Petlife logo

Mama Honda

how my wife and I brought home a stray cat

By Tristan PalmerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Mama Honda
Photo by Borna Bevanda on Unsplash

I love animals, let's get that straight. Dogs, cats, lizards, every kind man.

So, let's talk about how my wife and I found a cat in the engine bay of a car one day. Yes you read that right. It was a wild day, about three to four years ago. We've had cats almost since we've been together, making it six years this year. (insert congratulations here)

I was at work, like adults do. She found me on the floor of our job or might have hauled me back there to tell me. She worked in the automotive department of Walmart at the time, and a car they had pulled in had contained said cat.

She jumped out of the bay, running off through the shop to hide amongst the tires in the back of the shop. A good friend of ours immediately went after a bag of cat food, water, two bowls and a cat carrier.

The bait worked, and the little bitty thing came to investigate the food and water we set up in a cat crate. She ate a bit first, then drank a bit. We snapped the door shut to the crate, and she got to hang out in the shop for a while until my wife and I got off work. We took little Mama Honda home, as we would end up calling her, and wrapped her in a blanket on the way home. She got called Honda because the Honda had been what car she escaped from, and it only seemed proper.

It took some getting used to for Mama to eat and drink right, having been in that car engine bay for who knows how long. She ran out of the car as soon as it came into the auto shop, and we had no idea if whoever brought the car in even knew about her.

She had a head tilt that lasted for about a month, maybe a little longer. It wore off after a while and fixed itself, but now still today she looked at you with a cocked head, like you said her babies weren't precious little angles.

She purred on the way home, snuggled up in her blanket. We get home, and turned her loose in our apartment. She got used to it after a couple of weeks, but the real (not really) surprise came when she got pregnant from our male cat. This would happen twice before we ended up giving our male cat away to another home, and they would go on to call him Webster if I remember correctly.

Mama cat's first litter would be given away to good homes, but the second litter would be where we kept two of the four kittens she had. There were seven babies from the first litter, a lot of fun to keep up when they were old enough to run around and explore.

From the second litter, we kept one boy and one girl. We named the boy Brown, from the color of his color, and the girl Odyssey. When it was all said and done, we had Brown, Honda, and Odyssey. A whole fucking car if you can believe us. We laughed about that for a while.

Now about a year later, our male cat has been fixed and gotten fat, earning him the nickname Fat Boy. We call Odyssey Baby Girl, and Mama Honda is still Mama. My wife fell in love with Mama when we brought her home, and now years later our fur babies are the cutest little buggers. I wouldn't trade them for the world, and now I can say:

Adopt, don't shop! You can shop if you want too, but if you can have the chance to save a furry friend then I encourage you to do so. I've seen dozens of videos of cats and dogs being saved, cleaned up and sent off to great homes.

Thanks to you all for tuning into my short tale, and if you liked this insight to my life, feel free to leave a tip on this story.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Tristan Palmer

Hi all. All I am is a humble writer who works a full time job, just to afford to live so I can have time to write. I love science fiction with a passion, but all works and walks of writing are important to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.