Petlife logo

So, You Wanna Be a Dog Mom (or Dad)?

What to think about when you are thinking about getting a dog

By Karyn BeachPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Benji, my yappy Yorkie!

A dog mom isn’t a mom. A mom is the parent of a child. A dog mom is the parent of a canine, a dog. I clean up after my dog, provide him food and shelter, stay up with him when he’s sick, make sure he gets his shots. Yeah, I’m his mom.

I grew up with dogs, poodles. As an adult, I’ve had Marty then Jake (poodles) and now Benji, my first Yorkie.

I see the difference between cats and dogs as the difference between toddlers and teenagers. Cats are the teens. They look at you with that “Whatever …” look. Most of the time, they want to be alone. When they want to be around you, they will tolerate your presence until you suddenly become insufferably annoying. They want food and to be left to their own devices – like a teenager!

Dogs are needier, like toddlers. They are always around. They always want your attention. They aren’t above throwing a tantrum to get what they want (or is that only my Diva Dogs?). Dogs need you. They miss you when you are gone.

Here are 4 things to keep in mind when you are thinking about pet parenthood.

1. Time … Do you have it?

Dogs take time. Puppies take a lot more time. I tend to get adult dogs from a rescue. The benefit is that most of the time, they are housebroken. Even with a housebroken adult, they still need walks. They still demand attention. Attention = Time.

2. Lifestyle … What dog fits yours?

Looking at your life, what dog will work best with you? I like small dogs I can pick up and carry. My poodles have been toy poodles. A standard wouldn’t work for me. I also don’t like a lot of dog hair, breeds that shed heavily aren’t for me either. Knowing what does and doesn’t work for you is critical. The idea is to have a forever dog, not a dog that goes back to the shelter.

3. Patience … You’re going to need it.

Puppies require a great deal of patience. Dogs with separation anxiety, moving from a puppy mill or having lived an abusive environment need extra help as well. If you take in an older dog, you may have health issues to contend with (then again, that might be an issue with any dog).

4. Money … You must have it

Dogs will become an entire category in your budget. There is food plus treats. You must have supplies (collar, lease, tag, bed, …). Dogs require shots, vaccines and often end up at the vet; pet insurance is a good idea. Then, there can be additional cost for boarding, dog walkers and cute clothes (okay maybe not clothes, but then again …)

Benji’s Story.

Benji and I got together at the end of January 2022. At the beginning of 2022 (January 2nd), I had to put down my poodle, Jake. When I rescued Jake, he was around 6 and we were together for about 8 years. Towards the end, he developed a heart murmur.

On his last night, he had trouble breathing. I took him to the emergency vet expecting a quick treatment and leaving with some medicine. Instead, he wasn’t responding to oxygen. Jake wasn’t breathing. They suggested I put him down.

I know he would have tried to stick it out for me, but I couldn’t do that to him. I held him as he took his last breath.

I thought it would be a while before I got another dog. But the void Jake left was huge. I realized as a single woman, how much Jake had given me, especially during the pandemic. His presence and his companionship were immense. Who knew a 13-pound dog could have such an impact?

I didn’t know if I was going to get another dog, but I started looking at rescue sites just to see dogs. I was looking at dogs and keeping an eye out for poodles. When I saw Benji, the adorable Yorkie, I was instantly smitten. Suddenly, I was going to get another dog, and I was going to get this dog.

When I inquired about him, I found out he’d been turned into the rescue twice. I immediately wondered what kind of behavior problem he had. It turned out his problems weren’t behavioral, but owner related.

Unprepared for a dog

The first couple adopted Benji as a puppy. They were an elderly couple with older his and her Yorkie lap dogs. The male dog died, and Benji was his replacement. They got him as a puppy – a young dog full of curiosity, energy, and mischief. He was not the laid-back, older lap dog they wanted.

In fact, he was so busy, they placed him on Prozac to calm him down. He wasn’t suffering from anxiety though; he was just a puppy. Without the results they wanted, the couple returned him to the rescue.

He wasn’t there long before another couple adopted him. They were a much younger couple who saw a cute dog and wanted him. Benji’s second set of parents steered clear of the drugs. In fact, they just steered clear. Between busy work schedules and active social lives, they realized their lifestyle didn’t need to include a dog.

Again, Benji found himself in the familiar rescue setting. Then I saw him. After talking to the rescue owner, I was confident Benji had found the right home. I assured her that with me, Benji had his forever home.

I worked from home, so I had time to devote to him.

While I had never had a Yorkie before, I did my research on the breed. I knew they didn’t shed much. They did, however, received grooming on a regular basis. As a poodle owner, I was used to that. They needed walks and had a moderate activity level, not a problem. Benji would fit in perfectly with my lifestyle.

He would need time to learn his new home and new environment. I had the patience to work with him on establishing some new routines.

I knew what pet insurance to go with. I had a Wag! Account for walks and boarding. These were line items already in my budget. Money wouldn’t be an issue.

Benji and I are quite a pair. He isn’t a replacement for Jake. He is his own dog with his own quirks and weird ways. He is exactly what I needed. I’m a dog mom again and it feels good.

adoptiondog
Like

About the Creator

Karyn Beach

I'm Karyn Beach and all my life I have had a love affair with words - written and spoken. Words have the power to transport you to another time and place. Words can reach your heart, make you think, make you laugh and make you cry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.