Petlife logo

Talking Whiskers on Kittens

Short fiction

By Barbara HaigPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Today, began just like any other day… Hold on a minute! That is just terrible, and I am not that boring a guy! Yawn! And the story I have to tell is SO much better than that… Please permit me to start again.

My name is Steven. Steven Tyler, truth be told! My Mom, Babs, loves that dudes’ music, and felt that I had a very similar “personality.” Babs knows a lot of stuff, and I totally respect her opinion. So, I’ll take it as a compliment: from what I have overheard, Mr. Tyler is engaging, successful, popular, talented and FUN! I also subscribe to the life credo, “never concentrate on the darker side of things.” But, I digress!

I am currently sitting out on our under-deck porch. We just built a ceiling for it, ourselves, under the deck, (and much difficulty), so that when you are sitting in this semi-private, cozy spot, rain is no longer dripping all over you! So dreadful! I am sitting in my favorite, comfy chair, with the warm, morning sun on my face. Life is good, indeed!

I enjoy the good fortune, to be living in the country, in rural, western Pennsylvania. We are rural enough to enjoy the peace and quiet, but close enough for the necessities when needed. The area has everything a young buck could want, for exploring and adventures: endless mossy woods to explore and secret streams, perfect for fishing! There are trails to follow and treats for collecting!

About a year and half ago, we moved across the state, from our home in Bucks County, eastern Pennsylavania. This was another really fun place to live. Bucks, is home to many beautiful streams and creeks, with winding country roads, and many farms and barns, and history. I wasn’t sure how a move was going to work out. There are a lot of “moving” parts to a move, (I made a pun! This is a game that Babs and I, often play. I am usually better!) and I wondered how Babs would pull it off. Moving with five, yes five, boys. But notmonlymdid Babs manage it, we all landed on our feet!

I would like to take a minute to tell you about my Babs, and my wacky family. Twelve years ago, I came to Babs, through an emergency foster situation. Forget the circumstances. I don’t even like to think about it. It was a horrible time in my life, but I remember that I was homeless, and alone, and very sick. I had a very high fever, for a long time, that left me a little messed up. You know, like Steven Tyler… Anyway, Babs was the only,one that would take on my case, and she never gave up on me! Through her patient love and care, I gradually got better. Then miracle,of all miracles, Babs decided to adopt me! I was so grateful and I love her unconditionally! I know that I was one of the very luck ones…

Over the years, other unfortunate situations would occur, and through good luck, or Karma, these cases found their way to Babs’ open front door, and she would do whatever she could. Babs, has worked with so many, from different backgrounds, and with different needs, and was very successful, finding loving and supportive, forever homes for many. But try as she might, not all could be placed. Babs became paricularly attached, to several of the younger, more tender cases, and I am happy to say, they became my brothers, when Babs decided to adopt them! They are Tiguan, 11, Mr. Black, 8, Biggles, 7, and my lil’ bro, Sid Vicious, he is 6. It is a full house!

Babs, has some pretty strict rules, but usually lets us work out our differences and difficulties! For the most part, we get along just great! But, you know, boys will be boys, and sometimes we just have to talk things out, amongst ourselves. You might be wondering, what’s the big deal about that? Well, perhaps, I forgot to mention it…but we are Babs’ cats… her talking cats! Can you imagine ALL the stories we have to tell!

cat

About the Creator

Barbara Haig

Please help me! There‘s a writer trapped inside me, and I must get her out, and introduce her to the world! Seriously folks! My friends tell me, that I have a flair for the comedic, through my unusual outlook and experience. Let’s hope!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Barbara Haig (Author)about a year ago

    Very first go… lots of typos… thanks,for,any advice or feedback

Barbara HaigWritten by Barbara Haig

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.