a family that loves me and that is all I ever really wanted out of life. They gave me a name, which I never had before, they call me Jericho. I even have a Girl all my own. She is small and loud, and very energetic but she loves me. When she wraps her little arms around my neck and hugs me it makes all the bad things from before fade away. Last week when my fever started, she brought out her own special baby blanket for me and though it fits my giant body like a horse blanket, the love makes me feel better than anything ever could. Right now, she is only a few feet from my wretched frame, playing with her horses. I never thought I would have my very own Girl, or a family that loved me and took me to get medicine when I did not feel good. This has been the best 15 days of my life. I just hope My Girl does not hurt too much when I am gone. As I lay here and watch her play, my mind wanders back through my life before now.

Before the Lady that rescued me brought me to this family, my life was not good. No one loved me, no one even wanted me, I think. I was taken off the streets when I was young, and they put me in a cage. Those people only let me out when they wanted me to mate. They never moved me to a bigger crate as I grew and eventually my back touched the ceiling of the cage. I could not raise my head it was so small. One time I tried to run away, and they shot me. It hit my back leg and I thought I would die then as they shoved me back into the cage. But I did not, and the years wore on. They barely fed me and never cleaned my cage. Finally, they decided I was not useful anymore and they dumped me at a place that kills unwanted animals.

I was in such rough shape I was supposed to be one of the first to go. My paws were swollen and tender. My bones showed all through my skin and there was no hair on my back where the top of the cage had rubbed it off. I also had open wounds in very tender places and my leg where I had been shot was swollen and painful even though it had healed. My chest felt tight all the time and it was a struggle to breathe. As much as I wanted to live, I had to agree with these humans, there was not any home for me.

Then the first miracle of my life happened. A lady came to my kennel door. She did not smell like she belonged in this area. She smelled of rain, mud, cold and yet an under current of green things growing. It was quite different from the dry, piney smell here. She opened my cage and slipped a lead around my neck. “This one too!” she called out to someone I could not see. Turning back to me she said “Come on buddy. Come on, let’s get out of this place.” Her gentle voice beckoned me to follow her every step, and in a state of shock I did. Not to the back door, as I expected, but out the front and to a large van. I did not like going back into a cage, but she promised it was only for the car ride. I knew what waited for me back in this building, but she was offering something I had not considered, hope. I took a deep breath and climbed into the cage and laid down. At least it was big enough for me this time.

There were several other animals in the van already and though the trip was long the lady stopped often to give us water and lets us go potty. While I laid in my crate I listed to the other animals. They were all whispering “We’re being rescued. She’s a Rescuer.” in reverent voices. I was not sure what this meant so I could only hope.

The finally at one stop the lady came and got me out and then took me into a small purple building. There she introduced me to another lady with bright red hair. She was genuinely nice to me too. She hugged me and took a picture of us. She told me I was safe now and everything would be ok. The first lady left and the Red-haired lady, Annie I learned she was called, took me and four others home with her.

Then she took us all to the vet the next day. I laid next to Annie’s feet as the Vet listed all my problems to Annie. “Heartworms, open wounds, enlarged joints, raw skin, traumatic hair loss, arthritis, weak teeth, and mal nourishment. And that one leg is so inflamed I can’t see for sure on the x-ray if it’s cancer or something else making it so large.” He said.

I knew his tone; he did not have much hope for me either. But Annie said, “ok, where do we start?”

“Well, you can’t let him just eat as much as he wants. You’re going to have to give him about ½ a cup of food every 3 hours. Then he’s going to need a good round of antibiotics as well as some strong anti-inflammatory medicine. On top of all that we should get him on a supplement for his spine and joints, so he doesn’t hurt as much.” The Vet said doubtfully.

“Ok, let’s do it.” Annie said. Her voice was so determined I raised my head and looked at her. It felt like suddenly there was a human who really believed in me. I did not expect that.

Afterwards as she tucked me back into her van Annie told me “We’re going to get you fixed up and find you a home where you will be loved forever.” I remained skeptical. Humans, I had found, were not the most reliable species.

I only spent a few more days with Annie, and I had begun to feel better, then she took me to meet a new lady one night. This new lady was different again. But when she got out of her truck, I felt something different. I could not explain it, but when she looked at me there was this sense of warmth that rolled over my poor body and made my soul expand within. I walked toward her willingly. The first time I had done so for anyone, and she knelt to gently take my face in her hands. As we looked at each other eye to eye I realized she felt like “home”. She was quiet as she talked to me and listened to Annie detail all the Vet’s instructions. She ran her hands all over my body, checking my spine and legs and paws, even my tail did not escape her notice. Then Annie gave her all my medicine and the humans said their goodbyes. As Annie pulled away and I realized I was to go with the new lady peace fell over me, there was just something here that made me feel sure it would be alright.

The new lady lifted me into the hatch of her truck and tucked me into the blankets piled there. I was surprised. No crate or cage. This was new. After a short trip, with lots of cows out the windows, we arrived at a house. The lady’s mate came out to meet us and gently lifted me down. I appreciated his kindness, jumping still hurt. He looked at me for a long moment, then back up at the lady and I felt an emotion pass between them. Once more I had the strange feeling of being loved.

Next, I met their children and other animals. Everyone was truly kind and comforting. I was given a bed and fluffy blanket all my own. The children argued over who got to feed me and I got a yummy cookie from each one after dinner. Their dogs laid down on each side of me that night foregoing their own beds to keep me warm. Simon even laid his head across my shoulders to share his body heat with me.

dog
2

About the Creator

Rowan Christmas

Parent of 2 and avid animal rescue foster, I prefer to spend my time doing activities with my children but as the grow more and more independent I find myself drawn back to my childhood love of books and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.