Petlife logo

Interesting Cat Facts!

facts about your cat you may not know!

By C. M. SearsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
My boy Raider

Things you might not know about cats...

Did you know...that cats wink at you when they want to tell you they love you?

I have two cats, Raider is the gorgeous boy in the photo, before he was Raider, his name was Juan, I immediately changed it upon adopting him from a local shelter (East County Animal Rescue, yes I am plugging them) He lived in a Petco for about 2 months before he got my attention by reaching out and grabbing my shirt every morning when I walked by him to clock in at work. Then I have Criminal...he started out as Diego, but then he decided that acting like a criminal was a good idea, doing things like dumpster diving, dragging the bread off the counter, and jumping up on places he knows he isn't allowed...so essentially he was being a cat. He remained "Diego" for about a month before my husband started saying "your just a little criminal" so we started calling him Criminal and it stuck. Criminal and Raider wink at me all the time...and if you wink back, that tells them you love them too.

Did you know that when a cat trusts you, they reveal thier bellies?

My boys are always rolling and stretching on thier backs, showing off thier tummies for a good rubbing. Raider loves to flop over and curl his little front paws up and put his chin in the air so as to look as adorable as he possibly can. It works everytime! Criminal is more of a stretcher, he will lay down and stretch out his whole body to get my attention..this also works like a charm!

Did you know when a cat is walking around yowling loudly, it's because they are bored?

Raider does this mostly at night, so I have to get up and play with him because his brother doesn't care too. Criminal only mews when he is in trouble (getting up on daddy's desk when he knows he isn't suppose to, so my husband will say to him "where are you not supposed to be"? and he will mew and jump down.)

Did you know that when a cat is making a chattering sound that is his way of talking to the birds?

I have heard Raider do this once or twice, but they are not allowed outside so they don't really see many birds. We have alot of Coyotes in Souther California.

Did you know the reason they have a sandpaper tongue is for drinking water, stripping meat, and using it for the perfect hairbrush?

Cats have backward facing spines called papillae that run along their tongue and although their tongue is also great for stripping meat from prey so they can get maximum nutrition from the bones, it's built perfectly for drinking water. Rather than putting thier whole face in the water they simply use thier tongue by lifting it up and down very quickly so it can pull water up from the surface creating a column that the cat then closes thier mouth around. also it serves as the perfect hairbrush which would make sense since the spines are backward right? Now you know why white cats stay perfectly white and clean. Raider is 8 and his feet and chest are perfectly white all the time.

Have you ever noticed that a well groomed cat has no smell?

It's that tongue again! not only does it clean, it brushes and removes dirt and all that loose hair (the lovely hairballs you end up picking up).

Did you know that a group of cats is called a clowder? and I am sure everyone knows what a male cat is called right...a tom. Do you know what a female cat is called? female cats are Molly's.

Did you know that cats (and dogs) sweat through thier paws?

Did you know that cats can drink seawater? and that they hate all citrus smells? it's repulses them, so if you don't want your kitty scratching up te furniture, or spraying...make it stink!

Did you know that when cats purr, it affects the human brain and is great for our health? they purr between 25 and 150 hertz which is the perfect decipal to bring about big smiles and create happiness. It also has been proven to lower stress, and blood pressure in humans as well. Cat owners have a 40% less risk of heart attack because it reduces the risk of heart disease. Also thier purring is the perfect sound frequency to improve bone density and healing.

I could go on and on...but I think I will stop here...I love my cats and since adopting them, I have known so much happiness and joy. I was a dog person before them...not anymore. I love dogs but having cats is great for an apartment dweller because they don't require walking, I scoop thier potty and do not need to carry bags with me to pick up thier poop. they never need baths because they clean themselves,and I can leave them for literally days if they have enough food, water and a self cleaning litter box! I would never leave them for days...but I could if I needed to. My daughter usually comes and checks on them and they of course are super spoiled, they get a teaspoon of fresh tuna daily(they know when to get me up in the morning, and when they eat every night...I swear they can tell time). I love my boys more than anything. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it. I will say that some of my info came from experience, and alot of it came from years of researching my boys. I was also a groomer for 12 years so I learned about thier skin and fur, which made me want to own a couple of cats. My two boys were not brothers, they got to know each other in my home, and they were both about 8 months old which was the perfect age for them to bond...and they did! They are now inseperable and this overjoys me to no end! I love my furbabies. Thank you for reading.

cat
Like

About the Creator

C. M. Sears

I am learning more about writing every time I write a new story, whether it be fiction or fact. I love this platform and will continue to write and learn...if you like what you read in any of my stories please click the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.