Petlife logo

My Husky Life

A look into just a day as a husky owner and this might apply to all dog owners

By Amber TermundePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

This may or may not apply to all dog owners but I know for a fact that when we had our labs we never had the issues that we have with Odin on walks for bath time or even at bed time now I know a lot of people are going to think I'm crazy when they read this but you can't make this stuff up.

Now for those that have read my other stories you know that Odin is an 8 month old husky puppy and I can tell you he is a handful here's what I mean I am going to start with first thing in the morning when he goes for a walk.

Odin has a few bad habits when he goes for walks so I'm going to start with my least favorite of what he does and that is attacking my shoes while we are walking and I don't mean he just stops and attacks I mean he bites my shoes or even my ankles when we walk and it hurts he tends to break skin when he does this.

So if your wondering what the solution to this is I am going to tell you and the simple way to put it is my brother is his alpha and when he juts out in front of Odin and I along with my mom he no longer cares about my feet or shoes he just cares about getting back to the front of everyone.

That is just one thing that bugs me on our walks the next he will literally pick up a tree branch that is about the same length as him and then he will take that same branch and start swinging it at us to try and hit us with it now this is kind of funny because were walking down the sidewalk and there Odin is swinging a branch and trying to hit us all the while now this happens off and on but we only let it happen for so long because eventually he starts dragging it and he will almost hurt himself with that same branch at this point we find a way to take it away from him.

The next thing he tends to do is when we are walking we are on a sidewalk and cars pass us and he will try to chase these cars he has even taken to barking at cars and trucks that make to much noise when they pass way to close for his liking.

Now that I have covered his walk for the most part here is the next item on the list Odin has a tendency to pick up and eat everything he finds on the ground and it can get worrisome because he gets these items before I can now I will say that we have been very lucky nothing he has eaten has made him sick.

We live in Florida and we have a tone of lizards and sometimes they get inside a few months ago my mom was at home alone with Odin when he actually at a lizard and now that he has gotten a taste for these reptiles he is always trying to catch and eat more of them he even tries to eat frogs and believe me I do my best to keep him in control the best I can and I do a pretty good job of it but still is a rough go.

Now let me tell you how easy it is to groom a husky something your supposed to do every day but it's not as everyone makes it out to be in fact its almost a pain to do it because huskies don't like being brushed out at least Odin doesn't in fact I half to cover my leg in peanut butter just so my brother can brush him out.

And now for my final grooming area baths you know you see those videos on youtube where the Husky is practically throwing a fit because it's bath time and you laugh thinking oh that's not real well I am here to tell you that yes those videos are very real in fact Odin who loves the rain will go nowhere near the bath we half to bribe him and most of the time that doesn't even work this is not fun in fact your supposed to give them a bath about every other month because of there skin he wont let me get him in so I half to try every day to get him in for bath time.

So I am going to give you one more area in a day with a husky yes he's a handful and yes he drives us all up a wall but he is sweet and loving and wants to spend as much time with you as he can he knows that he drives us crazy and he knows that no matter what we will always love him the same as he loves us.

breeds
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.