Petlife logo

Left to die

A dogs fate...

By Shelly Michelle CantaliniPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It wasn’t like every Sunday, it was like no other Sunday. In fact, it was the first Sunday in February, over 5 years ago, and it changed our lives!

I had all my snow gear with me and was going to walk through the local fields with my new snow shoes. I parked my car, and got my self all ready, and bundled up. With 18 inches of snow, I was looking forward to a challenge.

The snow was just firm enough to really get in a great walk, and the view was breathtaking. As I got deeper into the woods, I could hear a gentle, high pitched whine. I could tell it was an animal, but couldn’t tell what kind. As I got closer I could see a very emaciated small dog tied to the tree.

Who would do such a thing? I was mortified! Not only was this puppy starved, he was bloody everywhere. I couldn’t tell if he had been bitten or something else. The rope was tied so tightly around him, I couldn’t get it loose. I had to walk all the way back to my car, retrieve a pair of wire cutters I keep in my tool box in my trunk, and get back as fast as I could. My heart was feeling tortured, just thinking of that poor puppy, he must have thought I left him there to suffer and die!

As I cut him free, I was feeling hopeless, I didn’t see a bright future for this poor puppy! I put him in my coat, as carefully and gently as I could, and headed to Wilson Emergency Animal Hospital in Romeo. I talked sweet to the little guy all the way there, but could feel him slipping away.

As soon as I entered the hospital they were ready for me since I had called in route. Dr. Wilson gave me that look, like it wasn’t looking good. 3 hours later, they actually had him slightly stable, but the doc didn’t want my hopes up, he wasn’t sure that the sweet little pup would make it through the night, and that he needed him to stay with them and continue with ivy’s. He did say that the 5 lb puppy was a real fighter and was guessing him to be 5 months old!

I visited my new little friend first thing in the morning the next day. I was terrified I’d find he didn’t make it through the night. I just kept picturing his sweet little face, and eyes that had so much love and kindness, eyes that were begging me to love him. Doc said he got through the night! I was so relieved, they let me in the room and i sat with him all day. I had so much to do, but I couldn’t bare to leave him feeling abandoned once again. He was so week and frail, it hurt to see him struggle. I left, but came back again first thing in the morning once again, and every day for 7 days. Miraculously, on day 8, they got him strong enough to come home with me! I was so overjoyed that this sweet little boy was alive, and also a new member of my family!

Today, over five years later, sweet little Marlo has a family that loves him through and through! His two brothers, sister, and a mom and dad couldn’t feel luckier that he was the 6th member of our clan. Marlo is like a little 20 lb. ball of fluff! He truly loves everyone, and makes friends with all dogs that cross his path. The vet believes he’s an Eskipoo, an American Eskimo and Poodle mix. He gets special meals, long walks, and hours worth of cuddles. He is loved and cherished as he should be!

As for the sick and deranged person that left Marlo tied to a tree to starve, and to suffer, no one knows, and it remains a mystery. I believe that he will get exactly what he deserves coming to him.

Please look into your local animal rescue teams and donate anything you can, time, money, or both. There are so many wonderful men and women that spend countless hours and money saving animals that have been abandoned and abused. The amount of care these dogs need is expensive and time consuming. Open your heart or your pocket book and help, it makes a big difference!

dog
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.