Petlife logo

Missy Versus Maya

The day they brought home a new kitten

By Amber BristowPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 8 min read
2

30th July 2023

14:00

Today started like any other. I woke up beside mum an hour before her alarm was due to go off and gave her kisses until she was awake. Like usual, she rolled over and covered her head with the duvet; she always loves a game of 'hide and seek' in the morning!

After I found her, time and time again, she finally admitted defeat and got out of bed. I followed her into the bathroom, where I stood guard by the door as she went to the loo and brushed her teeth. She came out, patted my head and thanked me for protecting her, calling me her "favourite loo lady", which is not a nickname I want to stick.

After giving me my breakfast and cleaning out my tray, she scooped me up from by the door. As I readied myself for some long overdue cuddles, she plonked me down on the living room chair and picked up my carrier.

It was at this moment, I knew something was wrong.

At first, I thought it was time to visit the vets... and we all know how that went last time. I darted across the room in protest, but she didn't follow. She hadn't laid any of my toys on the blanket or attempted to lure me in with a treat. I was perplexed.

Before I could question her, she left the house with my carrier in tow.

I sat by the door in confusion for two whole hours. Initially I was annoyed... how dare she leave me alone on a Sunday morning without my approval and usual dose of kisses! But then, I grew worried.

Was my carrier going away for good? Or was it being used for something else? I dreaded to think.

*

16:00

At some point during my worrying I had fallen asleep, plagued by the image of my empty carrier and deserted home.

I was torn from my nightmare at the sound of mums car pulling in the driveway, and felt a flood of relief wash over my body as I saw her return with the carrier in one piece.

As the door swung open, an unfamiliar smell loomed in the air. With each sniff I found a piece to the puzzle.

At first, I smelt one, maybe two people who had never been over before. I then smelt catnip on her shoes, as if she had stepped through another felines home. With my third and final sniff, my fear came to fruition - she had been cuddling another young cat.

She leant down to stroke me, but I pulled away, arching my back in disgust. How dare she deprive me of my morning kisses to go see another kitten. I felt betrayed beyond belief!

With each step she took towards me, I took two back. I was adamant that she would fall to my paws and apologies, but instead she placed the carrier on the floor and ushered me out of the room, shutting the door behind me.

I sat outside the living room with a heavy heart. After two long years of companionship, our mother-daughter bond had come to an end.

31st July 2023

08:00

Last night, mum wouldn't let me into the living room, no matter how hard I tried. She came out several times to try give me affection, but I was having none of it. I allowed her to pick me up a few times, where she swaddled me like a baby and reminded me of her love for me, but it was too late... the damage had been done.

I couldn't help but notice the smell of the other cat grow stronger and stronger as the night went on. It was almost as if they were in the house, rubbing their scent all over my things.

It didn't matter how much I wanted to investigate... I wasn't allowed.

Mum tried to make it up to me by buying me my favourite treats and putting my favourite blanket on her bed. Of course, I accepted each treat and did indeed fall asleep on the soft cotton throw... but all was not forgiven.

*

13:00

Finally, mum came to her senses and opened the living room door. I bounded through in joy as I saw a plate of new food laying in the centre of the room. Then I stopped dead in my tracks.

I couldn't believe my eyes. There was another, smaller version of me, curled up on my sofa.

She looked terrifying - as if she wanted to tear the home I had built limb from limb. I could almost see her plotting her next move as she closed her eyes, visualising the look on my face as she tore my people away from me.

With fear for my future, I ran up to her, hissing in anger until her eyes opened. I could tell she was a professional... she knew how to work the crowd. As soon as I got close to her, she fell on her back between the cushions of the sofa and thrashed from side to side as if she was scared. Mum picked her up and brushed my head, telling me to be nice.

I could see the edges of the kittens lips curl as she was in mums arms, bragging about her successful manipulation.

Mum placed her on the floor and slowly, she approached me.

We walked around each other in circles, smelling one another's scent until our legs grew weary. I then stood still and watched her, waiting for her next move... but she was copying me. The audacity!

It was then I knew I had to fight for what was right. I let out another hiss and watched as she jumped onto all fours, arching her back. I stepped closer as she froze in fear, finally realising the power I held within this house.

Mum still doesn't believe me, but I swore I saw her eyes flicker with vengeance as I crept forwards... and so I had no other choice but to swipe her with my paw.

She pretended to be scared, but I knew it was a lie. I swiped her again, but then grandad stepped in, calling me a bad girl as he picked up the new fluffy demon.

I felt defeated, but mum knew exactly what to do. She lifted me up and cradled me in her arms, stroking my forehead as she took me to the sofa. I let out a purr as I was reassured of her love.

She tried to explain to me that I wasn't being replaced, and that this new kitten was so I could have a friend... but I didn't need any friends - I had my humans. I didn't want anyone else.

6th August 2023

16:00

It has been a whole week since the new furball, (who I've now been told is called 'Maya'), moved in.

The evil in her eyes has melted away with each day she's been here. We haven't spoken about it yet, but I think it's because she's starting to respect me as her elder... or as mum calls it... 'her big sister'.

We've had a few disagreements, like who should have first dibs on breakfast, who should be able to play with toys first and who gets to lay next to mum in bed... but for the most part, as much as it makes my eyes roll... its been okay.

There was even one night where mum left us alone for nearly an hour. During that time, Maya and I worked out some of our differences and decided that maybe, just maybe, there was enough room for the pair of us.

8th August 2023

05:00

This morning I woke up beside mum, an hour before her alarm was due to go off. Just as I was about to hoist myself up and kiss her awake, my small fury pillow began to wriggle from under me.

To my surprise, Maya had snuggled beneath me at some point during the night, and stayed there until morning. She was purring loudly as she lifted her head and laid a kiss on my cheek.

For a moment, I wasn't sure how to feel... but her warm little body nestled against mine made it hard to want to leave. Mum was sleeping peacefully beside us and for the first time in two years, I decided that maybe she deserved the extra hours sleep.

I knew mum would bully me about it when she woke up, saying 'I told you so' over and over again... but I decided it was a price I was prepared to pay. I cleaned the top of Maya's head as a thank you for her kiss, before she nestled her head back into my side.

That morning we both fell back to sleep, where I am pleased to say I was not plagued by the image of my empty carrier and deserted home, but rather the adventures I could have with my new fury friend.

If you want to read more from Missy's diaries, check out her post from the day she got spayed:

Thank you for taking the time to read my post. If you are curious to see what kind of content I publish, check out some of my latest stories below:

[JOURNAL] A Letter to Heather Hubler

[JOURNAL] Why I Write for Vocal Media

[FICTION] Silent Pleas

[FICTION] The Blood Moon Coven

[POETS] The Forbidden Forest

[POETS] Strap's Demise: My Entry into the 'Snafu Senryu' Challenge

catadoption
2

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Awe, cute!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.