Petlife logo

Mutual Of Oh My Gosh

Wild Wisdom

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mutual Of Oh My Gosh
Photo by Vincenzo Di Giorgi on Unsplash

Here's the ( Snoopy referencing The Red Baron? ) dedicated episode prone blogger tackling yet another Mission impossible Challenge. Odds of even gaining entry seem slim. I mean I have no way of challenging for cash prizes or recognition as usual, only this time I cannot meet the submitted photo qualification.

I obviously need at least a temporary co conspirator/partner in crime/ grime or whatever. A person cannot expect to beat the odds beyond a certain point and recognizes the urgent need pretty much to get assistance technologically or give up the publishing ghost.

Any old way I may crank out a rejected pet article based upon one simple fact, this being that I never consistently have done more than the minimum amount of things for any one animal. My current doctor keeps a dog in the vicinity of his office for the calming influence; Major the Therapy Dog seemed to be absent last week or we overlooked one another.

I never had a chance to establish whether or not I'd be a dog person. The dog I knew as a pre schooler went into heat, attracted friends and became a rather brief memory on this account.

I lost Bubbles, a feline upon relocating to Jersey. Bubbles leapt out of my five year old arms never to be spotted again upon being greeted by a Sheepdog who was the main pet at this time of the family we moved in with. Interestingly enough our next cat was for the most part in a mellow relationship with a small dog from next door. The two frequently would lie side by side on our porch.

This piece represents potentially my tenth one here and I should be due a five dollar bogus bonus but one should factor in the effects perhaps of Ida upon the East Coast. This represents my first attempt at an animal piece; I happen to reside at a subsidized sort of retirement apartment complex where only service animals are permitted as I understand things.

The only pet employee ( read: service dog ) other than Major is Sugar, who has been rescued and trained by my upstairs neighbor. Sugar boy has been neutered according to his owner. His primary functions would seem to be to give a lonesome person the heads up should there be some type of noise at night which my neighbor could easily miss due to her being completely deaf in her one ear. Sugar himself has a floppy looking ear but is still quite the capable useful employable working class Yorkie. He stationed himself on my couch last time the two visited me as I recall. He also has a cyst that may require an expensive operation to remove. He seems, like his owner to have benefited from some hair shortening.

Another neighbor of mine who was receiving kidney dialysis regularly before she passed had a similar pet named Maggie who was extremely quiet as I recall. Maggie usually seemed to have a happy expression and was some special type of Asian canine breed or other I think.

In my teens I wrote poetry that a Community College instructor had me recite over the phone. I am not real sure I recall it word for word but maybe I can approximate the general tone here if not the exact phrasing, etcetera.

Horse eats hay,

cow eats grass.

Man rides horse, eats cow.

Man cuts grass because it is too long,

man cuts hair because it is too long.

Man takes tiger,

man takes lion,

man takes flight...

man takes fly.

Ambition takes man,

greed takes man...

MAN takes man.

I do not recall who fed the previously mentioned New Jersey Sheepdog which was put down after she became infirm and pretty much blind like pets do end up assuming they last long enough for this kind of illness to take place. I distinctly do recall the youngest daughter of another family we rented from in a neighboring state taking care of the family pets very responsibly and effectively.

When I was in first or second grade I was walking in the woods around our complex with someone when we found a kitten that looked lost. We brought it home then went door to door looking for its owner but gave up on this after awhile. The kitty stayed with us for few hours or so; of course I thought we should adopt it but this was not meant to be.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.