Petlife logo

EmPAWyee of the Month

Paco Boss Tyer

By KB Shinez♠️✨Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I have proudly raised children who grew into amazing adults. I have carried the weight of giants on my shoulders easily. Choosing who my FURever sidekick would be, not such an easy task for me. Spending nearly a year researching and debating, frustration was getting heavy. Mentally smothered by the "what if's" that had overtaken me, I started to give up my search. Sadly, I chalked it up that the timing wasn't right to add a PAWtner to my writing team but possibly, I was anxious for the wellbeing of my first sidekick.

January the 13th I received three pictures via text message from my wife, who at the time was working out of town. Each picture was a different, yet completely adorable eight weeks old chihuahua baby! I was instructed to pick the one that I would like to meet in two days. Immediately I was googly eyes over the runt and the only baby with black hair in the group. Two days pass but my excitement has held strong. It seemed like the rainiest and coldest night of the winter season as I struggled to see through the wiper blades on the windshield. Already prepared for our meeting, my wife insists on chauffeoring us on our hour-long journey to meet that adorable baby. I'm not sure who was nervous quivering more me or the tiniest pup that I was rubbing noses with! Our first hug was instant comfort for both of us. An effortless bond, an immediate attachment, that to my surprise made me feel complete. Inseparable and smitten with adoration, we both adjusted very quickly to our new life.

Picking Up Paco

Paco Boss Tyer became the best decision ever made for me and the team. Our new emPAWyee jumped like an expert into his PAWsition, seeming highly confident in his rank with us. A month came and went so quickly with me being love-struck and consumed taking pictures. Our bond grew immensely to a level that I've labeled "E.T. and Elliot". If I am in bed, we both rest. If I am sick, poor Paco never leaves my side. My sudden Vertigo issues, he seems to know before I do. My half-pound shadow was unlike any pup that I had met before. Overflowing with emotions and compassion, my best friend was also filled with spice and not scared of anything! Paco has a personality that indicated he has absolutely no idea he isn't a big breed made for security.

February the 23rd we were hit with our family's first tragedy. Unexpectedly laying my wife to rest stopped life on a dime. Without even the chance to save my soul or comprehend clearly, extreme grief and depression attacked me. Just like my children, my new PAWtner didn't give up on me or leave me alone. Being the leader that he is, he assisted in all visits, appointments, and errands. Keeping close 24-hour surveillance over the team, he made sure I never had to cry alone. Equally as heartbroken, Paco toughed it out through things that I can never repay him for. Countless breakdowns with music drowning my pain, he never flinched or left. Enforcing cuddles and kisses with no exceptions, unaware of how grateful I truly am for him. Although he was a tiny one-pound emPAWyee, he was also a big deal.

Taking a hard hit, we struggled as a team to deal with the grief. Weeks that turned into months, sad and sleepless nights with the worst eating habits couldn't break Paco. He went above and beyond his means to be my side. Bringing a smile back to my face, I realized what a blessing he truly is. As my soul cries with many emotions, through blurry eyes I see Paco making his way to my shoulders. Just like always, one paw on either side of my neck, standing on my chest as long as he thinks I need hugging. I had forgotten how I almost opted out of meeting him that cold night in January. I can hear my wife scolding me, "No, please stop. You are getting the one that you want." Reminded of how relieved she was and seemingly thankful she was with our compatability, her words echo through my body. With utmost sincerity and a big grin, leaving confusion over me she said, "You love him! I am so glad that you bonded with him. I want you to have someone to comfort you. You need someone to comfort you and never leave your side." As I wiped the tears from my face, my now two-pound right-hand man had tears in his eyes as well.

More than friends, many would say we are kindred souls. All that I really know is what is meant to be, will always be. Separation of any time frame requires us to run immediately to one another for our dramatic reuniting. Instantly initiating a business meeting to order sufficient hugs and kisses from the best emPAWyee ever! Unaware that his PAWsition could never be replaced, I feel as if our Star EmPAWyee doesn't get quite enough recognition. As we approach Paco's special 1-year date, it seems bittersweet for several reasons. I struggle to find the perfect way to express the overwhelming appreciation and love for a soul that seems to need us equally as we need him.

Our team is transitioning into new beginnings as we grow from the lessons of our past year. Our trials forced us to learn, grow and understand things individually. Somehow, Paco held our team together, exceeding every expectation of a FURever PAWtner. In the midst of our darkest hours, Paco was a natural as he devoted himself to being a strong, emPAWthetic team leader. Covered in compassion and demonstrating loyalty unlike no other I have met before. Requiring very little in return, Paco Boss brings light to our team in every way. His tiny body is filled with amazing character that sets him apart from the rest! Biased I may be, but a top-shelf emPAWyee deserves great recognition and I am blessed to nominate the one and only Mr. Paco Boss Tyer for the next EmPAWyee of the Month.

feature
1

About the Creator

KB Shinez♠️✨

Taking the chains off my soul. Finding ME! Real SUPPORT is unfamiliar, my gratitude overflows. Make Em Believe•Show Me Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.