Petlife logo

My Baboo Girl

đŸ¶

By Lyrical Value Published 4 years ago ‱ 3 min read
Like
Meet Olivia (or my Baboo girl)

An American Terrier, mixed with Pit Bull, she’s nothing short of unpredictable.

As you can see, she’s practicing safety during this COVID-19 situation with her mask, but never got the concept of personal space..I mean social distancing :).

Always up under me ♄

If we could put videos on here, I’d be able to show you the one where she tried climbing onto my bed (we don’t allow her to get onto furniture because she sheds so much) to sleep with me. She’s got her own bed space

đŸ’€

Acting like she’s tired 🙄

but loves to be in either my mother’s room or mine (the room I get whenever I’m there visiting). I love her to death though and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Olivia has filled that void from when we lost our Buddy back in the summer of 2012.

Buddy was our first pet dog and he was pure Pit Bull with loads of energy like Olivia. But like all Pit Bulls, they have a short burst of energy then it decreases quickly because they, as a breed, lack stamina.

Furthermore, Pit Bulls have been immensely misunderstood by our culture as well as others across the globe for decades even when they’re some of the most loyal and caring dogs you’ll ever come across.

They’re protectors and territorial so it’s in their nature to be a bit aggressive. As long as you treat them like your family, they’ll be by your side always looking out for you and any threats.

Just look at the fierceness in her eyes đŸ’ȘđŸœ

She was like “yeah go ahead and take that selfie of us but I don’t trust that neighbor of yours across the street. I’ve got my eye on them...”

PSHHHH!!!!

My mother’s done a fantastic job in spoiling Olivia rotten to the point that she’s scared of the sound of thunder...yes it’s true.

How will we be protected from threats if she’s scared of a sound? I get that thunder is more boisterous than say a burglar invading a home to or something to that extent. But I guess we’ll never really know until that type of situation happens huh?

She actually likes pictures 📾

“Mewwy Chrithmahth”🎄

She’s a great addition to your holiday postcards!

Even though I razz on her a lot, it’s all out of love. She has definitely helped me cope with a lot of my anxiety due to her calming and loving presence.

I told my mother sometime ago that we need to make sure that what happened to Buddy doesn’t happen to her because I wouldn’t be able to withstand that pain again.

R.I.P. Buddy

My parents went on a bike trail back in the summer of 2012 during one of the hottest days in Chicago history. They only planned riding the trail for a mile but the way Buddy was, he wanted to go longer.

I was away at a recruiting meeting for the Coast Guard when I received a call. My mother was hysterical as she struggled to get the words out about what just happened but I heard them clear as day.

Due to the lack of water and Buddy being as energetic as he was, he passed out in the scorching heat and died in front of my parents on that trail. I couldn’t imagine what may have gone through their minds in that moment with them being right there holding his limp body, but all I could think of was how I lost the brother I never had and wasn’t there to say goodbye.

He was 8 months old when we lost him. We had him since he was a pup which hurt even more because we watched him grow only to be gone from us so soon.

Later that year, we went to one of my Aunt’s and asked if she had another pup that we could raise.

And that’s when we were blessed with...

She knows how to take funny photos too 😁

P.S. the name “Baboo” is random, don’t ask me how I came up with it. There’s no significance to the name at all :).

dog
Like

About the Creator

Lyrical Value

Your writing aficionado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.