Petlife logo

If You Were A Dog Breed - What Would You Be?

Something fun today!

By Hope MartinPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Our goodest boy in heaven, Link.

In my household...

We have a running joke that my bro-bro is a golden retriever. He's very food-motivated (and a little food-aggressive unless it's one of the kids), he gets easily distracted by, well, anything, he knocks things over with his tail, he's kind of dopey, he's always making everyone smile, and the most grouchy he gets is when he hasn't had enough food or sleep. He also eats things he shouldn't when no one's looking.

And if he were a dog, he would be a long-haired, shaggy, tongue-out, tail-waggin', 'show-you-my-belly-for-rubs' golden retriever. Every time I get aggravated with him, I imagine him as a golden retriever groveling for forgiveness. It helps to un-aggravate me. 

His wife, in my opinion, is a German Shepard. She looks scarier than she is, her bark is pretty terrifying but her bite is too (seriously, she's from Boston. Don't mess with her). Get on her bad side or mess with her family and she can go from chillin' to villain in 0.4 seconds. But you could not find a more loyal, strong, or fierce friend to have your back at ALL times.

My one-year-old son would be a husky. Our beloved husky, Linky was my protector more than any of our other dogs (We have 3 pitbull mixes and the Pyrenees) when I was pregnant with Xander. When the baby was born, Link would curl around his donut pillow and sleep with him. He'd sleep under the bassinet. Anywhere that baby was, you'd find the husky. Link is gone now, but Xander still howls like Link used to do, and he snuggles a husky plushy at night that looks a lot like Link. We joke that Linky was, Xander's biological father, and that is why he will sometimes put his head down on his tray and eat his food like a dog. Or why he throws husky-level tantrums, throwing himself around like a husky will when they are mad.

My daughters and I have been accused of being cats - and honestly, we're okay with that. But between you and me, I'm pretty sure my middle daughter is a chihuahua and my oldest is a shitzu. Separation anxiety, general anxiety, clingy neediness, and random aggressiveness. This is the level of psychotic that both my daughters and those two particular breeds are on. 

You know you laughed, and you know I'm right. 

If you take into consideration dog breeds, they all have similarities. Huskies are generally vocal and dramatic. Pitbulls are generally affectionate but hyperactive, but then become big snuggle pillows as they age. They all have personalities and their quirks, but many breeds have general traits that can be found in most dogs of a certain breed.

Humans are a lot like that too. Much like we have cultures and such that make 'groups' of us, we are all unique and have our individualities. That being said, we could easily compare ourselves to certain breeds for our traits.

And if we're going to compare ourselves to animals, it might as well be dogs. Humanity does not deserve them, but they love us anyway. I think we should all aspire to be like dogs - and love each other the way that well-raised dogs love everyone. If we took a few pages from a dog's diary, the world would be a much better place.

So, I ask you my fellow dog-lovers… if you were a dog? What breed would you be? 

Let me know in the comments because I'd love to hear from you! Share your stories and comments about yourself, your friends, or your families, and bring on the smiles!

humanitysatirefeaturefact or fictiondog
1

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Hard to choose when breeds are always changing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.