Petlife logo

My Dog Has Taught Me How To Be A Better Human

How my dog helps me change the world.

By Christen KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My dog, Leo.

It is said that dogs are "man's best friend." I never knew how much truth would be in that sentiment until I rescued Leo. Little did I know that Leo would actually be rescuing me, instead.

I named Leo, Leo Patriot, because of my love for public service, my desire to be President of the United States since I was five years old, and because Leo just happened to be standing in front of the American Flag during the first month I rescued him.

From Leo, I've learned that kindness is essential to public service. In order to amass a substantial following, and have your voice mean anything to anyone, kindness is necessary. Leo doesn't know what sarcasm is. Leo doesn't understand satire or cynicism. To say one thing and do another isn't irony, in Leo's mind. It's wrong. To that end, Leo has taught me that there is a time and place for everything: sarcasm and cynicism, included. To better serve the public, be a light to others, and leave a legacy demands and softly beckons that kindness be on the forefront of my brain.

Leo with an Alexandria Fire Department firefighter.

From my best friend, I have learned that companion and solidarity are of utmost importance to achieving one's dream, whereby creating happiness. And, when I finally decide to run for office, companion and solidarity will be the most important elements I will need in my staff, my friend group, my family, and my peers. Leo has exemplified this so well in that there's not been a day that has gone by that Leo doesn't run to greet me at the door, lie on my feet during the night during sleep, bark aggressively at the mere sound of trouble, and stay like Velcro by my side, through sickness and health. And, even though he makes mistakes (like chewing my stuff), everything he does is with the intention in his heart to make me proud and to best serve me. This is undoubtedly the most important thing I've learned from Leo.

A selfie Leo and I took when he was still a baby.

What I'm most passionate about is the greater good. From going on mission trips during my Bible Belt years, to moving back and forth between my home state of Georgia and Washington, D.C., I've wanted nothing more than to bring the greater good to people.

Leo and me with Democratic Senate Chairman Jon Ossoff (D-GA) at the 2019 Cherokee County Democratic Party of Georgia's fall fundraiser.

Me and Leo at the 2019 Cherokee County Democratic Party of Georgia's fall fundraiser.

People follow me and read my stories, not because I have written an actual story in a book on Amazon, but because I aim to inject positivity into every word I type on social media, work emails, personal letters, and direct messages. I believe in life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness for all.

Me at the Black Lives Matter march, White House, June 2020

Tangibly, I want to continue writing. I want to dedicate a year to writing a second book. I then want to use that book as leverage to speak at events, churches, TED Talks, and venues around the country and around the world. My ultimate goal is to help people become better versions of themselves. So, I'm asking for your support so I can use the $22,500 to move back to D.C., avoid homelessness (unlike last time), and take the time to write my second book...and, most definitely go to graduate school for something humanitarian. So far, I've been accepted to American University's Master of Legal Studies program in 2018, and Clemson's Master's program in Clinical Research in 2021. I did not attend either one due to funding (lack thereof). So, please, help me reach my goal of obtaining the greater good, by taking the kindness, companionship, and solidarity I've learned from my dog, and spreading it across the globe with the gifts of book writing, campaigning, philanthropy, and compassion. Because everyone should receive the opportunity to learn to live like a dog.

Leo, Fairfax, Virginia, 2020

dog
1

About the Creator

Christen King

I'm a Political Scientist, Paralegal, and Biomedical Engineering Technologist. I wrote a book once. It's on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.