Petlife logo

Simba

You Fabulously Funky Feline.

By Linda Simpson Published 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Simba - A Maine Coon Cat

Jan called to say that it was about time we had another cat!

It seems she had a lovely little female grey tortie in the cattery due to it being dumped over her fence. She had rehoused the last one to us and we had Ming from 2 years to a very healthy 17 years old. Such a proud and awesome cat too.

So I agreed to come and see this little girl who had been literally thrown over the fence. Heavy sigh – some humans ???

At that time these particular friends (who I classify as family) owned and ran a very loving boarding kennel and cattery and we often managed the place when they needed to get away. They were going through a big phase where cats were regularly being dumped on them, some of the cats were expensive breeds as well. It was a strange time.

Anyway, I drove over to the kennels and as I approached the property the name of Simba dropped into my brain, so I figured that this really was going to be our next feline friend.

Simba-to-be was the cutest little grey long haired cat and she just knew that I was her new human. Many people who rehome critters will tell you that they choose us, not the other way around and this little kitten was definitely imprinting herself onto me.

I told her that I had to talk to Michael, as it was his home as well, so I was leaving her with Jan for the night and would be back the next day. She literally howled as I left the cattery, long articulate howls. She seemed to be telling me that she knew I was her next human and WHY was I leaving her there. So sad.

The next day I went and picked up Simba and we spent the day together. I had to leave her alone for about an hour but then Michael was coming home so I told her that she needed to schmooze the man when he came home. She had to make sure that He felt the puddy-tat LOVE.

So funny, I asked Michael how she was when he came in and he told me she was all over him, purring and happy. She took me literally and really showed Michael some Purring Love.

Simba really loved emptying the office bin then climbing in.

Jan was thinking this little kitten was six months old or so, but I felt differently as she did that suckling thing on my hand a few times, which showed me she was possibly only three months old.

We had both spoken to our local vet (and friend) about this kitten and he was ready to do the spaying for us at a reduced rate, lovely man.

The day came when I had to drop Simba off to the vet and I took off for an appointment about 30 minutes drive away. I got a call after only an hour saying Simba could go home now – What?

MORE FUNNY

Now Jan and I had accidentally set this poor man up and he fully trusted Jan with her opinions on animals and took her seriously when ever she bought a critter to him.

So, he had taken us both at our word that this was a little girl.

It wasn’t.

Simba was an already desexed male who had probably had his testicles removed before they even dropped down. This often happens when a breeder is selling on a kitten and they want to make absolutely sure that they won't be used in stud work.

He was actually a full Maine Coon cat who had been masquerading as a girl at our place.

I held in my laughter until I was away from the surgery but Jan and I have had some big laughs about this for many years. Poor vet friend.

Simba had been anaesthetised ready for the unnecessary operation and I was given instructions to keep him quiet for 24 hours – no such luck. Simba was used to being outside in the yard and that was exactly where he decided he needed to be after such an ordeal.

Keeping to our Agreement

Way back in time, when I first went to meet Simba, I told her/him that we had a no kill rule. That if he came to live with us then we’d feed him raw meat, all good heavy wild cat food, as long as he knew he wasn’t ever to catch birds etc. The only time he went against that deal was when I decided he should have a cat bell. He went straight out and caught a little sparrow then bought it inside and threw it (very alive) into the lounge area. Then sat and stared straight at me as if to say, SEE, I can do this with or without the bell.

I got the hint and took the cat bell off him and he continued to not catch wildlife.

The Simba Glare

The Simba adventure continues.

Michael and I were given an awesome opportunity to travel across Australia (and I’ll share some stories about these adventures in other posts) and we just Knew that Simba wouldn’t cope with this kind of containment and travel. Our two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels would cope with anything but this kind of life would stress our big outside boy.

Jan put up her hand and said he could live with them. She’d Always wanted a Maine Coon cat and they'd gotten to know Simba really well during the times when he'd stayed as a cattery guest. So Simba went to train two new human slaves and to investigate a whole new kingdom to reign over.

He totally LOVED being the cat which ruled over the Kennels and Cattery and used all of his funny leprechaun ways to stir up the other home pets. Jan also had Cavalier King Charles Spaniels and this new cat was almost the same size, plus he could sneak up on them. It was such fun to watch.

Whenever we came back into town from our travels Simba would glare at us and we figured that he was done with us, that we was very happy with his new family.

This theme continued.

The time came for our beautiful friends to sell the kennel and move north. With everything planned out they sent Simba ahead on a plane to live with their daughter and family for a couple of weeks prior to them physically moving up.

In those two weeks Simba had magically turned the family, and the two resident cats, into his new set of slaves and when Jan went to collect him, he did that GLARE thing as if to say, I’m good, you can go now, I’m all fine here.

Our Simba had an awesome life and even though he has long ago walked over the feline rainbow bridge, he still has a place in our hearts. He was a big cat with a big personality making a big impact on our lives.

I love you Simba and I still miss you.

Simba and Minnie enjoying some afternoon sun

cat
1

About the Creator

Linda Simpson

Storyteller, Urban Farmer, Love Bubble Distributor

I enjoy my life to the full, whether working in Our Small Urban Farm or uplifting and enabling beautiful beings in their spirituality, their journey. Love is my Magic and my Alchemy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.