Petlife logo

Fulfilling a Dream

Total Dog!

By Kimberly J EganPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Ch. UR01 Fritzfox Still Unwritten NB ("Badger) in one of the prettiest sits of his life! And me, looking tickled and shellshocked over finally having a dog with a Total Dog win! My deepest gratitude to judge Karen Shivers, pictured here, who helped us get where we wanted to go!

The Texas Classic!

I've already talked about the bad time that Widget had at the Texas Classic. Now it's Badger's turn! When I learned that the show would have conformation, Rally obedience, AND traditional obedience, I jumped at the chance to bring him. If he had a successful weekend, then he would come away with at least two titles and, quite possibly, that coveted Total Dog title that I'd been questing for over twenty years! (Read more about that quest in the embedded link!)

Competing for "Glory"

I didn't understand the concept of a "TDI qualifier" at the time I was entering my dog. All I knew was that I would have three days of conformation and companion events during which I could earn my dog a coveted award. Without thinking twice about the (considerable) cost, I entered Badger in all six conformation rings, all six Rally obedience rings, and all three traditional obedience rings. Kathleen and I also entered two champions, Widget, two class females, and a Teddy Roosevelt terrier. We were broke, but hey--it was our final show of the year!

It was only after entering all those dogs that I realized what "TDI Invitational" meant. The "Total Dog Invitational" is an event that showcases dogs that have won the Total Dog award. It costs $200 to enter your dog and your dog MUST BE invited to enter--rather like the Total Dog equivalent of Westminster. The TDI being held in 2022 would be held in Shreveport, Louisiana, just a few hours from my home. If Badger earned his Total Dog award at the Texas Classic, then he would get an invitation to this event! I wanted to go! I said many prayers, did my best to polish his skills, and off we went to the Texas Classic.

How Did it Go?

Glad you asked! On the very first day, Badger qualified for a UR01 (first level of Rally in UKC). However, if you have read about Widget's first day at the Classic, you know that he did not have a successful show, which in turn affected Badger's chances of getting competition wins. That first day, Badger failed to qualify for the Total Dog. I was devastated but had faith that things would come together on Saturday!

Saturday morning, it was Badger's turn to let me down. He failed to qualify in either Rally or in Pre-Novice obedience. However, Widget, good boy that he tries to be, actually managed to behave in the ring and allowed Badger to get a competition win! Yay! We had one more conformation ring and one more Rally ring for the day. We could do it!

And then, Kathleen fell in the ring.

She did not appear to be badly hurt, but it seemed the better part of valor to get her to the hospital, anyway. I got all the dogs into their respective crates and told volunteer handlers who went in which class. Then I followed the (speeding) ambulance to the hospital. I would be lying if I said that I wasn't in a panic. The last time I'd had a friend fall like that, for no apparent reason, she passed away. I'd also be lying if I said that I didn't have the fleeting thought of "there goes the TDI." Selfish, I know, but no one is perfect.

A few hours later, we were back at the show. I have never been so grateful that UKC shows run long! The TDI must have crossed Kathleen's mind, as well, when she was at the hospital, because she was the first one to comment that Badger still might have a chance to qualify in his second Rally ring. I ran to the desk and let the steward know we were present, then got Badger out for a quick potty run and warm-up walk. We were on!

It was NOT a perfect run. I was certain that we'd lost over 30 points, given that Badger's elbows did not completely touch the floor on his down during one exercise. The "down" was the principle part of the exercise, so we had probably lost all 10 points and gotten an automatic NQ. We'd retried one exercise successfully, so that was another 3 points, just gone. I cheerfully told Badger that he'd done a "great job, Boo!" and went to check our score.

We'd qualified.

As of today, March 7, 2022, Badger is still the only Toy Fox Terrier who has qualified for the United Kennel Club Total Dog Invitational for 2022.

Badger earned both his UKC champion degree and his UR01 at the Texas Classic. Did I get mercy points, because of taking Kathleen to the hospital? Did Badger's elbows really, actually, touch the floor for a fraction of the second? Did the judge miss seeing that they hadn't? I have no clue. All I know is that I am PROUD of my amazing little dog and grateful to the judges that have seen at least a little of what I saw in him that weekend.

dog
1

About the Creator

Kimberly J Egan

Welcome to LoupGarou/Conri Terriers and Not 1040 Farm! I try to write about what I know best: my dogs and my homestead. I currently have dogs, cats, dairy goats, quail, and chickens--and in 2025--rabbits! Come take a look into my life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.