Petlife logo

Quetico

The smartest cat EVER!!

By Leslie StromPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
8

Every Christmas I cry, I don’t mean just cry. My soul feels like it rips out of me, stomps on me and throws me to the wolves.

My beautiful Ginger used to help me decorate the Christmas tree. I know what it sounds like, and you all must think I have gone crazy. No she did not walk on her back legs grab a decoration and hang it. Perhaps over the last few years I may have invisioned it a few times.

We are a family that does not have a Christmas tree trimming party, my son has a beautiful new ornament every year since he was born. Did I say beautiful... well if you call a snowmachine, four wheeler, minnow bucket, curling rock and broom that is my beautiful. While putting up the garland Ginger would play with it and and sometimes even pull it off of the tree, but She would keep me company and we would talk for what seemed like hours. Well I did the talking showing her the ornaments, the years and my sons age. She would never leave, she would sit and watch, and play.

Many Christmas’s came and went and it just was not the same, a little feral cat joined in with us for a few years and welcomed her into our family. Ginger, our feral Bebee, and our big beautiful rescue husky Zya. After Bebee decided she wanted to leave one day and our Ginger had passed, Zya looked at me with her blue eyes and new it was time to bring another cat into our family.

Zya the husky is an older dog and you should see her eyes whenever I brought up the thought of bringing in a cat. I just new it was time. Also, I needed someone to decorate the tree with.

Another Christmas came and went and after many talks with the family, and me being home all the time disabled with some health issues, my son going to school and my husband home two weeks out of four working. I needed a little companion.

I went online scouring the internet looking for a rescue that had cats and kittens. I came across Caring Hearts Rescue and found my baby. It was February and I had to meet the baby. My son came and we went into the home of the foster family.

I saw her, her cute little white paws playing. I picked her up and she purred, and sat in my sons lap. She was a little dolly, that whispered she needed to come home with us. It broke my heart that she wasn’t big enough yet but I knew she was the one. We applied and we got accepted. Pacing the kitchen floor, imagining her going camping with us and her playing under the Christmas tree.

We got the call that she was ours. I cried I was so excited! My husband and son were on board and I new Zya( our husky) was to. I ordered the big huge cat tree, made a special blanket, new bowls for food and water. I was so excited.

It was another story to convince them of the name, but well happy wife happy life ... so I named her Quetico. My favorite Park by our home. All I needed was a leash and a harness and we were set to pick up or new baby!

Yes... harness and leash!

She got used to her new sister, her new family and yes the harness. We just love her so much. A lmost a year later and it was Christmas time! Let’s see if she was going to be my new helper!

She loved the boxes, jumped in and out and listened to my stories of the ornaments. I still miss Ginger playing with the garland but no longer did I feel like a mess.

Quetico is a perfect fit to our little family. She loves to fetch, go for walks, and when we go camping at Quetico park she is right there with us. You should see the heads turn when I call her, her name at Quetico park! It makes me smile.

My rescues, my pets, my right arm. I love them both and will cherish all the animals before and after. If you ever hesitate to bring a rescue into your home, don’t. They become your family before you blink your eye.

Love, cherish all animals forever and always!

adoption
8

About the Creator

Leslie Strom

Hi, I come from a small town of 2,500 in Northern Ontario Canada. I love camping and fishing, which we have access to many beautiful lakes. I also knit, crotchet, sew, read and write. Our winters are very long and cold so crafting is a must

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.