Petlife logo

Noise Annoys

How Noise Pollution Affects Me And Others

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3

Introduction

This is just a random piece on how noise can become incredibly intrusive in whatever we are doing. For some, this can cause serious issues in their lives; for others, they manage to cope. I manage to cope with it although when someone is playing loud Happy Techno on a bus that does become a little trying to say the least.

Numerous studies have linked noise pollution to increased anxiety, depression, high blood pressure, heart disease, and stroke. Even small increases in unwanted ambient sound can have significant effects.

Check out this link

So moving on this is a little about how I have been affected by unwanted noise recently, and also how I am aware of other people’s issues with unwanted noise.

Other People’s Issues With Noise Pollution

I have known people for whom the sound of someone eating an apple, water in a radiator or a creaky floor would send them mad. These are all noises that very often nothing can be done about and it must be awful to be triggered by everyday noises like these.

Sometimes music or a particular sound or noise can cause pain in someone and that must be difficult, I recently had a phone call and there was some Hawkwind playing in the background, although the call went normally the person later told me that the music really affected them, and not in a good way. I now make sure there is no music playing when I answer calls, even if it's Sigur Ros.

My Issues With Noise Pollution

These are a few minor things that have come up recently, but certainly do not affect my mental well-being or anything major, but I do know people who would find this at the very least, trying.

One of the first ones is people using grinders to cut stones or chainsaws for wood cutting during my working day when I am trying to deal with meetings with work on Teams. I work from home, my office is at the back of the house so I am not affected by traffic noise, but people still seem to create noise with power tools that is more than a little annoying.

You will be aware that I spend a lot of my time walking and photographing cats, and I have written several stories relating to that such as the one below.

The thing is when you are photographing things noise is not usually an issue unless you are trying to take a video.

Recently I have tried to record birdsong, and often hedge sparrows make the most noise, but crows and magpies make an awful cracking noise, so I seldom record them, I don't know if it's winter but the sound of birdsong is a little harder to find and often when I try and record cars come past ruining the recording. The other day I had a great opportunity but a guy parked his van and just left the engine running. I am not sure why.

On some estates, there are motorcycles with damaged silencers and they ruin my attempt to make a recording, although I also get those late at night sometimes when I am trying to sleep. So that is another way noise affects me.

Last week there was another form of noise pollution and it was just kids on a trampoline. I could not tell them to stop but it meant I could not record the birdsong. I can't share my recording but there is a relaxing one below for you. Maybe I need to get into some deep woods.

Conclusion

There are many ways we can be affected by noise pollution and sometimes we can do nothing about it. I am lucky I can deal with it, as I say, apart from the Happy Techno, but I hope everyone else can deal with whatever noise pollution affects them.

birdcatfeatureproduct reviewsocial medialist
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Omg, tell me about it. I'm veryyyy triggered by sounds as I'm Misophonic and Austictic. In your voice message to me, was it Hawkwind too that triggered me? Kids on a trampolines, ughhh. Sounds from babies and kids, extremely trigger me. And yea, your birdsong recording is somehow always messed up by some unwanted annoying sound. I hope you get it soon. This was a very relatable piece!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    It's Excellent topic. Yes! Opening a hard candy wrapper would trigger a co-worker. Do continue to capture and record bird songs. BTW, noise levels can damage and cause hearing issues.That's another story.😊💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.