Petlife logo

Super Powered Pets

Pet Therapy During Quarantine

By Eloise GiesbrechtPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It has been an absolute blessing to have a cat and a dog as pets during this time of quarantine. They have been definite mood busters. Indy the dog and Mazikeen the cat both are very unique and have special super powers.

Indy is fast as lightning, just like the cars on the Indy 500 race track. There is a ramp in the backyard that was used for a previous dog, to help them access the property. Indy runs up and down it with incredible speed. He was overfed by a previous owner, so when we got him he weighed more than a corgi should. That’s right...the same breed of dog as the Queen has. As my friend and I began to take Indy for longer walks, what I affectionately named “weight watchers for dogs” Indy gradually increased speed. Now you’d really think he’s on a race track sometimes, trying to break his previous record for time.

He’s an excellent guard dog because his bark is about 100 times bigger than he is. I often walk him and other dog walkers will see him. I’ve had people say as I’m approaching, “My dog is very friendly.” I responded, “Mine’s not!” Like I’ve given him a signal, Indy starts barking loudly. He’s small but mighty.

One Sunday afternoon I decided to take Indy a different walking route to change up the scenery a little. There was a lady doing yard work. I heard her dog barking loudly, but I didn’t see it. Naturally Indy responded by barking back. I did what I normally do and told him at first calmly and then more sternly to, “Leave it!” I had to show him I was the one in control and keep him moving. All of a sudden with no warning, the very large dog who had been barking at Indy was biting him. He came up from behind completely silent and bit him really hard. The owner came running to get her dog and return him home to be disciplined. Simultaneously a jeep pulled over to make sure both Indy and I were alright. I haven’t walked by that house since, with or without Indy. My friend that I live with had to call the veterinarian. She emailed them pictures and booked an appointment. Poor Indy had to have a large portion of his fur cut off so the veterinarian could give him stitches and put a tube in for a week as there was puss from the bite. For about forty eight hours after that Indy wasn’t himself and he mostly slept. The appointment was on a Tuesday. By Thursday he’s made a complete recovery and was just as speedy as before the incident. Ever since I’ve called him Super Indy! Speed truly is his super power, be it in recovery or in his excitement life.

There is a long hallway in between the kitchen and the bedrooms at my house. More often than not I’m the first one up in the morning. I walk to the kitchen and Indy uses the hallway as his racetrack. He runs into the kitchen so fast wanting to be fed and does a literal happy dance while I fill his food dish.

One time when my Mom came over to watch a movie Indy plopped himself right on her lap and started licking her face. It’s like he thought, “She’s not a dog person! I’m going to change her mind with my cuteness!”

My cat Mazikeen has the super power of giving cuddles. She has a way of always making me feel so loved. She snuggles up on my shoulder and purrs very loudly.

The pets have definitely provided therapy during this time of being apart from family and friends.

therapy
Like

About the Creator

Eloise Giesbrecht

I'm a thirty nine year old who is passionate about music, living in the moment, and telling stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.