Petlife logo

My Dog Lucky

Our Journey Together Part I

By Brent ElliottPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3

The Day I walked into the SPCA in Gatineau Quebec I did not expect the events occurred afternoon, and I will always dearly cherish that day for the rest of my life.

My life five years ago were some of the darkest times of my time and I struggled to take care of myself and managing my unstable life. My apartment at the time was located directly across from an SPCA (Society for the Prevention Of the Cruelty to Animals) a highway dividing the distance between us. I was staring out my large bay windows, zoned into the thought of going over to see if there are any new dogs in. So I acted and drove myself over there.

Anyone that knew me at that time in my life would say " I was in no position to own a dog, or I was in no position to take care of another living creature. But I thought different. I walked into the building and all I heard were dogs barking and all I could smell was pee and poop, then I asked the woman at the front desk if I was able to see the dogs, so I followed her and as we were walking into the back I seen something in the corner of my eye, sitting in the corner of the pen, with concrete calls surrounding him and a steel gate separating him from everything and anything.

There he was, a young puppy that had a fractured jaw, his right hip and leg were wrapped like a cast. The look in his face was priceless and very sad, I seen the pain he carried, and the fright in his eyes. I slowly went down to one knee with my hands on the bars to his cell, not breaking eye contact with him. The poor dog started to pee in fear and shake nervously, and witnessing that shattered my heart. I could have stayed there all day with him just staring into his soul and trying to show him some sort of comfort but I had to leave.

I swear it was love at first site and I couldn't get that dog out of my head, I was obsessed. The next morning came quick and all I could think about is Going back to the SPCA to see that dog again, and see what I need, to have the opportunity to bring that little guy home with me. I walked into that building and went straight back into where they kept him, and there he was curled up on the cold concrete floor with a look on his face that melted my heart. I sat myself on the floor and just looked at him not saying anything, trying to show him that everything is okay. Every word that came out of my mouth was directed to him and he acknowledge me every time with a slight tilt of his head. After a while of me spending time with him I went and talked to a veterinarian to inquire information about this dog, and that's when I heard the story about when they found him.

The SPCA received a phone call one morning in 2016, by someone reporting that a dog was seen being placed in a dumpster, wrapped in a carpet. They retrieved the dog from the dumpster and they assumed the poor guy was dead. After he was assessed they found multiple injuries, one of them was a shattered jaw and a fractured right hip, and he was so starved and dehydrated. The vets did not expect him to survive, but after a surgery and some TLC, this damaged puppy fought to survive. A few weeks of having this dog at the SPCA they came to the conclusion that he was about three months old, and his breed was, Pitbull Boxer Lab mix. When I first met this dog he has only been at the SPCA for not even three weeks, that is why he was in the medical side rather than the adoption side. But I kept telling myself that he wasn't going to make it to the adoption side because no matter what this dog is coming home with me!

It was a beautiful July morning and I was working out with music blaring in my apartment, when all of a sudden the music stopped playing and my cell phone started ringing, I excitedly answered and on the other end of the line was a woman calling from the SPCA. "Good Morning Mr. Elliott, I am calling to inform you that it has been approved and finalized that you can take the dog home on the twenty eighth of July". Was I ever excited!!!!! The twenty eighth is only three days away, and now I had to make everything perfect for that day. The next following days I made sure to buy a comfy bed and a new collar with a leash to go with it. I must have bought over a dozen new toys and a bag of the recommended food I got from the Vet. The next few days and nights went by super slow because I was very excited to bring him home.

The morning of the twenty eighth finally arrived, and the emotions that were running through my body had me intoxicated like no other drug has done to me. I really felt like I was taking someone to the high school prom, I needed everything to be perfect. The time to leave and head over the SPCA came quick. It was finally happening! The entire drive I was second guessing myself. I carried so much self doubt around with me daily I did not know if I was making the right decision. I pulled myself together as I pulled into the parking lot, looked into the rear view mirror for the thirty second time, shut the ignition off, and stepped out of my vehicle. I walked towards the building and honestly my legs were shaking and my palms were clammy, there was no option of turning around at this point, so I opened the door, and there he was....

To Be Continued..

Please, Like & Share

Hope you enjoyed and stay tuned for part 2.

Thanks

Brent Elliott

dog
3

About the Creator

Brent Elliott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.