Petlife logo

The Legend of Harpo Barx

a Fur Hero

By Sarah OzmondPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

“You really need to come over and meet this dog” my friend says from the other end of the line. “You two have been talking about adopting a dog forever…just come meet her”.

Sean and I were both huge animal lovers…especially him. So much in fact that throughout our workday we would send each other links to adoptable animals in the cities surrounding us knowing that one day we would try and settle on one, even though we wanted them all. I suppose the reason we hadn’t committed aside from having to choose, was that we also had a fairly free lifestyle in that we had few obligations and loved to pick up and go at a moment’s notice. Even though we didn’t really talk about it, it’s the only reason I can think of for our hesitation.

So of course we went. Our friends who lived nearby had their niece “S” and her husband “R” in the garage when we arrived, along with their kids and general chaos. We walked in to the whirlwind and a small, white, skittish Jack Russel something-or-other walked over to us. When we knelt down to greet her she was gentle and nervous, unaware of her surroundings. We pet her as she looked into our eyes then darted off to work the room. They began to tell us the story of her rescue. “R” had gone to visit his mother who was unwell and suffered from mental illness. She’d had this dog for many years…we think nine in fact…and due to her instability she was dosing the dog on a regular basis with something to make her sleep so she could get her own rest and not be interrupted. At this point this dog was drooling in a corner on a dirt floor and the woman had decided she was no longer worthy and would have to put her down. I still wonder to this day what this pooch’s life was actually like before us, how long she had been in this state. Luckily for us “R” stepped in and said no, that he would find her a home. “R” and “S” themselves had their own dog, two kids and a pretty full house already so weren’t able to manage another, yet “R” still knew this little wonder had a ton of life left in her.

We decided to take her home for a few hours and see how we fit. Any of you dog lovers out there likely know the rest is history…that 30 minutes in we were not letting her go. Sean lay on the couch with her and she snuggled right into him, an instant love connection.

We decided to rename her Harpo Barx as we were both fans of the Marx brothers and of course thought the pun was adorable. Our sweet girl went through a detox from her prior life, and when her eyes finally cleared we could see that she now had her own extreme anxiety. We spent as much time with her as we could to make her comfortable. Lots of long walks, cuddles and love and our lives were complete…we had the perfect instant family.

A few months later we found out that Sean needed a heart surgery which of course brought on sudden worry. He found a lot of comfort in his time with Harpo and was always so happy to see her after a long day. In fact he was always jealous that I worked from home and had much more time with her. She however, was madly in love with him as well. They were the perfect team and reciprocated all feelings. She would wait for him outside any door and follow him the instant he arrived home from work. I do believe that she helped him to ease his stress and bring him joy at a very difficult time.

And then Sean died.

Five months after Harpo arrived, Sean was gone. This poor girl had been through so much and now had not only lost her favourite person but would be subjected to my horrific pain and anguish for years to come.

There have been many moments in the last four years that I have questioned whether or not I would have survived without her. On the days that I wouldn’t have gotten out of bed I did because she needed to be fed. On the days that I couldn’t bear to be in the house she took me on long walks and we lay in the backyard together. On the nights that I couldn’t sleep she snuggled up and comforted me with her presence. The times when I wouldn’t have come home at all only to end up who knows where, I did because she needed me. She kept me in line, out of trouble, loved and alive.

People say that everything happens for a reason and even though in some parts of my life it has proven difficult to distinguish that, I do know that in the instance of Harpo Barx it could not be truer. There is no other way to explain the timing of our connection. There is no other reason for two souls that needed each other so deeply, to find one another at the time we did. I will forever be grateful for this divine timing.

We’ve been through many more ups and downs since then, including Harpo having a very serious spinal surgery when her back legs stopped working. I nursed her back as she did for me. We have this way of taking turns when the other needs it the most…a continuous rescuing of the other. The difference is she’s strong and never gives up, a will to live like no other. Even at her lowest, would not quit and still managed to give me purpose. Watching what she went through with surgery and physio and learning to walk again I can honestly say I don’t have the human equivalent of what she has. The determination, willpower and spirit, she’s my hero. I wish I could do more for her. Take away the arthritis and back pain completely, ease the anxiety and instill peace and comfort, know when to push and when to let her rest. Take away her fear of hard floors or fix the historical damage that makes her lose her mind around other dogs. I wish we could grow old together, go on adventures together, be best friends always.

My friend that made the original call about meeting Harpo said something to me the other day. She said that sometimes she felt bad for bringing Harpo into my life. She worried because of how much we’ve gone through with her health and how much money has been spent during a time in life when I don’t have it. I was taken aback by this as I still feel like I would do anything within my power for her. I have no regrets in this area of my life other than not knowing she was in pain sooner, possibly missing the signs.

As I stumbled to find the words to explain how I felt, how grateful I am for what they gave me my eyes welled up with tears of appreciation and all that came out was…”she saved my life.”

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Ozmond

www.mylifeafterdeathproject.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.