Petlife logo

The Real Queens of Wakanda III: Song of the Sea

Arrion Williams, a marine mammal trainer at Georgia Aquarium, shares her story of how a day at SeaWorld inspired her to work with marine mammals in the third entry of "The Real Queens of Wakanda" Series.

By Jenna DeedyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Arrion Williams with Georgia Aquarium's sea otter family.

In the latest chapter of The Real Queens of Wakanda, I now place all focus on a marine mammal trainer of color who is based at Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta, GA. Arrion Williams has been working with marine mammals at Georgia Aquarium since 2015 after spending several years volunteering at the aquarium. Now, she shares her story of how she became a marine mammal trainer, which all started with a trip to SeaWorld Orlando when she was just six years old.

1. What made you want to work with animals in the first place?

As far back as I can remember I have always had a love for animals. I started with an obsession with anything horses when I was young. When I was around 6, I saw a movie that made me become fascinated by killer whales. My parents saw this and planned a trip to Florida so we could go to SeaWorld. I saw all the amazing animals there and the trainers that worked alongside them. From that point, I knew that I wanted to be a marine mammal trainer.

2. Have you done any volunteer and, or internship experiences during your high school and college years?

In high school, I spent most of my time riding horses and volunteering at the barn that I rode with. Once I turned 18, I began volunteering at Georgia Aquarium and was able to secure an animal training internship working alongside trainers that worked with the beluga whales and harbor seals almost 2 years later. Since then I did an internship with the Navy’s Marine Mammal Program, whale shark research at Georgia Aquarium, and another animal training internship working with trainers that cared for the Atlantic bottlenose dolphins at Georgia Aquarium.

3. What is your favorite animal to work with?

In my career so far, I would have to say my favorite animal to work with has been Asian small-clawed otters. They are hilarious and adorable! But on a more professional note, I learned a lot about behavior, training, management, and enrichment through working with them.

4. When did you land the position you have now?

I began working as a trainer in 2015 and worked with various species such as beluga whales, harbor seals, Asian small-clawed otters, puffins, and Southern sea otters. I currently work with California sea lions and harbor seals.

5. What is it like for you to be a person of color to be part of the zoological community? Have you faced any challenges along the way?

In my life, I had been used to taking interest in things that weren’t considered the “norm” for people in my community. I grew up riding horses and loving animals, which we do, but not as commonly. Being a black woman in the zoological community has not been any different for me than it would be for any of my coworkers. We all had to work hard and stand out to get the positions we have. It’s funny at times to explain the cultural differences and it makes me smile because it opens a conversation that we all need to have. I am lucky that the organization I’m a part of is very supportive and so dedicated to the animals we spend our days with.

6. Since your social media implies that you work with marine mammals, what do you hope people will get out of seeing the animals under your care?

I hope they see the majesty and wonder these animals present. I personally just had to see these animals want to understand them more and know more about them. I’m hoping that people see them and want to be a part of their conservation and safety. I hope they also see that anyone can do anything. You don’t have to be of a certain demographic to be a part of this field and this is attainable with the right drive/passion.

7. Last question, any advice for kids and teens who are looking into the possibility of working with animals in a zoological setting?

Get as much experience as you can with any animal you can. It doesn’t matter if you don’t live near an aquarium or zoo, find a local animal shelter or barn to get your start! I lived nowhere near a beach when I decided to become a marine mammal trainer but I was lucky enough to grow from where I was with the resources I had. Be sure to open yourself up to traveling. For SCUBA certifications or internships, you may have to do this so plan! On a more personal note, you only have one life to live and you should work toward whatever will make you happy. Don’t think about what other people have to say because it’s not the “norm.” Believe in yourself! Make sure to always show your joy and smile through everything you do.

A big thanks to Arrion for sharing her story of being a marine mammal trainer of color at Georgia Aquarium and what it’s like to work with the marine mammals that have been calling the facility home since 2004. I am very grateful for your time and effort to allow me to share your story with the rest of the world during these times of uncertainty.

Once again, if you are a female zoo and aquarium professional of color and would like to share your story, feel free to email me at [email protected]. You can also send me a DM on my Instagram under @jennacostadeedy.

More from The Real Queens of Wakanda

Maya

Jawine

interview
1

About the Creator

Jenna Deedy

Zoo and Aquarium Professional, Educator, Cosplayer, Writer and B.A. in Psychology whose got a lot to share when it comes to animals, zoos, aquariums, conservation, and more.

Instagram: @jennacostadeedy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.