Petlife logo

Monroe in the Morning

A puppy love

By Blair AshleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Monroe Bridget

On July 25th, 2021, my emotions were all

over the place. I have always wanted an

English bulldog. Today, my want would be

fulfilled. My boyfriend and I were on our way

down to come get you and bring you home.

From the moment I saw you , in the pictures I

was given of you and the other puppies to

choose from, you were the one I knew I

wanted.

If anyone asks me how I knew you were the

puppy for me... I would tell them that the

markings you had on your body , reminded

me of someone very special , my nephew, who

is no longer with us.

He was so young when went to Heaven. Not

even 2 years old. Melanoma cancer took him

from us.He was a Nevus baby. Which meant,

He had moles all over his body. And a large

section of his bottom area was covered in

a huge one , almost like he had permanent

shorts on.

However silly that sounds, to have

loved so deeply, and to lose something so

precious.... gaining you, meant everything.

And in some way, you are helping me heal.

The moment I met you, my heart was filled

with love for you. I knew in that moment,

there's nothing I wouldn't do for you. When I

picked you up , all you wanted to do was

cuddle up to my neck. Your cold nose and

warm body.... you were just too precious.

As we were on our way to your new home,

you cuddled in my lap the whole drive back.

You slept a lot, but that was okay, since it

allowed me to take in the cuteness of you.

You're wrinkled face smooshed in my hand

and your body cuddled up tight to me

wrapped in your gray blanket with white

polka dots I bought for you . You were just

too perfect.... and you had no idea just how

much you meant to me.

As time went on, I got to play with you, teach

you, take care of you, and spend time with

you. Your personality was one of a stubborn

but smart little girl puppy with a lot of

energy. Whenever you did anything wrong,

I'd feel frustrated, and you knew it. But one

look at your face, I just wanted to hug you

and love on you. I could never stay mad.

As routines developed, you began to greet me

each morning with cuddles and kisses. You

always seemed so excited to see me . I felt so

loved. The best part of my morning is when

you come to my side of the bed to wake me to

give me morning cuddles. You seem to always

know what I need.

Every morning I wake up, I wanna see your

squishy face. I don't know how I'll ever live

through the day that I lose you. That means

my mornings will never be the same. You're

my world. And now I see why people, who

have dogs, are happy. You have filled a spot

in my heart that was empty for a long time.

You're more than my companion, you are my

happiness.

And.....with alot of sad and bad things that

happened to me in my life, you have created

a happy place for me in my head, my heart

and my home. You have given me a place to

store all my love. Thank you.

So for as many days as I get with you, I wanna

grow old with you. I don't want to take our

days for granted. I need our time together.

So, Monroe , please keep coming to greet me

each morning.

dog
1

About the Creator

Blair Ashley

I love to write. It’s always been my release. I spent a lot of time in my bedroom , writing poetry, writing letters , writing lists , and currently pursuing copywriting. I feel this is where I can create some intriguing pieces. Enjoy 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.