Petlife logo

Father rushed into the flood to save a white dog

Brought home and conquered me and my family with intelligence

By EnsenadaPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Father rushed into the flood to save a white dog
Photo by Mitchell Orr on Unsplash

From the time I was three years old, I began to have memories, of when I have been living with my grandparents in the countryside, living in the countryside should know that the house is with a yard, and not small, about 200 square meters, grandmother loved to raise pets, with the yard area at the time to raise more than ten dogs is no problem, some are breed dogs some are Chinese field dogs, and then with some strings, a dozen dogs, including three Huskies.

Grandpa is very familiar with the characteristics of various canines, so the three huskies will deliberately give them enough time to move, after all, the demolition of the devil is no joke, trained especially well, rarely happen to demolish the house or play with you missing.

After going back to the city center, the family house itself is with a yard, and then my mother raised a native dog, not much need for activity time, and very adaptable to the environment at the time, both to watch the house, but also well-behaved and cute, obeying orders, very suitable for us to raise.

Probably from childhood to the experience of raising dogs in grandparents, my mother's side of the family, aunts, and uncles all have dogs, including my mother has a set of dogs. My uncle in the unknown second-tier city, because there is a large park near home, raised a Teddy from time to time to walk the dog. The training is good, the family came to a friend or our past guests and will not go crazy barking, just go after will look at you warily.

Later we moved from the yard to the community, when the property does not recommend that we keep large and medium-sized dogs, but does not like to keep small dogs, a measure of both sides, a giant Teddy. The fact is that you will be able to get a lot more than just a couple of months to get a lot more than just a couple of years. Teddy is not very smart, when playing outside and other dogs will fall into the pool inside, and fell into the first reaction is not immediately run out, but inside to goldfish, look at goldfish fleeing around, and then fly bite a bite, until playing tired to jump out, I think it may be its playfulness is relatively heavy.

After that because of an accident raised a dog - Mia Mia (old home before the flooding of heavy rains, Mia Mia's mother and siblings have washed away without a trace when only Mia Mia was rescued, my father rescued it when the name was taken, meaning to escape this flood, the disaster will not die there will be future blessings.) The dog's hair is hard and short, very clean, and shiny white after bathing it. My father said this dog is really good-looking, the body is proportional, the head is not big, has good-looking features, and has long legs. Walking or running posture looks very elite, a comparison of the Teddy now raised, hey ......

The Chinese Field Dogs are friendly to most people, but their personalities are sometimes inscrutable. The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you are getting into. Later the relationship is familiar, and you suddenly make a move, and River will still be alert, and then look at you.

At that time, my parents felt that this kind of dog was not suitable for the city, after all, it needs a certain amount of exercise, but later on, I found that in terms of exercise, River does not need a lot of exercises. One day, I went out to walk the dog with a friend who likes to run, and River ran for less than two kilometers and did not move.

The character of River is like a cat, like quiet, unlike Teddy, a large body also came to you for hugs and kisses of pampering. River likes to lie alone on the balcony in the sun or hold a favorite toy to watch the action downstairs. If you purposely tease it, it will look retarded expression, and then pat your hand with a paw.

"Hey, you should go to the hospital, there may be some problems above the neck."

Fortunately, it is a dog that likes to be quiet, sports very little (punching the top is two kilometers away), usually not moving at home, and never asked for a table or bedding, so decided to keep it inside the community. Unlike Teddy, River is very spiritual, see we go to the toilet, it will also go along with the solution, we just need to follow along with the flush can be. My father loves River because it knows enough and has the spirit to be trained according to its character.

I took River to a pet event before and River showed its amazing intelligence. I needed tools, but my hands were holding the furniture and I couldn't move, so I said to River, "River, help me get the flat head screwdriver." Immediately after River ran to the toolbox to find a while and helped me to bring it over, but it was a plum screwdriver. Although River could not distinguish the exact screwdriver, but their peers were surprised by River's intelligence.

During the event, River helped me carry my bag and pick up the mineral water that fell on the ground.

A careless step on River's paw very lightly stepped on it, and River gave a sound. I then squatted down and stroked the little paws and apologized to it, and kept apologizing.

My friend who was with me saw that you were doing this too outrageously.

I said, "Don't look at it as a dog, it understands human language, why wouldn't I do that?"

River in my heart has always been a friend to treat, and I am equal, will empathize with the dog's feelings. Some people say you can't take the dog too seriously, will increasingly not take you seriously, riding on your head, I want to say, what's it to you, my dog ate your family's food?

My parents raised me in the same way and they respected my ideas, after all, they taught me to think from my perspective and opinion and gave me the right to make my own choices. With this kind of education, filial piety, and kind and friendly character, do not need colored glasses to see their friends.

What's wrong with a dog?

Stern and cheerfulness have never been our family style, two dogs can be cute and crazy to play with, but also need rules that can not bite people, this is the bottom line.

Both people and animals have flaws in their character, the vast majority of the owner's education has something to do with it, and it just reflects the other side of the owner, many people attribute the problem to the breed of the dog, ignoring the problems that arise from their upbringing, and attribute the fault of the dog to it, which is ridiculous.

Many people like to compare breed dogs and Chinese Field Dogs, I don't think so, this is from the view of people, there is no such thing as an animal born with good or bad qualities, in the final analysis, it is people who have problems that lead to the earth dog is not as good as other breeds of dogs.

So we do not believe those online those who say that a certain dog than a string, earth dog to be smart and obedient these baseless articles, as long as you are willing to spend the effort to teach nothing different.

dogbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Ensenada

One cannot eat one's cake and have it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.