Petlife logo

My hidden emotions were told to my father by the parrot

my pet

By rainbowPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Dad never gave the monk parrot a name. Seeing how dumbfounded it was in the bird cage, he would scold him from time to time, "Silly bird!" You get bored.

I co-founded a small mechanical processing factory with a friend in the southern suburbs of the city. The warehouse of the factory is separated by an alley. Usually, I need to keep someone to take care of it. I'll give you three thousand dollars.

Dad came over by long-distance bus, and the first sentence when we met was, I don't want your money.

His reason was that if he took my money, he was working for me and became his son's subordinate. Instead of salary, the nature is still that Laozi is solving problems for his son.

Dad worked in the army when he was young, and was assigned to an agency after changing jobs, and he worked until retirement. This kind of life with a solid foundation in a small county town gave him the confidence to point out everything, especially for my son, who wanted to hold me down since he was a child.

It was okay when I was a kid. After graduating from university, he became less and less able to give constructive advice on my work in Xi'an. He lost his temper on the phone, saying that I couldn't even get into a state-owned unit, and that my position had not improved for many years. Saying that I can't save money... Take these to prove that I was wrong for not listening to his arrangements.

Especially in 2018 when I quit my job to start a business, my father scolded me furiously. With only a few hairs on my body, I wanted to be a capitalist? It's crazy, how dare you give Lao Tzu a salary! At that time, he had been retired and unemployed for two years, and it was the situation where he could dig things out of the cracks in the ground.

After he came to Xi'an, he inspected my factory several times inside and out, made a lot of rectification requirements, went to my office, and asked me incredulously, can the documents on the table be arranged like this? What do you think the printer is so far away? Also, what's the green stuff in this birdcage? Is the office a place to work or to walk the birds?

I said that the parrot was originally a client, and they had no time to raise it. I was worried that I had nowhere to devote myself to it, so I took it back, and the client was generous and gave it to me directly.

"Oh—" Dad raised his head and sneered: "To put it bluntly, you're just a little bastard who does things for others. I thought you were very capable."

2

Neither the original owner of this parrot nor I have neglected to take care of it, resulting in a two-year-old not learning how to speak. Parrots need to be entertained. In the office, I often do contracts on the computer, or draw drawings, without making any sound, and after a long time, the bird will look lifeless.

Although Dad didn't like it, he insisted on keeping it in the warehouse because he really couldn't care less about keeping pets in the office. I asked my father, why don't you understand, why should I keep this parrot? It's not to please the customer. Sometimes the customer comes to talk about things and sees me keeping it by my side, which shows that I am serious about doing things for him. You are good, throw the bird into the warehouse, and the customer will think, even this is unreliable, how can you place a large order with confidence?

Dad knocked on my nose and reprimanded me for raising a worthless baby like you.

But he still did as I wanted, left the bird in the office, and took it to the warehouse to accompany him to relieve his boredom at night. There was a row of vacancies in the warehouse, and Dad packed one out as a bedroom.

Early the next morning, Dad put the parrot back in the office. I saw his puffy eyes and asked if he didn't sleep well at night. Dad said that the parrot was screaming in the warehouse in the middle of the night. He got up and looked at it a few times, and found that there was a mouse, which frightened the bird, and brought it to the bedroom.

Dad stared at me again and asked, you didn't pay for this bird, did you? I said no, it was given by a client, and my father nodded hesitantly, warning that I used my mobile phone to check how to raise this thing last night, and it turned out that this kind of parrot is a national protected animal and can only be raised by myself. sentenced.

Really? I don't know yet.

Raised by the father, the parrot's spirit begins to improve, it will squeak a few times, and it will flap its wings when it is happy. During the day, my father came to my office on time to add some water and millet to it. By the way, he reprimanded him a few words, saying that his brain is stupid and unattractive, and that he has not seen any improvement in his ability after raising him for so long.

I was drawing drawings in front of the computer, and I knew that my father was telling me.

