Petlife logo

Stories about Dogs

Moonlight Dog and Breaking Toes

By Morgan Graham Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Stories about Dogs
Photo by Victor Grabarczyk on Unsplash

Moonlight

In the middle of the day, leaving to go out for a drink. Close the door, lock the door. On my way to the bar, there is this sense that there is something behind me, I feel the hair on the back of my neck stand up. My stomach drops, my heart beats a little faster than usual. I slowly turn around, there is a moonlight dog with eyes I have never seen. The dog slowly sits, tilts it’s head at me to pet him. The grey/blue eyes staring at me, like he knows everything about me. Something very familiar with this dog, my skin gets goose bumps, the dog howls at me. This sound I have never heard before, sound of desperation and truth. I’m supposed to receive this message? What am I supposed to think?

I wake in the middle of the night. Time is frozen, the tv going in and out. I look over at the dog sleeping in my bed. I know that’s my dog. She doesn’t move when I touch her. I look over to see a moonlight dog staring at me. Goose bumps, the hair standing up on the back of my neck. Wait, I’m really not awake. I must be dreaming. But why about this dog? Does this dog know me in a way that I don’t understand how. We stare at each other for a while, there is no sound. I wake to time moving forward like normal.

In the middle of the day, my dog and I are walking in the dog park. There are all kinds of dogs here at the park. I sit at a bench watching the other dogs, in the bushes near the gate and I see grey/blue eyes staring at me. I jump out of my sit and grab my dog. We walk to the end of the field where there is another gate, I run as fast as I can. The dog meets me at the gate, I stop in my tracks. The dog comes up to me wanting me to touch their head. I do and something tells me that this meant to happen. I look at my dog and at the other one, I say. “Lets go home.” Both dogs follow me into the moonlight night.

Breaking toes

Hot sunny day, the wind coming off the water, nothing like a Sunday afternoon spending time on the lake. Dad gets us some cheese burgers with fries, lemonades and cherry cokes to go with those. The dogs are playing in the water and the sand underneath our toes. Nothing can ruin this day of fun in the sun. The potato salad is out and the plates are ready to be used.

“Roxy is barking.” Mom said.

“I’ll get her.” I get up to get her and my feet are stuck underneath me. Running fast as I can to get to her, she takes off running as fast as she can.

“Roxy get over here!” She comes to a stop and turns to look at me. I fast walk to her and pick her with force to tell her that I’m not happy for running after her. I can’t believe that I had to run after her and everyone is laughing at me. I know I probably looked ridiculous chasing after this little dog that only weighs eight pounds. I lost my flip fop in the process and my hair is a crazy mess.

“Good one, that was an amazing show.” Mom saids to me.

We eat our food, play in the lake and before the sun goes down, we clean up our mess. We load the cars up and dad is shaking his head wondering how I even got the car into this spot.

“How do you even think you are going to get out of this spot? ‘There’s sand everywhere and you don’t have the car to be doing this.” Dad saids to me while scratching his head. For sure, he’s really confused on how I got this Honda CRV up the sandy drive to the spot next to the trees.

“I got this dad.” I said to him.

“Okay whatever you say.” He says back to me.

I take the trash to the dumpster, I run because the sand is so hot that I can feel my skin peal away. I’m almost to the dumpster and I face plant the ground. My knees are burning, my hands are burning. I get up and throw the trash away, my feet won’t move the way I want them to. I’m limping to the car and it hurts so much. I sit on the picnic bench to look at my toe. Its purple and black, swollen and bigger than the other toe. Oh my god, it hurts. Dad comes over to me and looks at my toe.

“Well, it looks like you have yourself a broken toe.”

I have a broken toe now.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Graham

A new college grad, writing because I love to write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.