Petlife logo

Daisy and Beanie

#1 ~ Once, My Name Was Mousey

By Krystal KatzPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Daisy and Beanie
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

Daisy’s POV

The thing about being a puppy is that sometimes your puppy-name is different from the name that you eventually grow up with. For me, my name began as “Mousey”. You may be wondering why my name started out as a furry little rodent, but it’s pretty simple: I’m small and cute like a little mouse! You see, when I was born, I was the runt of the litter. This means that I was the smallest out of my brothers and sisters. But it doesn’t mean I can’t be mighty!

I’m five weeks old now, but my current owners have said that you could tell my littermates and I apart early on because of our different personalities! I want to prove to my littermates that just because I’m small like a mouse doesn’t mean I have to be quiet like one! I like to make sure everyone knows I’m in the room, and I’m always the first one to start up the games! I like to bop around and bounce on my paws! But sometimes I get so excited and my tail wags so hard that I fall over! But, don't worry! My current owners scoop me right back up and set me on my paws! It’s fun, though, to run up to them and wag my little, curling tail until they pet me! And, boy, there is no shortage of petting! We are always given so much love! I think I’m the favorite of us four pups, but, shhh! Don’t tell the others!

Sometimes they call me by affectionate names like, “Little Munchkin” and “Peanut”! But I’ve heard them call my brother with the black fur a little “terror” because he can be naughty sometimes... just like me. For instance, we have this soft dog bed that is so much fun to chew! And how can you resist the training pads when they’re just sitting there, begging to be torn apart? Just like my energetic brother, I like to chew on things or try to play games when the others just want to relax. I’m still learning to calm down— but everything is so exciting! It’s hard to be quiet when there’s so much to do! Luckily, we also have plenty of toys -- like "blue fish" and "pink fish"! They're so much fun to toss around! So, when my littermates get bored with me or just want to lie down, there's always a toy to discover!

Now that we’re five weeks old, not only have our personalities really developed and shone through, but so has our beautiful fur! Right now, me and Beanie’s creamy fur is thick and fluffy like a Pomeranian! And it’s oh-so-soft! We really are big balls of fluff! While one of our brothers looks like Bean and I, the other does not! Their puppy names are Pretzel and Fat Brother. Pretzel has creamy fur like Bean and I, but Fat Brother is completely different! He’s bigger than us pups now, and he’s got black fur! My fur is the lightest shade of cream out of my littermates, so if you couldn’t pick me out of the crowd because of my personality or my size, you could point me out then!

When we have playtime, our current owners like to play interesting noises on something called a “radio”, and they like to point something they call a “phone” at us. It looks like a little black screen, but then it comes to life with little pictures that look like us! Our current owners like to sit on the ground and play with us and point their phones so that our owners-to-be can see how much fun we’re having, too! I don’t understand how things like that work, but isn’t it so cool that our owners-to-be get to see us miles away? I wish I could see them, too.

But, don’t worry! We’ve got plenty of company and plenty to do until we leave home! I love my littermates! I love that we get to learn together, that we get to eat together, that we get to play together— and that we get to fall asleep next to each other! Even though there is plenty of space to sleep in our home, we’re always sleeping side by side, our fur melting together into one mismatched patch of creamy white and black. I like feeling the closeness and warmth of my littermates. I like knowing that they’re right by my side. And, just to be safe, I love that, more often than not, Beanie’s head is rested on my back. This is how we protect each other and feel safe when we close our dark, round eyes against the world.

Another thing that we get to do together is... take tubs! Beanie and the others don’t like tubs too much, but I do! I like to run around like crazy once my tub is finished! And my fur gets even more poofy and soft than it already is! The best part, though, is when our current owners blow warm air at our wet fur until it dries! It’s a noisy process that scares the others, but I think it’s worth it! I’m not scared of the air-blowing-monster! I’m the bravest pup!

Although my sister and I are twins, we are very different! Like I said, I’m a little bit smaller than everyone else and my fur is a little bit lighter along my back— but it’s our attitudes that are polar opposites! While I like to run around and make sure my current owners are always paying attention to me, Bean is more quiet and reserved. She likes to sit and wag her tail while our current owners give her plenty of pets and loving! They'll pet her muzzle while she relaxes and they'll call her "my good, shy girl".

Me, on the other hand, I’m the pup running around her in circles and trying to nip her ears or hog all the attention! But don’t worry— Beanie might be quiet, but she has her little sister (me!) to watch out for her! I don’t know if she’ll be quiet forever or if she’s just shy for now. But, I guess we’ll find out as we grow up! But it doesn’t matter— quiet or not, we both like to have fun, and I will always make sure Beanie is by my side! We’ll always be two peas in a pod, Bean and I!

And, I suppose, soon enough, we'll even be four peas in a pod... our new owners and us!

dog
1

About the Creator

Krystal Katz

I'm an aspiring writer and also an animal lover! I hope you enjoy all that I’ve posted!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.