Petlife logo

My best friend.

With me forever.

By Summer RaynePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I woke up on a beautiful summer morning with you beside me, I looked over in happiness but also in sadness as today was the day that I had to let you go. 13 years we spent together but you were ready to go, I could see it in your eyes.



I knew I wanted you the moment I seen your cute little face. You ran up to me and licked my hand, I picked you up and held you close to my chest. Although I didn’t need a dog, I knew you would be the best thing to ever happen to me.

Today would be the best last day of your life. I would make sure of that. I put you in my car, you sat in the passenger seat as I drove us to McDonald’s. I ordered you a cheese burger for your last meal, you ate it, enjoying every bite. Cheese burgers from McDonald’s was your absolute favourite as I have done that with you since you were a little pup. I use to put you in my car and we would drive to McDonalds and get a cheeseburger each. You made me happy and that’s something I’ll never forget.

Once you finished your cheeseburger we then went to our favourite spot at the beach. We sat together on a towel on the sand and watched the ocean. I knew that you wanted to go swimming but just didn’t have the energy to do it so instead we watched as the other dogs at the beach swam and played around in the water. I sat back and thought about all the different times that we came to this beach, playing and having an absolute ball.

After our little trip to the beach, I took you for your last walk. Oh how you love going for walks. Going for a walk with me was one of your favourite things, as soon as you seen that lead you would jump around in excitement and meet me at the front door. We couldn’t walk to far as you were exhausted. You laid down on the cement to have a break, I remember having to carry you all the way back home.

When we got home, I gave you, your last bath. You loved having a bath, it always made you happy. I washed you in your favourite shampoo, Witch hazel and strawberry. I took my time washing you, making sure you enjoyed every second of it. Once you were all covered in bubbles, I hosed you off and dried you with a towels. I remember you sitting their staring at me with sad eyes and it broke my heart. I started to cry knowing that this was going to be our last day together and you licked my face as if to say “it’s okay.”

Once you were all dry. I got your blue brush and sat there with you for awhile brushing your fur, taking my time as didn’t want this day to end. We then walked out into the lounge room and I turned on the tv. We watched our last movie together. I shared my popcorn with you as you sat In front of me. I patted you and held you close as I told you I loved you with all my heart.

I got up and left you laying peacefully on the floor in the lounge room while I had a quick shower.

I came back and you were laying on the ground, you looked up at me with sad eyes and though I wasn’t ready to let you go, I knew that it was time. I helped you walk out to my car and I put you in. I stood leaning on my car with my head in my hand sobbing because I loved you so much and my heart wasn’t ready but I knew you were. A couple months of pain and exhaustion, I wish it didn’t have to end like this. I pulled myself together and got in the car, I started the engine and began to drive to the vets.

We sat together patiently at the vets until they called your name. We walked slowly into the small room together you laid down on the floor and I got down with you, holding you ever so closely until you took your last breath. Heart broken, I walked out of that room without you but I know you will be with me forever. My best friend, until we meet again. 🤍

dog
Like

About the Creator

Summer Rayne

I’m Summer Rayne.

There’s not really a lot to say about me, I’m abit boring but the things you will read on my page will not be.

I don’t have any certain things that I write about. I write about all different things.

Anyway I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.