Petlife logo

I Was Her Everything When We Were Young

A very short story about dreams come true, broken promises, regrets, and growing up

By Donna ReneePublished about a year ago 3 min read

I was the culmination of an entire childhood of wistful daydreams.

I was the unattainable wish with every dandelion breeze.

I was the most beautiful creature she'd ever seen.

I was the only thing she'd ever truly wanted.

I was the best birthday surprise ever.

I was her biggest challenge yet.

I was her constant companion.

I was her closest confidant.

I was her crying shoulder.

I was her listening ears.

I was her best teacher.

I was her only friend.

I was her everything.

and then?

I wasn't.

I wasn't anything to her anymore.

I was confused at first. Then I was angry. And then I was just sad. How could she do this to me? To us? Had I done something to hurt her?

I've had a lot of time to think about what terrible things must have gone wrong between us and, in time, I came to realize that nothing did.

She just grew up.

Most of them do, I guess, in time. Horse girls, I mean. They grow up and they lose interest or join the marching band or get jobs or have too many honors classes or not enough money....or they find a boyfriend.

She and I had seen it all over our years together. We even talked about those things from time to time whenever we saw them happening around us. It certainly wasn't a rare occurrence. We horses change hands all of the time.

We get old, we get tired, we get injured, we get sick, and we get more and more expensive. Sometimes we just get outgrown, physically or emotionally, and in the best case scenarios we end up only moving on to fulfill another child's wildest dreams. In the worse case scenarios though, we change hands so many times that no one knows where we end up...or what happens to us in the end.

On the day that my next door neighbor was trailered away forever, she hid in my stall and cried on my shoulder for hours. She brushed my coat and gave me treats and told me that I had nothing to worry about. I nickered at her and nudged her with my warm, fuzzy nose. She promised me that something like that would never happen to me. She promised me that she loved me more than anything. She promised me that I was stuck with her for life.

and, in a way, I guess I am.

It's been 20 years now since the day she gave me away to her friend and nearly 15 years now since the day she heard about my accident.

...nearly 15 years now since the day she heard that I died.

She still keeps this photo of us together on her fireplace mantle and she still cries about me when she remembers the years we spent together back when we were young. Visitors see our picture displayed there beside the pictures of her kids and they ask about me once in a while.

"Oh, yea! Isn't he gorgeous? That's Justin! He was the horse I had back when I was a kid."

She doesn't say, "He was my best friend. He was my first real love. He was my dream come true. He was everything to me when I was young."

But I know the truth. I see her eyes well up when she looks at us together and remembers how happy we were back then.

She still feels guilty, I think? Guilty for the promises she couldn't keep and guilty for the way she couldn't come and say goodbye in the end.

I forgave her long ago though.

All she did was grow up.

horse

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Donna - Ah, tough "GoodByes" - I always enjoy scrolling through your lovely stories that you 'Pony-Up' for us - J-Bud

  • Justin 🥺🥺🥺 I'm sobbing right now! Ugly crying! 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 Gosh I cannot imagine how you would have felt when you heard about his death. This must have been so difficult for you to write about. I hope writing this released you of the guilt that you felt. Like Justin said, all you did was grow up 🥺❤️

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    This has me in my feels. I grew up on a horse farm. They were not the kind of horses you ride… my grandfather professionally raced horses on racetracks, the kind that pull a cart. So he trained them too. But I got to pet them as much as I wanted. They are wonderful animals.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Beautiful! We mourn for the child we once were, who's gone forever despite our attempts to hold on to the memories. You capture that perfectly!

  • Vairamani Sabout a year ago

    Well done!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Ooof! This one really got to me. Really well written. Beautiful.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This poignant and beautifully written piece highlights the bittersweet reality of growing up and moving on from childhood dreams and the beloved companions that come with them.

Donna ReneeWritten by Donna Renee

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.