Petlife logo

Shiloh

My soul dog.

By Jill SzarozPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

I like to think that every animal lover has one soul animal. It's the pet you have which you connect with on the deepest of levels, that awakens, and then completes, a part of you that you did not even know existed.

Shiloh was that for me.

She came to me on a summer afternoon. I wasn't particularly looking for a dog, as a young college student working a full-time job and drinking too much on the weekends (and weekdays).

I met her through the passenger side of a car window. A classmate of mine had told me she was leaving an abusive relationship, and was looking to rehome a puppy her abusive boyfriend had given her as a gift. Immediately, I saw her and I knew! We were meant to be together. She also seemed to know, by the way she almost jumped out of the car to get to me.

Within hours, I had bought dog food, a bed, a crate, a collar and toys and within minutes after that, she was delivered to my doorstep. Five pounds of absolutely fluffy perfection.

From there, we went on many adventures together. She was by my side throughout my college career, when I graduated by the skin of my teeth. She came with me to my first solo apartment, and helped me to maintain some responsibility - after all, living on the 11th floor of an apartment with a dog comes with its own set of challenges. She saw me fall in love, and although she was uncertain about allowing another into our circle, she eventually fell in love, too. Years later, she fell in love with my children - and when she had to, tolerated their unwelcome, toddler attention.

There are no shortage of memories.

One that stands out however was a trip to Nelson, B.C. (pre-kids). My then- boyfriend and I drove 11 hours with her sitting on our laps, staring out the car window. We stopped at dog friendly beaches and found the most quaint roadside villages to get out and let her stretch her legs. Many destinations that would have normally gone completely unnoticed became the highlights of our adventures.

When we reached Nelson, we needed to board a ferry to cross onto the mainland. Shiloh sat beautifully on the ferry and stared out over the ocean, as if she was not just a dog (is there even such thing as JUST a dog?) but a travelling tourist headed towards a purposeful destination.

On the ferry ride

After getting off the ferry, we arrived at our destination - a tiny cottage overlooking a quaint, crystal clear lake. We spent the next 4 days sitting out by that lake, relaxing. The highlight of Shiloh's trip came on the first day we sat out by that lake, taking in the scenery, when a lone duck came onto the beach to join us. He waddled almost immediately over to Shiloh who, bless her soul, did nothing. Over the days that progressed however, an unlikely friendship occurred between said duck and our sweet little fluffball. Every morning, we would go out close to the dock and the duck would almost immediately appear, squawking and heading straight towards Shiloh to say good morning. The two would play chase, running in the water and then lay down for naps close to each other. When the time came to leave that place I wondered who was more sad - the lonely duck, or our Shy-girl.

The drive home was another trip full of memories and beautiful sights. We stopped at dog beaches and campgrounds, visited dog friendly restaurants and met fellow dog owners. All experiences we would have never encountered had it not been for our four-legged companion. For her company alone, that Nelson trip holds some of my favorite memories of my pre-children days.

As the years went on, life happened. Shiloh got older, as dogs unfortunately do. She even had a bout with cancer that ended up in a surgery to take away her front right leg. Another valuable lesson I learned from my girl - life is truly what you make it. Within weeks of undergoing surgery to become a tri-pawd, I cried at the dog park as I saw her run, play and jump, never the more bothered by her newly restricted mobility.

When it was time to say goodbye, I found peace in knowing that we never took a moment for granted with our girl. She was the ever constant in my life for over 10 years, and I showered her with the most love. I feel confident in saying there was not a day where she ever felt any less than the most special being on Earth. But I cannot even compare to the way she made me feel by just loving me, unconditionally and forever. She was and always will be my soul dog, and although I have gone on to love others, that first love is one that will always transcend time.

I cannot wait until the day where I see her waiting for me, frisking happily in the sun on all 4 legs, at the rainbow bridge.

Shiloh

2007 - 2019

dog

About the Creator

Jill Szaroz

Mama. Wife. Christian.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jill SzarozWritten by Jill Szaroz

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.