Petlife logo

I Don't Have Cats, I Have Extra Roommates

The reality of living with cats for the first time.

By Nicole KenneyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Don't Have Cats, I Have Extra Roommates
Photo by Dietmar Ludmann on Unsplash

Growing up, my family was never into the idea of having pets. My father vehemently hated animals (which is another story) and my Mom, older brother, and I are all allergic to cats. The only pets I ever received as a child were fish and taking care of them had little gratification to me.

Recently, I decided to lease an apartment with three of my friends in my college town. And low and behold, one of them has two cats.

While you may have been under the impression that I was dreading having them as company because of allergies, that really wasn't the case. Rather, I was excited to have my first experience living with "real" pets. And while I am someone that prefers dogs, I was open-minded to the idea of befriending some felines in my apartment.

Now that I've lived with them for a couple of months, to say I have "befriended" them is a bit of an exaggeration.

It's taken several months just for one of them to get the courage to come up to me. And even then, she runs away under my roommate's bed for safety. I don't need to make a single move or sound to trigger her.

As for the other cat, who happens to be her brother, doesn't want anything to do with me unless I'm strictly in the middle of doing something. I'll be in the middle of cooking a recipe and hit a very crucial point in the process (like something time-sensitive or intricate), and that's when he begins to swivel through my legs asking for pets.

But when I do want to have some time with them, such as in the middle of a stressful study session, they're not interested whatsoever.

I try to pet them, they just walk away.

I throw them one of their yarn balls, nothing but blank stares.

I give them chin and ear scratches, absolutely nothing.

They are more entertained by a straw wrapper somebody missed throwing into the trashcan than when I try to play with them using any of their actual toys.

So, do you want to be friends or not? I have received more mixed signals from these cats than I have from any guy I've gone through the "talking" stage with.

However, they will be quick to rub themselves on any and all of my belongings from my bed to my laptop. Of course, this is one of their ways of claiming territory, but it felt very contradictory when they didn't so much care to socialize with me. So, I guess I'm subconsciously a part of their pact, even if they don't love being around me all of the time.

The only part of their curious and territorial behavior that I'm not fond of is the constant intrigue they have to explore my bedroom. For the sake of my sinuses and eyes, I need at least one cat-free room in my apartment, so they're promptly kicked out every time they try to enter.

Slow And Steady Wins The Race

Like any other major adjustment, the only surefire way to have a smooth transition befriending my roommate's cats is with time. As we've progressed further through the lease, they have slowly come around to my presence on their own terms.

The one who used to hide under her bed now approaches me more and more every day. Her brother now plays fetch with me. Yes, he's a cat who plays fetch.

So while I have been a lifelong "dog person" and still have to remind myself constantly to wash my hands after touching them, my feline roomies have stolen my heart.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Kenney

College Senior in Media Communications and Aspiring Freelance Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.