Petlife logo

I rescued my human

My Family

By Elle SolanoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
My boys

When it comes to pet rescue, I feel it was my pets that rescued me. Growing up, we always had many dogs; my family and I raised many dogs. And growing up, I never really understood the difference between having a puppy or rescuing one. My little pack has been created with time. Every one of my pets has touched me in a way that I could not say to. They looked at me in a way that said helped me. My pack consists of 4 dogs and a cat. But it first started with two Chihuahuas Wako and Coco. These two little ones showed me what it means to have unconditional love. When I reached out for a helping hand, I found their paws. I learned to push myself to survive anything and found the motivation to be a better person.

My pets helped me to be able to move on from all the hurt that once was in my heart and soul. After I lost Wako, I always wanted to adopt; I did not know where to start or how it worked. My friend that worked at a local shelter informed me of a litter of puppies that got dropped off, and they wanted to find a home for all of them. I was still hurt by the loss of my buddy of 15 years. I did not want to feel I was replacing him. When I was alone, I wanted to show him respect and honor by giving a pet the love and home they deserve. When I got there was this cute little puppy that had beautiful freckles and was the fluffiest, he had a beautiful smile and was a hugger. I named him Buddy and took him home. Later came Duggie, the lab. He was 6 months old when I adopted him. He looked so sad when I saw him first at the shelter. Duggie had his ears hanging low, and he had this look of sadness on his face. I did not have to look anywhere else. His eyes pulled me to say, let us go home, kid. About a year later, the pit mix Charlie Brown showed up. The story of Charlie was heartbreaking. He was 6 months old and had been in 6 different homes. They kept taking him back. “too much energy” and “too much of a hassle to train” were some of the reasons they kept taking him back. When I saw him, he was a baby that needed love. And he became the love of my life. I have never had a connection as strong as I have with Charlie. And we cannot forget of MS. Lucky the cat. Our beautiful tabby came from our local shelter/adoption agency. My boyfriend’s roommates had adopted the cat to kill the mice in their home supposedly. She did that, and then they did not want to keep the cat; they wanted to take her back. And pushed for them to let me keep her. And that is how she was added to the pack.

Having these beautiful pets saved my life; I was homeless for a few months. I was broke and did not know what or where to go. I was hurting emotionally, and I was lost for a long time. These pets motivated me to push myself to get out of the situation, and it pushed me because if something happened to me, who would take care of them. Yes, we adopt pets to give them a second chance and to give them a better life. But they saved my life. They helped me get a second chance to live a better life. If it were not for them, I never would have made it alive. They rescued me; they were next to me when I cried myself to sleep. When I was hungry, I always made sure they had food, even if I did not have any. Going through a tough situation like that brought us all together, and knowing that they were sleeping with me, I felt safe. It like they kept guard while I rested.

Time has gone by, and we are in a home now. I have a great job, and they are the happiest puppies they can ever be. Unfortunately, I lost my Coco. She was my heart; she was so kind and sweet. She was a little girl, but boy did she run the household. I was not looking to adopt a new baby; sometimes, life has a better plan for you. Two days after my little queen passed away, this beautiful baby girl rottweiler showed up at my doorstep. She had this cute collar on with a cute yellow flower on the side. She was sitting there looking at me. I sat on the steps, and she walked towards me and sat on my feet for a back scratch. I was sitting there on the steps while I was petting her, and tears came down my cheeks. She did not have a tag or anything, but there was something about this baby that I could not seem to see what it was she was trying to say. And the craziest thing happened. I remember at that moment that when coco was a puppy, she was raised by rottweilers. They protected her and defended her. She always felt. Fearless like she could take out anything. She was strong even in her last days of life. And I thought to myself, and it cannot be. It cannot be coco. I invited her inside, and she sat on the couch like she had been here before. She was not nervous or scared; she rested on the end of the couch as she has always been doing that. I called my dad, he loves rottis, so maybe she could go to him. I had explained what happened and how she showed up. My dad, all he said was, “of course it’s a girl rotti it makes sense. She always protected you, and she was raised by rottis. Why would not you keep her? She came back to show up still and help you and protect you, and she came back as the big dog and strong dog that she knew and loved. You have to keep her its coco; she came back as the strongest dog.”

Could it be, could it be her coming back in a bigger and stronger dog. As of course she has been with me since day one. It is a beautiful thing being able to give a home and love to pets who need it. But I feel the pets when they see all these people walking around in the shelters; they see who needs them the most. They can love you until the end of time and show every human how to love and be patient. They can teach every human how to accept things they simple things and not complicate everything in life. When it comes to a pet, they do not see how much money you have or what you do in life. They do not care if you have a nice car or a big home, just as long that you have a bowl of food and water. A place to sleep for them and a home they are loyal to you. They teach us to be loyal and teach us about relationships and what we want in a relationship, what you want in a friend. If it were not for them, I would not have the beautiful life I have today. When it comes to adoption, I 100 % support it. I hope my story encourages people to look beyond a smelling dog or maintenance. But look at the loyalty and the friendship one can earn. Because when you think no one is there, a furry friend is sitting next to you waiting for you, waiting for you to open your heart to a second chance at a new life.

adoption
1

About the Creator

Elle Solano

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.