Petlife logo

Keylie

by Amanda Castelli

By Amanda CastelliPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I will never forget the moment I met her. She was so sweet and friendly and very well trained. I was so surprised that anyone would give her up after all the time and effort they spent training her. But then again, they said the couple was older, and she was pretty hyper.

Keylie was a German Shepard mix. She was so gorgeous. I loved German Shepards anyway, but she was the most beautiful one I had ever seen. She had tans, browns, and blacks mixed in her coat and the most deep brown soul searching eyes.

When I decided to adopt her, my sweet girl was so happy to be going somewhere with anyone. I remember when we were going through the paperwork for adoption, she practically dragged my dad out the door. She was very hyper and ready to play all the time.

We had our ups and downs, but I won’t forget the memories that we shared together. All the good times and the bad. She loved to play with me and my chihuahua Thor. I originally got her because I was moving out and getting ready to start a career of my own. She was supposed to be my guard dog, but she was so much more than that.

Keylie was my best friend, my confidant, my cheerleader. She was always there to comfort me when I was down. She was always ready to snatch that breakfast burrito off the table when I turned my back for just a minute, or share popcorn with me while we watched a movie on the couch. And you best believe she was up on the couch with me, and I wouldn’t have it any other way, even if she was stinky sometimes.

She hated bath time, but she was always so patient and let me wash her without any fight. Then of course after she got out of the tub she had to shake all that water on me. Yuck!

When we adopted our Husky, Keylie was the best mommy to him. She taught him all the basics: how to beg for treats, the best spots to dig in the yard, and let’s not forget the crazy weird way he barks now, oh and we can’t forget that she taught him how to shake, lay down, sit, and the like.

Then she became the best big sister to our son. She watched him like a hawk while he rolled around on the floor. Then when he started walking, she became his shoulder to fall on and of course a big pillow when he got tired and needed a break.

The part that I will hate remembering is how she left us. Keylie had been a little clumsy for awhile. We thought nothing of it, but then one day she was paralyzed. It was a Saturday, so we had to wait until Monday to get her to the vet. Those two days were torture. I tried to feed her and make sure she had water, but she wasn’t all that interested and it was hard for her to lift her head.

When we finally got her to the vet, they took xrays and blood, but didn’t know what was wrong. We got her on some medication, and took her home with us for the week, but there was little progress. She tried to sit up on her own once and was a little successful, but it wasn’t pretty.

Finally, we took her back in and had to lay her to rest, but I know that she’s in a better place now. She’s no longer in pain and she and our family will always have good memories and pictures to share of our time together.

dog

About the Creator

Amanda Castelli

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ACWritten by Amanda Castelli

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.