Poets logo

The Forbidden Forest: A Poem

A secret of rare beauty and wonder

By Amber BristowPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
19
The Forbidden Forest: A Poem
Photo by Roman Datsiuk on Unsplash

I heard the whispers, of a place untold,

Where secrets lay hidden, and mysteries unfold.

It was a place forbidden, with danger made clear,

But my curiosity grew, year after year.

*

I couldn't resist, the urge to explore,

To see what laid within, and what it held in store.

So I gathered my courage, and took my first step,

Into the unknown, where I cautiously crept.

*

The trees stood tall, with leaves aglow,

the rustling ground sang a melody from below.

The whispers of danger, did not deter,

For the lure of mystery, was too great to defer.

*

The journey was long, and the path unclear,

But the mystery and beauty, soon did appear.

A sight beyond words, so rare and so bright,

In the forbidden forest, I beheld its sight.

*

In tales and legends, I heard of this beast,

So rare and so wondrous, never to be ceased.

A creature of beauty, with grace and might,

That lived in myth, hidden from sight.

*

Her aura was captivating, and her presence commanding,

I couldn't help but feel, both fear and understanding.

For I knew not, if she was friend or foe,

Or whether her beauty, was meant to bestow.

*

I embraced the moment, and basked in her light,

For the beauty of this creature, was well worth the fright.

She whispered softly, with a gentle purr,

And in that moment, all my fears did blur.

*

There I stood, in wonder and delight,

And marvelled at the creature, that shone so bright.

For I had found, what I thought was a myth,

A rare and beautiful thing, that filled me with bliss.

*

Her existence was pure and in peace she lay,

knowing she was far from folk and harms way.

My discovery was one I vowed to hold dear,

So I could let her live free and from fear.

*

Returning to my home, a secret I had learnt,

One that I must keep, although my heart yearns.

A desire to revisit, the forest forbidden,

But knowing for her safety, she must stay hidden.

*

I hold her close, in my dreams each night,

And let her remind me, of what's pure and what's right.

For I know this is a story, so unique and so rare,

If folk where to know what they were missing, they couldn’t help but cause despair.

fact or fictionsurreal poetrynature poetry
19

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    Such a great story told in the poem. The mysterious tone of the whole poem was great. The way you described the scenary and the discovery at the end really did help me imagine it in my head eventhough it's about a mythical creature!)

  • JBazabout a year ago

    A beautiful tale told in prose. Love it

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved the mystery of it all! It had such a wonderful dreamy quality as well. Nicely done :)

  • This was so magical and mesmerising! Such a beautifully written poem! I loved it!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    A captivating, beautiful story told through poetry. Loved it!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Well done

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Naturally Atmospheric , loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.