Petlife logo

The Ferret Uber

Weasel Riding Shotgun

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
By Rebecca Ivey

Last year I decided to take on a side-job during the holidays. Driving an Uber locally seemed like a ready and painless way to make some extra money.

On the first night of my new escapade I decided to bring along "Weasel" my venturesome and rapturous pet ferret. Weasel has always enjoyed going for rides in the car so I knew that he would make the perfect companion and he would also serve as a good icebreaker and interesting topic for conversation.

To my amazement, everybody who slipped into my car absolutely adored Weasel, he got some of the biggest laughs and smiles from our passengers. Some of our regular customers liked him so much that they began bringing him gifts and treats.

We became known as the "Ferret Uber" folks would even call the hotline and specifically request us. I guess you could say that Weasel had gained near celebrity status and he was enjoying every single moment of it.

Weasel and I made a lot of new friends and met some very interesting and wonderful people while driving for Uber. I truly believe that our passengers needed the extra comfort that he provided just as much as I did. Being inside of a car with perfect strangers can sometimes be rather uncomfortable and intimidating (more often than not to be honest) and Weasel provided a warm and easy atmosphere for everyone.

We made it through the holidays with flying colors and we successfully aquired the extra money that we had been working for. Having Weasel riding shotgun made me feel so much more at ease and comfortable. Of course I knew that he provided no protection, just having him there made me and my passengers both feel a little bit safer and more secure.

One of our regular customers worked at a grocery store and we would take her home almost every night. Each time that she climbed into the car with us she had one single banana for Weasel, and he expected it too!

Weasel and I had mixed emotions when it was finally time to turn in the keys to the Ferret Uber. We knew that we would surely miss our regular customers and all of the amazing new friends that we had made.

We were surprised to find out just how much that they would miss us too. Weasel received several heart-warming "goodbye" gifts. Cards thanking him for making a rough day just a little bit brighter and for spreading some much needed happiness and joy into lives that needed that small little pick-me-up that he provided.

One of his Uber friends even gave him a tiny little "Weasel" coat to keep him warm on those long cold nights on the road. The very first time that he tried it on, it looked like he was laughing.

For Christmas, Weasel recieved an amazing gift for all of his hard work. A giant playpen filled with various toys for his fun and amusement. He is now six years old and slowing down quite a bit in his old age. He spends most of his time sleeping and resting in his playpen now, but he still enjoys going for a car ride ever-so-often.

I had considered driving for Uber again this year, however Weasel is no longer able to make those long trips riding around all night. I just don't have the heart to do it without him, besides...Weasel was the star of the Ferret Uber and it just wouldn't be the same without him.

I love you sweet Weasel, as did every person who ever had the honor of riding in the Ferret Uber. You've surely brought a whole lot of love and happiness to people, especially me.

The time that we spent driving Uber together will live in my heart forever. (and in so many others).

ferret
3

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.