Petlife logo

Loving Cold blood

My unlikely Exotic friend

By Dear MischkaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

I never thought in a million years, I would ever own a reptile. I was acclimated to puppies and kitties and even your common farm animals, but I was always a little tiny bit afraid of our scaly friends. After all, it’s natural instinct to be afraid of them.

My friend’s room mate was an epic piece of work and was not a responsible human. After a huge fight, because he was a bad tenant, she kicked him out and, in her rage, she started turfing his stuff on the lawn… but she found a surprise in a small box in his closet.

A very nearly dead, starving, freezing, little Mojave Ball python.

Thankfully her love for animals gave him a second chance.

However, shortly after they got him set up in his own space and made him a little home with them. She found out she was pregnant. With the dogs and the cat’s and the older kids, she had no way of keeping up with everything and a new baby. She wanted him to go to a loving home, where he would get the proper attention that he needed and find someone who would be able to take the time and be patient with him… his past made him very scared and sometimes difficult to socialize.

Due to his traumatic experiences, the poor little guy became very defensive, and he would bite anyone who tried to touch him. As an adult, she understood this, but her kids didn’t really understand, and wanted to play with him.

She started introducing him to people, to see if they would be able to care for him. He would snap, and bite a protest, almost every time. My friend was getting rather discouraged, because the baby was coming fast.

One day while I was visiting, she thought it wouldn’t hurt to try, and she introduced me to him. I was pretty nervous around reptiles, so I kind of just… sat there. To her surprise, he didn’t get upset. He didn’t coil up and hide. He didn’t try to bite or hiss loudly. He was a little tense, but this was the most relaxed she had ever seen him!

It was an interesting transition, learning each other’s personalities. My friend let us meet a couple more times at her place, just so he could get used to me. We moved him in shortly after.

We had a bit of a rough patch. I had to learn what he was saying with his body language. When he was happy vs when he wanted you to leave him alone. There was even a point when he had figured out how to manipulate me when he wanted cuddles.

*He knew I wouldn’t let him freeze, and he would sit on the coldest side of the terrarium.

*He also went through a fun phase (in the middle of winter) where he would plop his whole dang body in his water dish. It wasn’t too hot for him. It wasn’t too dry for him. He was just being a brat.

I never thought I would love this little butthead so much.

Thankfully he lets me know he feels the same way. He will turn over and go belly up, so I can give him a tummy scratch, or squish his face against my hand so that he can cuddle harder. Surprisingly, he cuddles a lot like a cat. You don’t think reptiles can be silly, but they have a personality just like every other dog, or cat, or horse.

I’m glad I’ve got a friend for life.

I will say this.

If you are looking for a pet, or if you aren’t sure about what kind is right for you, try not to base your decisions on what’s “trending” or what other people like or dislike. Try to avoid expensive breeders. I know it’s tough, and some breeders are honest people who are passionate about what they do… be open to a rescue, or a fur baby that has had a rough start. If you have an open mind, you might be surprised at what kinds of little monsters you jive with. ;)

Above all, don’t treat this living thing like it’s property… Something to be thrown a box in your closet when you’re done with it, or thrown in the trash when you feel like you’ve outgrown your need for the novelty of it.

snake

About the Creator

Dear Mischka

I am a new writer. All of my writing is intended to be explorative. I believe we learn best by interacting with what we are learning from or what we are working through.

There is value in both fantasy and reality.



Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dear MischkaWritten by Dear Mischka

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.