3

One day, the parrot started to self-mutilate, using its beak to pull out the feathers from its body, and then went on a hunger strike.

At first, we all thought we were sick. I said that there was a pet hospital nearby, so I couldn’t take it to check it out. My father taught me a lesson. Now people are rambunctious, and they even open a hospital for cats and dogs. There’s nowhere to spend the money.

He called acquaintances in his hometown, and his tone was like a deployment job: check, what happened to the parrot plucking his feathers and going on a hunger strike. The other party immediately gave the answer, saying that this bird has emotions just like humans. If you treat it badly, it will get angry with you.

Putting down the phone, Dad sighed, this little beast is as difficult to serve as a human being. I know that he is referring to Sang and scolding Huai again.

The old man still took a lesson from the parrot. Every time he fed, he deliberately compromised and said, "Come on, little ancestor, let's eat some rice and drink two sips of water." Like coaxing a little grandson.

I took it back to the bedroom at night and put it by my side. I asked my father, are you not too noisy? Dad said, I'm teaching you how to do things. If you promise to be fed, you must be responsible for raising it. Besides, it's human nature, so you can't just feed it. It's the same as taking care of little babies.

Soon the parrot stopped being angry, and the old man still frowned and said, this is really a stupid bird. I teach it to speak every night, and it can't even learn "hello".

It can be seen that my father is becoming more and more interested in parrots, or he can find a sustenance for his retirement life, which is what I was looking forward to.

One morning, I walked into the office with a dizzy head. My father had already brought the bird cage and was sitting on a chair, holding a tea jar with Erlang's legs crossed and whistling to the parrot. The parrot became lively, with its wings on its back and nodding its head and moving left and right on the grasping rod, quite like the wind spirit of the old man when he was young.

Until I turned on the computer, Dad was still teasing the parrot. I clicked on the folder, found a contract from the day before, and slid the mouse over the quotation bar, thinking about how many changes should be made.

"How is your business?" Dad asked out of nowhere, and then I noticed that today was a little unusual. In the past, when I entered the office to prepare for work, Dad went out as if he couldn't see me.

I close the file, answer him, ok, and wait for the lecture.

It's alright, but it doesn't work. At your age, you should have stabilized long ago, but you can't see the edge now. If you are willing to listen to me, I will find you a stable job right away, which is better than your laborious business.

I could hear that this time Dad was not a lesson. His voice was much softer, carrying the kindness in my distant memory.

My nose was a little sore, and I was thinking about what happened since I left yesterday. I asked my father to tell me this suddenly, but I had no clue.

I said no, just finish these two orders and the way is open. After finishing working on the computer, Dad went out.

4

The situation on this day was brought up again by my father when our processing plant closed down two years later. The epidemic has been well controlled in China at that time, but the customer's payment has not been recovered for a long time, which has dragged down our operation line. After clearing things up with my partner, I took my dad to the night market for a drink.

Even after three rounds of drinking, my father didn't accuse me of failing in business, but talked about the monk parrot.

"I know your difficulty when I hear it say 'this situation'." Dad said, sipping his wine.

"This momentum" is a catchphrase that I didn't even realize myself. My father said that I liked to say these three words when I was a student. When I made a mistake and asked my parents to ask my parents, he heard me say that the college entrance examination results came out. He heard me say it when I was going to repeat it, and he also heard me say it after breaking up with my girlfriend on the phone during the summer vacation in college.

That parrot stayed with me in the office during the day. When did I secretly learn these three words, I didn't notice it at all. Dad was shocked when he heard it for the first time. He hadn't heard my mantra for many years. .

"I taught it to say 'hello' when I had nothing to do at night, but it couldn't learn it, but when I learned the word you, I knew how difficult it was for you." Before Dad finished speaking, my tears flowed through The wine flowed straight down.

The parrot was then brought back to his hometown by his father. It didn't take long for him to call me and shout: That silly bird will say "hello".

exotic pets
Like

About the Creator

rainbow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.