Petlife logo

Dog's Eye View

I'm Sick Of This Crap!

By Misty RaePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - March 2023
36
Rudy, looking firece

I woke up to a large paw in my face and 103 pounds of dog on my torso. I'm only 100 pounds, so the weight was more than noticeable. It crushed my chest, making breathing less than easy. And Rudy's nails needed a trimming. I noticed that as they bore into my face like razor blades.

"We need to talk." The voice came from somewhere around him. His tongue was hanging out of his face, the way it always did as he breathlessly awaited my getting up.

He peered into my eyes, his brown peepers intense, It's me, and we need to talk," he said. "Things have got to change around here if this thing between us is going to work."

I sat up. My heart leaped into my throat. "What things?" I asked, "don't you know how much I love you?"

Rudy lifted himself off me and plopped down beside me on the bed. "Yeah, I know, I love you too, but I need more."

"More what?" I squealed. Was he breaking up with me? Was my dark handsome true love about to break my heart? "What do you need, baby boy? I thought you were happy!"

"I am happy, mostly," he replied flatly. "But as I get older, I feel like there's something missing. I don't know, something, respect, maybe. I'm 15 months old now, it's time I had a say in what goes on here, don't you think?"

I shrugged. I didn't know what to say. Between the shock of a talking dog and the crushing pain of thinking Rudy was unhappy, I was paralyzed.

"Aren't you going to say something?" he barked.

"What do you want me to say?"

"Never mind," he shook his head. "I'll explain. First, I really need you to stop referring to me as "the dog." Take the dog out, feed the dog. It's demeaning. I have a name, it's Rudy, use it. I don't hear anyone referring to you as the small female human or Daddy as a large male human with a questionable disposition. No, you're Misty and Carl, I would appreciate the same courtesy."

I nodded.

"Further," he continued, "if you love me, stop trying to change me. I'm a dog. I bark. I do that to protect you when suspicious characters are around. I don't do it willy-nilly. I can easily distinguish between a regular passerby and someone that is potentially dangerous. Let me do my job!"

I nodded again. "Okay," I agreed, "let's get up and get some coffee."

"That's the next thing," he paused a moment to scratch his ear. "You and your coffee. Why is it that has to take 3 hours? I have needs. I have places to go and you don't seem to give a crap about it!"

"What do you mean?" I had to challenge him there. I take him to the dog park every day and often to see his brother, Lowie on the weekends.

"My best friends are at the park between 9 and 11 am," he snorted, "you know that. Yet you insist on doing your thing. You know I love Buddy, Chester, Piper, and Cosmo the hockey dog. Dude, look at Cosmo, he's hilarious:

"It's not fair to me that I have to constantly wait for everything to be so convenient for you. I often get there late and miss everyone and get stuck with weirdo dogs that don't know how to play."

I stiffened. "Look, Rudy, I said, "I have things to do too. I have to work. I have to write so that you can eat."

"Why is your time management issue MY problem?" he snorted. "And while we're on the topic of eating, let's address that. Why do I get mush in a bowl and you get steak or lamb chops?"

"You get dog food because you're a dog." I reached out to touch his soft face.

He stood up. "Think about how that makes me feel," he began. "You're sitting there, with a big plate of goodness and here I am, supposedly a valued family member, eating crap in a can. Really?"

"People - food isn't good for you," I whimpered.

"You know I could literally eat you, right?" he snapped, "Seriously, I could. You'd be devoured before the big buy even got to you. But I don't do that. I mean look at me, I'm handsome and tall and loyal. My black waves just glisten in the sun."

"I know."

He continued, his tail wagging swiftly. "Anyone would be lucky to have me, you know, but I chose you. Out of every human on the planet, I picked you! Look how much I love you. Every time you sit down, don't I jump right on you so you won't ever be alone? Every single time you eat, don't I stick my nose right in your face to make sure whatever you gobbled down was safe? I love you and I'd like some appreciation.

"You want some breakfast?" I ask, desperate to shut the conversation down, "I have lamb dinner."

Rudy lept off the bed, his mouth watering, "I do like lamb."What time are we going to the park."

"No park today," I told him, "today you're going to see your brother."

"Yeah, well, that's another thing..." he rolled his eyes and walked away. "You shouldn't be telling me how often I can see my family, MY own flesh and blood. I don't complain about the endless hours you spend on the phone with that kid of yours. Seriously, lady, he's 30, cut the cord already!"

I got out of bed and fixed his food.

"All I'm asking for is a little respect here, lady," he said between bites of lamb, "fair is fair., now, grab a bag and let's go out. I do NOT like to be kept waiting. Hey, wait, do I smell chicken thawing in the fridge...?"

dogfact or fiction
36

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Oh l love Rudy❤️ What a cutie. It sounds like you are a wonderful furbaby mom too. Very enjoyable read 🐶❤️🐶

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Always enjoy his stories and videos, revisited 🥰

  • Lynn Anderson 12 months ago

    I hope we hear more from Rudy.

  • Elle Clarkabout a year ago

    Wow! I love it! I felt like I was right there. Reminds me of our dogs. I love the 'dogs' perspective! Very descriptive and detailed but definitely not boring!

  • HollyBerriesabout a year ago

    Wow! I've never seen a story like this. The dog's perspective is really interesting; I hope this gets into more contests! It's certainly very unappreciated.

  • Nikki Clamabout a year ago

    I loved reading this! It's fascinating to see the world from a dog's perspective.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    This is beyond cute! Congrats on TS! 🥰

  • Lol, Rudy is hilarious! I enjoyed reading this!

  • aly suhailabout a year ago

    a great fun reading, keep it up.

  • HEMA MALINIabout a year ago

    very well written...rudy sounds so much of fun...❤

  • Ethan Jacksonabout a year ago

    Nice love

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Ha! Excellent! Rudy sounds like a lot of fun! Great story.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Lol! This was hilarious and I love how you brought Rudy's personality through in the writing! Well done on Top Story - well-deserved!

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Omg I loved this! The sass! He gives cats a run for their money! lol

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the well-deserved Top Story

  • JBazabout a year ago

    ‘Now grab a bag and let’s go’. Lol. So good. Congratulations

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    “…Daddy as a large male human with a questionable disposition.“. That had me cracking up 🤣🤣🤣. This was a super fun read!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This really brought Rudy to life in a big way. Pun intended. Loved it.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh I adored this!! Look at his eyes!! Loved how you made us see everything from his perspective. Wonderful work! I enjoyed the read :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Excellent. You put so much character and life into Rudy that I could actually imagine this whole story in my mind as I read it. Job very well done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    So cool, Rudy have is own YouTube Channel , enjoy

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, and he's a cutie. I can't imagine him laying on you. oooff. lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.