Petlife logo

Rosie.

My sweet girl.

By Amber Marie CardonaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rosie.
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Rosie was my sweet girl. A beautiful chocolate lab, I rescued her from the shelter when she was just 2 years old. She was very shy at first, and a little afraid. I don’t think she was used to love and affection. But she came around and soon enough, she was looking forward to all the kisses and cuddles. Rosie loved to play everything from fetch to catch, but most of all, Rosie loved to hide things. She would grab her ball or a shoe of mine and she would put it somewhere and wait for me to find it. You could see the joy on her little face. I’d watch her hide every item, so I always knew where everything was, but Rosie didn’t know that. I’d pretend to search for her toys or my flip flop (or whatever else she felt like hiding) and Rosie would just follow me around, tail wagging in excitement. One time, Rosie attempted to hide my keys. Thankfully, I heard the jingling because I hadn’t known she was trying to play her favorite game since she had decided to start it without me. I wouldn’t have thought to search under the pile of sweaters in my room. Rosie wasn’t super happy that I caught her in the act, but I made it up to her with hugs and belly rubs. Rosie was my best friend. We did everything together. She even liked to help me cook. Well, she liked to watch me cook and catch whatever food I “accidentally” dropped on the ground for her to eat. She was great at cleaning up those types of messes. I’d chop up some chicken for a salad and Rosie would wait patiently for her pieces. My sweet girl. Rosie loved to watch the stars with me. We would go out in our backyard and sit in our hammock and stargaze. Sometimes we would see a shooting star and I have no idea what Rosie would wish for, but I would always just say thank you. I was already happy and I wanted the universe to know that I was so very grateful. Rosie loved to dance. I would put on our favorite songs and she would stand up on her hind legs for a little bit and dance around. She was a very talented girl and music was one of her favorite things. Sometimes I would sing to her. My voice isn’t the prettiest, but Rosie made me feel like I was pretty great. I miss it. Singing and dancing pretty badly with my dog. No judgment. Just love. I found out Rosie had cancer after a trip to the vet. She had been yelping in pain anytime I tried to put her leash on her and apparently, her lymph nodes were incredibly swollen. Rosie didn’t have much time left. My sweet, happy girl. I made the choice to spend one more night at home with her, keeping her as comfortable and pain free as possible. And I sang to Rosie. We laid outside in our hammock and we looked at all of the stars. I wanted so badly to be able to make a wish and for that wish to be able to keep Rosie with me forever. But there were no shooting stars that night. No one would be granting me any extra time with my sweet girl. The next morning, we drove back to the vet together and I cried the whole way there. My Rosie. The only comfort I found that day was knowing she would no longer be in pain. I miss her beyond words, but I will fondly keep every memory of hide and seek, stargazing and off beat dance parties with my sweet girl for as long as I live. I love you, Rosie.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.