Petlife logo

Hey bud, you're a good boy.

A letter to one of my best friends.

By Hope MartinPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3

Dear Linky,

I know you're a dog, and I know you can't read. But I'm sending a physical copy of this letter with you to the vet's tomorrow, and asking they burn it with you. Then, maybe when you get to the rainbow bridge, an angel will read it to you.

I just want you to know, you've only been my God-fur-son for a few years. But in that time you and I have supported each other through some serious moments. You were there for me when I needed you, and I hope I was there for you when you the same way. It sucks you're leaving. It sucks so much.

It's going to be so much less chaotic with you gone. Honestly, I don't know if that's good or bad. I'm going to miss it. I'm going to miss morning kisses, and after-poop zoomies.. I'm going to miss your tantrums, where you howl at me like it's going to get you what you want. And who is going to help your dad eat all of the peanut butter? Sky and your Uncle are pretty tore down too.

And what am I going to do with your mom? Your body giving out has her heartbroken. She wasn't quite ready yet, I don't think any of us are. Don't worry. I think Lily can handle taking over from here. She's got some serious paws to follow in the support dog/best dog department. We all know your mom is going to have a hard time getting comfort from anyone that she got from you, buddy.

Thank you, Linkin, for being the most selfless and pure being. Thank you for being there for every single human in this house. You have been the fur that our faces buried into when we just needed a hug from a furperson. You have been there for each of us.

In our saddest moments.

Our dark and hopeless moments.

Our scared and lost moments.

Our most pained moments.

Our sickest moments.

And our happiest moments.

I hope you remember all of us being there for you in your moments too.

Thank you for having the cutest, softest most twitchy ears. And for having the deepest, most intelligent, sweetest eyes. And for constantly shedding your fur all over the house - it helped motivate me to clean.

I'm going to miss you. So, so much. I love you. So, so much. I hate that you're leaving. And if I couldn't see how much you're suffering right now I would beg you to try harder to get better. I would beg you to get up so you can stay with us. But, I love you too much to be that selfish. As badly as I want to be that selfish, it hurts my heart even more to see you laying there, still and ragged. To not even have the strength to stand. To not have the will to eat.

I hear you, buddy. I get it. And I know you're ready. So, I'll be ready too. And I'll be strong for your mom and dad.

"Wherever someone is thinking about you, that is where your home is."

We're going to think about you every day for years to come I bet. It's going to be a lot emptier without you. And it'll be an adjustment. But we'll be okay. I promise. So it's okay that you're letting go. I understand.

I will miss you. And I love you. And when you get to where you're going, my good boy, will you give my kitty Tiggy my love? Tell him I miss him so much. He should be hanging out with two pretty girls called Latte and Annabelle. You'll love those goofy pups. After all - you had two girlfriends here at home, and look at that. I prepared two girlfriends for you for after too. Your aunty has got your back, handsome.

Hey bud, you're a good boy. And I love you so much.

See you again one day.

So have fun while you wait for us up there.

With love,

Human Aunty and God-Mommy.

vettherapyhumanityhealthdogCONTENT WARNING
3

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Beautifully written, a good boy indeed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.